Some crone jobs not active?

Get help with installation and running phpBB 3.2.x here. Please do not post bug reports, feature requests, or extension related questions here.
Post Reply
beta5
Registered User
Posts: 24
Joined: Sun Jun 10, 2018 8:54 am

Some crone jobs not active?

Post by beta5 » Thu Jun 21, 2018 8:30 pm

It seems to be that some of the phpBB standard cronjobs are not running in my phpbb 3.2 (see attached screenshot).

I would like to have the cron.task.text_reparser.xxx cronjobs running. Some research showed that they should run every hour. But according to the screenshot of the extension "Cron Status" they were never executed.

Settings of cronjob execution ist so that phpBB executes them on pageview. This in general seems to work as some of the cronjobs show execution dates.

How can that be changed?
Attachments
cron.png

User avatar
david63
Jr. Extension Validator
Posts: 14452
Joined: Thu Dec 19, 2002 8:08 am
Location: Lancashire, UK
Name: David Wood
Contact:

Re: Some crone jobs not active?

Post by david63 » Thu Jun 21, 2018 8:35 pm

How do you know that they are not running?

A Cron job marked as "Auto" runs as and when it is expected to - it just the way that it has been configured.
David
Remember: You only know what you know and - you don't know what you don't know!
My CDB Contributions | How to install an extension
I will not be accepting translations for any of my extensions in Github - please post any translations in the appropriate topic.
No support requests via PM or email as they will be ignored

beta5
Registered User
Posts: 24
Joined: Sun Jun 10, 2018 8:54 am

Re: Some crone jobs not active?

Post by beta5 » Thu Jun 21, 2018 8:45 pm

According to the extension description above the list: A red marked cronjob has never started or has a problem.

Is it possible to check the execution somehow different?

User avatar
stevemaury
Support Team Member
Support Team Member
Posts: 49241
Joined: Thu Nov 02, 2006 12:21 am
Location: The U.P.
Name: Steve
Contact:

Re: Some crone jobs not active?

Post by stevemaury » Thu Jun 21, 2018 9:33 pm

To receive extension support please visit our Extensions Database and post in the specific extension's designated support area. The link to the support area for each released extension is also available in the first post of each released extension listed in the [3.2.x] Extension Database Releases forum. For extensions still in development (not recommended for a live board) support is in that extensions's topic in the Extensions in Development forum.
For REALLY good and VERY inexpensive hosting CLICK HERE

I can stop all your spam. PM or email me.

All unsolicited PMs will be ignored.

User avatar
Froddelaar
Registered User
Posts: 860
Joined: Tue Mar 29, 2016 3:45 am
Location: Aalst (Belgium)
Name: Andy Dm
Contact:

Re: Some crone jobs not active?

Post by Froddelaar » Thu Jun 21, 2018 10:07 pm

Most of them will not start if you don't use that "function". Like pruning forums, anonymize ip's etc.. That's why they are in "red".
Wij promoten UW muziek in ons forum & delen alles via Sociale media!
Muziek wordt ook toegevoegd in de playlist van
textradio.be!
Mail uw single + hoesje + info naar: info@muziekpromo.net of Solidjeuh@textradio.be
===============
Onze Website: https://www.muziekpromo.net

beta5
Registered User
Posts: 24
Joined: Sun Jun 10, 2018 8:54 am

Re: Some crone jobs not active?

Post by beta5 » Fri Jun 22, 2018 5:17 am

Yes, I understand that the prunning cron job won't be active if prunning is not activated for example. But what about the reparsing: I went through the complete control panel and did not find a function to start / trigger that. But that would be really necessary as I converted from phpBB 2.x and a special bbcode needs that for proper visualization. (And opening and saving again all the posts with that bbcode to trigger the reparsing for that post is not an option.)

User avatar
Mick
Support Team Member
Support Team Member
Posts: 19566
Joined: Fri Aug 29, 2008 9:49 am
Location: Cardiff

Re: Some crone jobs not active?

Post by Mick » Fri Jun 22, 2018 6:18 am

stevemaury wrote:
Thu Jun 21, 2018 9:33 pm
To receive extension support please visit our Extensions Database and post in the specific extension's designated support area
Namely here in this case.
"The more connected we get the more alone we become" - Kyle Broflovski

There are no ‘threads’ in phpBB, they are topics.

User avatar
3Di
Registered User
Posts: 12686
Joined: Mon Apr 04, 2005 11:09 pm
Location: Milan (IT) Frankfurt (DE)
Name: Marco
Contact:

Re: Some crone jobs not active?

