What Records Can I Delete With phpMyAdmin?

Get help with installation and running phpBB 3.2.x here. Please do not post bug reports, feature requests, or extension related questions here.
Post Reply
abrogard
Registered User
Posts: 203
Joined: Tue May 24, 2005 8:32 am
Location: australia
Name: arthur brogard

What Records Can I Delete With phpMyAdmin?

Post by abrogard » Sun Jun 17, 2018 10:32 pm

I have a site I cannot access because I've exceeded the measly space allocation for the sql database provided by my hosting company. 70MB would you believe.

All I can do is delete records using phpMyAdmin.

Are there any records or perhaps even whole tables that it will be safe for me to delete in that way enough to create space so's I can get in and do it all properly?

User avatar
stevemaury
Support Team Member
Support Team Member
Posts: 49325
Joined: Thu Nov 02, 2006 12:21 am
Location: The U.P.
Name: Steve
Contact:

Re: What Records Can I Delete With phpMyAdmin?

Post by stevemaury » Sun Jun 17, 2018 11:01 pm

All three search_* tables.
For REALLY good and VERY inexpensive hosting CLICK HERE

I can stop all your spam. PM or email me.

All unsolicited PMs will be ignored.

abrogard
Registered User
Posts: 203
Joined: Tue May 24, 2005 8:32 am
Location: australia
Name: arthur brogard

Re: What Records Can I Delete With phpMyAdmin?

Post by abrogard » Sun Jun 17, 2018 11:11 pm

That's good to know. Thanks very much for that.

:)

User avatar
John connor
Registered User
Posts: 1613
Joined: Fri Nov 14, 2014 5:14 pm
Location: U S Of A
Contact:

Re: What Records Can I Delete With phpMyAdmin?

Post by John connor » Mon Jun 18, 2018 2:51 am

Or you could prun old posts.

User avatar
3Di
Registered User
Posts: 12753
Joined: Mon Apr 04, 2005 11:09 pm
Location: Milan (IT) Frankfurt (DE)
Name: Marco
Contact:

Re: What Records Can I Delete With phpMyAdmin?

Post by 3Di » Mon Jun 18, 2018 3:08 am

John connor wrote:
Mon Jun 18, 2018 2:51 am
Or you could prun old posts.
abrogard wrote:
Sun Jun 17, 2018 10:32 pm
I have a site I cannot access
:mrgreen:
Want to compensate me for my interest? Donate
Please PM me only to request paid works. Thx.
Extensions, Scripts, MOD porting, Update/Upgrades
My development's activity º PhpStorm's proud user

User avatar
stevemaury
Support Team Member
Support Team Member
Posts: 49325
Joined: Thu Nov 02, 2006 12:21 am
Location: The U.P.
Name: Steve
Contact:

Re: What Records Can I Delete With phpMyAdmin?

Post by stevemaury » Mon Jun 18, 2018 2:10 pm

Just to clarify, truncating the search tables will disable the search function, but they can be rebuilt at any time.
For REALLY good and VERY inexpensive hosting CLICK HERE

I can stop all your spam. PM or email me.

All unsolicited PMs will be ignored.

abrogard
Registered User
Posts: 203
Joined: Tue May 24, 2005 8:32 am
Location: australia
Name: arthur brogard

Re: What Records Can I Delete With phpMyAdmin?

Post by abrogard » Mon Jun 18, 2018 7:24 pm

Thanks for that clarification.

I thought it must be something like that.

But I think what I really need is a host who provides more space. 70MB just isn't enough even for minimally active sites like mine.

User avatar
stevemaury
Support Team Member
Support Team Member
Posts: 49325
Joined: Thu Nov 02, 2006 12:21 am
Location: The U.P.
Name: Steve
Contact:

Re: What Records Can I Delete With phpMyAdmin?

Post by stevemaury » Mon Jun 18, 2018 9:43 pm

Exactly correct.
For REALLY good and VERY inexpensive hosting CLICK HERE

I can stop all your spam. PM or email me.

All unsolicited PMs will be ignored.

User avatar
eeji
Jr. Style Validator
Posts: 776
Joined: Fri Dec 12, 2008 9:08 pm
Location: Manchester, UK

Re: What Records Can I Delete With phpMyAdmin?

Post by eeji » Tue Jun 19, 2018 8:36 pm

the phphbb_sessions table can also get quite large, this is also safe to truncate. Also optimise any tables with overhead - this may not release much space, but every little helps.

User avatar
Lumpy Burgertushie
Registered User
Posts: 64671
Joined: Mon May 02, 2005 3:11 am
Contact:

Re: What Records Can I Delete With phpMyAdmin?

Post by Lumpy Burgertushie » Tue Jun 19, 2018 8:59 pm

and once you get the board back working, make complete backups of the files and the database and go get a decent host.

most normal hosts don't restrict your database space or the number of databases you can have. normally the only restriction to database size is whatever the total size allocation for your hosting account is.


robert
I am available for custom work on a donation basis. Please send me a PM with your needs.

Premium phpBB 3.2 Styles by PlanetStyles.net

OK, so what's the speed of dark?

User avatar
AmigoJack
Registered User
Posts: 5263
Joined: Tue Jun 15, 2010 11:33 am
Location: グリーン ヒル ゾーン
Contact:

Re: What Records Can I Delete With phpMyAdmin?

Post by AmigoJack » Wed Jun 20, 2018 7:20 am

eeji wrote:
Tue Jun 19, 2018 8:36 pm
optimise any tables with overhead
Don't do this: the optimization process temporarily needs the same amount of space or even more than the whole table already sizes, and with bad luck the table gets locked forever. Basically people have no idea about the risk: https://dev.mysql.com/doc/refman/8.0/en ... html#c9940
The worst thing about censorship is ███████████

User avatar
eeji
Jr. Style Validator
Posts: 776
Joined: Fri Dec 12, 2008 9:08 pm
Location: Manchester, UK

Re: What Records Can I Delete With phpMyAdmin?

Post by eeji » Wed Jun 20, 2018 7:37 pm

AmigoJack wrote:
Wed Jun 20, 2018 7:20 am
Don't do this: the optimization process temporarily needs the same amount of space or even more than the whole table already sizes, and with bad luck the table gets locked forever. Basically people have no idea about the risk: https://dev.mysql.com/doc/refman/8.0/en ... html#c9940
Thank you for the link, an interesting read and something new learned.

abrogard
Registered User
Posts: 203
Joined: Tue May 24, 2005 8:32 am
Location: australia
Name: arthur brogard

Re: What Records Can I Delete With phpMyAdmin?

Post by abrogard » Wed Jun 20, 2018 9:05 pm

AmigoJack wrote:
Wed Jun 20, 2018 7:20 am
eeji wrote:
Tue Jun 19, 2018 8:36 pm
optimise any tables with overhead
Don't do this: the optimization process temporarily needs the same amount of space or even more than the whole table already sizes, and with bad luck the table gets locked forever. Basically people have no idea about the risk: https://dev.mysql.com/doc/refman/8.0/en ... html#c9940
Yes, thanks for that. I better inform my host. When I report I've no room and can't get into my software because of it he optimises my tables.

:)

Post Reply

Return to “[3.2.x] Support Forum”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Mannix_, Tbot [Bot] and 41 guests