Newbie Question... So Appreciated!

Get help with installation and running phpBB 3.2.x here. Please do not post bug reports, feature requests, or extension related questions here.
User avatar
3Di
Registered User
Posts: 12945
Joined: Mon Apr 04, 2005 11:09 pm
Location: Milan (IT) Frankfurt (DE)
Name: Marco
Contact:

Re: Newbie Question... So Appreciated!

Post by 3Di » Thu Apr 19, 2018 6:31 am

astralography wrote:
Thu Apr 19, 2018 6:23 am
I downloaded phpbb version 5.6.35
Seems like you are far beyond the last public release of phpBB. You meant PHP I guess?
Want to compensate me for my interest? Donate
Please PM me only to request paid works. Thx.
Extensions, Scripts, MOD porting, Update/Upgrades
My development's activity º PhpStorm's proud user

astralography
Registered User
Posts: 15
Joined: Mon Apr 16, 2018 3:51 pm

Re: Newbie Question... So Appreciated!

Post by astralography » Thu Apr 19, 2018 6:42 am

No,

I created a subfolder for a new website.
In that folder it has an index page index.html
it has an images folder, a files folder and now the phpbb folder 5.6.35 that I have simply renamed "forum"
This is just how I have my old website and forum set up that runs 3.0.1

I have the four folders inside the subfolder which I can point a domain to in the future.

I just want to build a new forum in a parallel universe so to speak before I transfer the domain to it... if that makes sense.

I remember 10 years ago or so when I first set up the phpbb forum, I had to do something to initiate it.. but I don't remember how I did that, and I haven't been able to source it either on the web.

User avatar
david63
Jr. Extension Validator
Posts: 14724
Joined: Thu Dec 19, 2002 8:08 am
Location: Lancashire, UK
Name: David Wood
Contact:

Re: Newbie Question... So Appreciated!

Post by david63 » Thu Apr 19, 2018 6:51 am

astralography wrote:
Thu Apr 19, 2018 6:42 am
phpbb folder 5.6.35
There is no phpBB 5.6.35 - that, I suspect, is your PHP version
David
Remember: You only know what you know and - you don't know what you don't know!
My CDB Contributions | How to install an extension
I will not be accepting translations for any of my extensions in Github - please post any translations in the appropriate topic.
No support requests via PM or email as they will be ignored

astralography
Registered User
Posts: 15
Joined: Mon Apr 16, 2018 3:51 pm

Re: Newbie Question... So Appreciated!

Post by astralography » Thu Apr 19, 2018 7:03 am

http://www.php.net/downloads.php

So this is not correct?

astralography
Registered User
Posts: 15
Joined: Mon Apr 16, 2018 3:51 pm

Re: Newbie Question... So Appreciated!

Post by astralography » Thu Apr 19, 2018 7:23 am

Ok,

so there is a php that is hosted on a server and then a phpbb that is uploaded to a server..
It's a bit confusing.

Then the htaccess file needs to be uploaded, but apparently that file doesn't come with the download from the 3.2.2 zip so you can actually use the program?

Where do I get this htaccess file?

User avatar
Mick
Support Team Member
Support Team Member
Posts: 20110
Joined: Fri Aug 29, 2008 9:49 am
Location: Cardiff

Re: Newbie Question... So Appreciated!

Post by Mick » Thu Apr 19, 2018 7:36 am

No confusion, PHP and phpBB are two different things. PHP is the ‘language’ phpBB is written in and runs on your server and phpBB is the software from here. The latest version of phpBB is 3.2.2, the version number you posted is a PHP version.
astralography wrote:
Thu Apr 19, 2018 6:23 am
I created a new folder on my FTP at my current hosting server
FTP isn’t a ”thing” like say a bowling ball is a thing. FTP is a piece of software for file transfer and maintenance over the net. You don’t create a new folder on it, you would create a new folder with it, the same as using MS file manager but over the net.
"The more connected we get the more alone we become" - Kyle Broflovski

There are no ‘threads’ in phpBB, they are topics.

astralography
Registered User
Posts: 15
Joined: Mon Apr 16, 2018 3:51 pm

Re: Newbie Question... So Appreciated!

Post by astralography » Thu Apr 19, 2018 7:42 am

I get that now Mick thanks.

astralography
Registered User
Posts: 15
Joined: Mon Apr 16, 2018 3:51 pm

Re: Newbie Question... So Appreciated!