Post by 3Di » Fri Jun 22, 2018 12:45 pm

If you don't have access to your server's CLI, you can always reparse the posts on your computer and then transfer the database backup.
There are articles in the KB about how to install a local server (and thus use the CLI from there).
Want to compensate me for my interest? Donate
Please PM me only to request paid works. Thx.
Extensions, Scripts, MOD porting, Update/Upgrades
My development's activity º PhpStorm's proud user

beta5
Registered User
Posts: 24
Joined: Sun Jun 10, 2018 8:54 am

Re: Some crone jobs not active?

Post by beta5 » Fri Jun 22, 2018 3:59 pm

This topic is NOT on support of an extension, it's on the phpBB cronjobs. I only mentioned an extension, but that's not part of the problem!

User avatar
stevemaury
Support Team Member
Support Team Member
Posts: 49241
Joined: Thu Nov 02, 2006 12:21 am
Location: The U.P.
Name: Steve
Contact:

Re: Some crone jobs not active?

Post by stevemaury » Fri Jun 22, 2018 4:22 pm

beta5 wrote:
Fri Jun 22, 2018 3:59 pm
This topic is NOT on support of an extension, it's on the phpBB cronjobs. I only mentioned an extension, but that's not part of the problem!
OK, aside from the reports issued by that extension, what functional evidence do you have that these cron jobs are supposed to be executing, but are not?
For REALLY good and VERY inexpensive hosting CLICK HERE

I can stop all your spam. PM or email me.

All unsolicited PMs will be ignored.

beta5
Registered User
Posts: 24
Joined: Sun Jun 10, 2018 8:54 am

Re: Some crone jobs not active?

Post by beta5 » Fri Jun 22, 2018 5:22 pm

I assume that they are supposed to be working based on the research results in this board say that reparsing is triggered with every pageview.

I have no evidence on the status besides that extension report. Can it be checked somehow?

User avatar
stevemaury
Support Team Member
Support Team Member
Posts: 49241
Joined: Thu Nov 02, 2006 12:21 am
Location: The U.P.
Name: Steve
Contact:

Re: Some crone jobs not active?

Post by stevemaury » Sat Jun 23, 2018 1:38 am

What is not working that should be?
For REALLY good and VERY inexpensive hosting CLICK HERE

I can stop all your spam. PM or email me.

All unsolicited PMs will be ignored.

beta5
Registered User
Posts: 24
Joined: Sun Jun 10, 2018 8:54 am

Re: Some crone jobs not active?

Post by beta5 » Sat Jun 23, 2018 5:28 am

Ok, I would like to make sure that the reparse jobs are not broken at that all the posts in the board will be reparsed one by one. This can take some time, I don't care. But I want to make sure, that I only have to wait.

User avatar
GanstaZ
Registered User
Posts: 361
Joined: Wed Oct 11, 2017 10:29 pm
Location: Zverse

Re: Some crone jobs not active?

Post by GanstaZ » Sat Jun 23, 2018 8:51 pm

If you take a look at that picture you will see => The "Auto" ... has a specific time control option and can't be recognized by Cron extension. Because of that statement we can skip red part. Only way to answer that question about reparse is to use cli and find out the answer.
"When answer lies in the question,.. question becomes redundant!"

User avatar
3Di
Registered User
Posts: 12686
Joined: Mon Apr 04, 2005 11:09 pm
Location: Milan (IT) Frankfurt (DE)
Name: Marco
Contact:

Re: Some crone jobs not active?

Post by 3Di » Sat Jun 23, 2018 9:11 pm

GanstaZ wrote:
Sat Jun 23, 2018 8:51 pm
If you take a look at that picture you will see => The "Auto" ... has a specific time control option and can't be recognized by Cron extension. Because of that statement we can skip red part. Only way to answer that question about reparse is to use cli and find out the answer.
Yeah, the OP is gonna solve all of this, see:
https://www.phpbb.com/customise/db/exte ... 51#p639351 and https://tracker.phpbb.com/browse/PHPBB3-15705

it can be checkable though, speaking about cron-jobs as per this topic. No time, though, to write down a sort of tutorial/extension. :)

The CLI is the best bet, faster and safe.
3Di wrote:
Fri Jun 22, 2018 12:45 pm
If you don't have access to your server's CLI, you can always reparse the posts on your computer and then transfer the database backup.
There are articles in the KB about how to install a local server (and thus use the CLI from there).
Want to compensate me for my interest? Donate
Please PM me only to request paid works. Thx.
Extensions, Scripts, MOD porting, Update/Upgrades
My development's activity º PhpStorm's proud user

Post Reply

Return to “[3.2.x] Support Forum”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: janus_zonstraal and 16 guests