[split from] I have someone posting SPAM that does not have an account.

Get help with installation and running phpBB 3.2.x here. Please do not post bug reports, feature requests, or extension related questions here.
Post Reply
thetripperchic
Registered User
Posts: 37
Joined: Wed Jul 05, 2017 12:26 am

[split from] I have someone posting SPAM that does not have an account.

Post by thetripperchic » Tue Jun 05, 2018 7:04 pm

When I go into a forum page for edit, i ALWAYS have to reset permission.

Image
pix is broke cuz of a cert issue. will work it out with my server and then it should show up.
Last edited by thetripperchic on Tue Jun 05, 2018 8:12 pm, edited 2 times in total.

User avatar
KevC
Support Team Member
Support Team Member
Posts: 69111
Joined: Fri Jun 04, 2004 10:44 am
Location: Oxford, UK
Contact:

Re: [split from] I have someone posting SPAM that does not have an account.

Post by KevC » Tue Jun 05, 2018 7:13 pm

As a guess without seeing the picture, you're trying to set the permissions on too many forums at once. It's a big query to run on the database so try it with fewer than 6 forums at a time.
-:|:- Support Request Template -:|:-
Image
Cheap UK Hosting
"In the land of the blind the little green bloke with no pupils is king - init!"

User avatar
Lumpy Burgertushie
Registered User
Posts: 66332
Joined: Mon May 02, 2005 3:11 am
Contact:

Re: [split from] I have someone posting SPAM that does not have an account.

Post by Lumpy Burgertushie » Tue Jun 05, 2018 7:15 pm

or maybe you are seeing the drop down that says "no role assigned"

if that is it then that does not mean that you have no permissions set. it simply means that you are not using one of the default "roles".


robert
I'm baaaaaccckkkk. still doing work on donation basis. PM your needs.

Premium phpBB 3.2 Styles by PlanetStyles.net

If a tree falls in the forest and nobody is there, does it make a sound?

thetripperchic
Registered User
Posts: 37
Joined: Wed Jul 05, 2017 12:26 am

Re: [split from] I have someone posting SPAM that does not have an account.

Post by thetripperchic » Tue Jun 05, 2018 8:28 pm

thetripperchic wrote:
Tue Jun 05, 2018 7:04 pm
When I go into a forum page for edit, i ALWAYS have to reset permission.

Image
pix is broke cuz of a cert issue. will work it out with my server and then it should show up.
Image

User avatar
KevC
Support Team Member
Support Team Member
Posts: 69111
Joined: Fri Jun 04, 2004 10:44 am
Location: Oxford, UK
Contact:

Re: [split from] I have someone posting SPAM that does not have an account.

Post by KevC » Tue Jun 05, 2018 8:31 pm

Do you mean the default is always on 'do not copy permissions'?

Yes it's supposed to be.
If you want to make a lot of forums and set a lot of permissions, make them all first and then use the 'copy permissions' option from the permissions menu and you can set the same on lots of forums at once.
-:|:- Support Request Template -:|:-
Image
Cheap UK Hosting
"In the land of the blind the little green bloke with no pupils is king - init!"

User avatar
Brf
Support Team Member
Support Team Member
Posts: 51726
Joined: Tue May 10, 2005 7:47 pm
Location: {postrow.POSTER_FROM}
Contact:

Re: [split from] I have someone posting SPAM that does not have an account.

Post by Brf » Tue Jun 05, 2018 8:33 pm

"Copy permissions from" is not a "setting". It is an "action".
When you set the copy forum and submit the page, it copies the permissions at that time.

thetripperchic
Registered User
Posts: 37
Joined: Wed Jul 05, 2017 12:26 am

Re: [split from] I have someone posting SPAM that does not have an account.

Post by thetripperchic » Tue Jun 05, 2018 8:34 pm

oh i do, but it changes to do not copy, so i have to make sure it's reset. my admin assistents didnt know it and everything was open to public to read. But it needs done.

User avatar
Brf
Support Team Member
Support Team Member
Posts: 51726
Joined: Tue May 10, 2005 7:47 pm
Location: {postrow.POSTER_FROM}
Contact:

Re: [split from] I have someone posting SPAM that does not have an account.

Post by Brf » Tue Jun 05, 2018 8:35 pm

Brf wrote:
Tue Jun 05, 2018 8:33 pm
"Copy permissions from" is not a "setting". It is an "action".
When you set the copy forum and submit the page, it copies the permissions at that time.

Post Reply

Return to “[3.2.x] Support Forum”