Post by astralography » Thu Apr 19, 2018 7:43 am

I just uploaded phpbb 3.2.2 into my FTP.
Now how do I get this forum to run?

I will have no problem creating threads and subdirectories from the admin area.
I know the backside of it well enough.

astralography
Registered User
Posts: 15
Joined: Mon Apr 16, 2018 3:51 pm

Re: Newbie Question... So Appreciated!

Post by astralography » Thu Apr 19, 2018 7:47 am

So now I pull up the webpage.com/forum and I get this message....

"You are running an unsupported PHP version. Please upgrade to PHP 5.4.0 or higher before trying to install or update to phpBB 3.2"

So on a major webhosting platform that I pay nearly a grand a year to host my site on a designated server.. they don't support the latest version of phpbb?

Really?

User avatar
Mick
Support Team Member
Support Team Member
Posts: 20110
Joined: Fri Aug 29, 2008 9:49 am
Location: Cardiff

Re: Newbie Question... So Appreciated!

Post by Mick » Thu Apr 19, 2018 7:50 am

Ask your host to update the PHP version to something higher than PHP 5.4.0.
"The more connected we get the more alone we become" - Kyle Broflovski

There are no ‘threads’ in phpBB, they are topics.

astralography
Registered User
Posts: 15
Joined: Mon Apr 16, 2018 3:51 pm

Re: Newbie Question... So Appreciated!

Post by astralography » Thu Apr 19, 2018 7:53 am

Or maybe I should just run a version that works..
I am not an "upgrade" guy who obsesses on the latest and greatest...I usually find upgrades mess things up... I lose certain features and end up pulling my hair out in the name of "upgrading".

User avatar
Mick
Support Team Member
Support Team Member
Posts: 20110
Joined: Fri Aug 29, 2008 9:49 am
Location: Cardiff

Re: Newbie Question... So Appreciated!

Post by Mick » Thu Apr 19, 2018 8:15 am

It’s server side not phpBB and is down to your host. If you have cPanel look in there at the PHP settings, you may be able to do it yourself, I can on my server. Upgrading is nothing to do with obsession it’s down to having the latest security updates for one thing. As PHP progresses so does all the software that uses it, that’s how it is.
"The more connected we get the more alone we become" - Kyle Broflovski

There are no ‘threads’ in phpBB, they are topics.

User avatar
david63
Jr. Extension Validator
Posts: 14724
Joined: Thu Dec 19, 2002 8:08 am
Location: Lancashire, UK
Name: David Wood
Contact:

Re: Newbie Question... So Appreciated!

Post by david63 » Thu Apr 19, 2018 8:17 am

astralography wrote:
Thu Apr 19, 2018 7:47 am
So on a major webhosting platform that I pay nearly a grand a year to host my site on a designated server.. they don't support the latest version of phpbb?
If I was paying that amount of money I would not expect my host to running unsupported versions of software.
David
Remember: You only know what you know and - you don't know what you don't know!
My CDB Contributions | How to install an extension
I will not be accepting translations for any of my extensions in Github - please post any translations in the appropriate topic.
No support requests via PM or email as they will be ignored

User avatar
bennyboyworld
Registered User
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Apr 19, 2018 8:54 am
Location: London, United Kingdom
Name: Ben Llewellyn
Contact:

Re: Newbie Question... So Appreciated!

Post by bennyboyworld » Thu Apr 19, 2018 9:00 am

Agreed. Suggestion: Host online and work live.

To be frank it's easier to do an A Record change than it is to upload phpBB and convert localhost code into https:// or http:// urls. It you work online you know it's working... :D

User avatar
thecoalman
Community Team Member
Community Team Member
Posts: 2797
Joined: Wed Dec 22, 2004 3:52 am
Location: Pennsylvania, U.S.A.
Contact:

Re: Newbie Question... So Appreciated!

Post by thecoalman » Thu Apr 19, 2018 9:57 am

bennyboyworld wrote:
Thu Apr 19, 2018 9:00 am
To be frank it's easier to do an A Record change than it is to upload phpBB and convert localhost code into https:// or http:// urls. It you work online you know it's working... :D
In Windows you can edit your hosts file to accomplish this.

C:\Windows\System32\drivers\etc\hosts

Add the line:

127.0.0.1 example.com

You may have to refresh the browser or clear the cache depending on the browser.

Post Reply

Return to “[3.2.x] Support Forum”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: </Solidjeuh>, lopoto and 75 guests