SOLVED: Users with identical permissions: one sees no topics, others see all topics in same forum.

Get help with installation and running phpBB 3.2.x here. Please do not post bug reports, feature requests, or extension related questions here.
Post Reply
BIABrewer
Registered User
Posts: 44
Joined: Sun Nov 08, 2015 12:37 pm
Location: Perth, Australia

SOLVED: Users with identical permissions: one sees no topics, others see all topics in same forum.

Post by BIABrewer » Fri Jul 13, 2018 12:21 am

Support Request Template
What version of phpBB are you using? phpBB 3.2.2
What is your board's URL? https://www.biabrewer.info
Who do you host your board with? Digital Ocean
How did you install your board? I used the download package from phpBB.com
What is the most recent action performed on your board? Update from a previous version of phpBB3
Is registration required to reproduce this issue? Yes
Do you have any MODs installed? No
Do you have any extensions installed? Yes
What version of phpBB3 did you update from? phpBB 3.0-B1
What extensions do you have installed?
Enabled:
Add User [phpbbmodders/adduser] 1.0.4
Antispam by CleanTalk [cleantalk/antispam] 5.1
Brewer Theme Template Controller [brewer/brewtheme] 0.0.1
Change Post Time [javiexin/chgposttime] 1.0.1
Collapsible Forum Categories [phpbb/collapsiblecategories] 1.0.2
Cron Status [boardtools/cronstatus] 3.1.2
External Links Open in New Window [rmcgirr83/elonw] 1.0.6
Google Analytics [phpbb/googleanalytics] 1.0.3
Hide Bots [rmcgirr83/hidebots] 1.0.2
Inline images in attachment [bb3mobi/inlineimg] 1.0.0
Last Post Avatar [bb3mobi/lastpostavatar] 1.0.3
Lightbox [vse/lightbox] 1.0.5
Max-width switch [crizzo/maxwidthswitch] 1.0.1
National Flags [rmcgirr83/nationalflags] 2.1.0
Page Scroller [darkdiesel/pagescroller] 1.0.9
PM Welcome [apwa/pmwelcome] 1.0.1
Post Edit Log [towen/editlog] 1.2.0
Ravaio Configuration [gramziu/ravaio] 2.2.6
Relative dates [senky/relativedates] 2.0.2
Search user topics [rmcgirr83/searchusertopics] 1.0.2
Simple mentions [paul999/mention] 1.0.2
Sort Topics [kasimi/sorttopics] 1.0.3
Sortables Captcha [derky/sortablescaptcha] 2.0.0
Topic Author [dmzx/topicauthor] 1.0.2
Topic Preview [vse/topicpreview] 2.2.4
Upcoming Birthdays [rmcgirr83/upcomingbirthdays] 1.0.3
Upload Extensions [boardtools/upload] 3.2.0-dev
VigLink [phpbb/viglink] 1.0.3
Disabled:
Active User Birthdays [rts/activebirthdays] 1.0.0 (uninstalled)
Auto Groups [phpbb/autogroups] 1.0.2 (uninstalled)
Contact Admin [rmcgirr83/contactadmin] 1.1.4 (uninstalled)
Custom Quick Link [thetopfew/customquicklink] 2.0.0
Database Optimize & Repair Tool [vse/dbtool] 1.1.2 (uninstalled)
Delete My Account [brokencrust/deletemyaccount] 1.0.0 (uninstalled)
Detailed viewonline [rxu/DetailedViewonline] 1.0.0
Modbreak [ger/modbreak] 1.1.0 (uninstalled)
New Private Message With Ajax [alg/newpmajax] 1.0.3 (uninstalled)
News Scroll [hifikabin/newsscroll] 1.0.1 (uninstalled)
phpBB3 SEO Sitemap [shredder/sitemap] 1.1.1 (uninstalled)
Reputation System [pico/reputation] 1.0.0-dev (uninstalled)
RH Topic Tags [robertheim/topictags] 2.0.0 (uninstalled)
Rin Editor for phpBB [rin/editor] 0.2.7 (uninstalled)
Topic Description [rmcgirr83/topicdescription] 1.0.2 (uninstalled)
Ultimate Points Extension [dmzx/ultimatepoints] 1.1.6 (uninstalled)
User login redirect [david63/loginredirect] 1.1.0 (uninstalled)
Who Visited This Topic [dmzx/whovisitedthistopic] 1.0.5 (uninstalled)

What styles do you currently have installed? Ravaio (modified)
What language(s) is your board currently using? English
Which database type/version are you using? MySQL 5
What is your level of experience? New to PHP and phpBB
What username can be used to view this issue? Problem is occurring at Adminstrator / Founder level
What password can be used to view this issue? No answer given
What actions did you take (updating your board; installing a MOD, style or extension; etc.) prior to this problem becoming noticeable?
I think it has been around for some time even before phpBB 3.2

Please describe your problem.

I have four users in identical groups, with identical forum permissions, roles, style and permissions in the user_permissions field of the phpbb_users database table however:

On entering at least one forum, all users see that there are 8 topics and 389 posts in that forum. When the user enters the forum though:

Users A, B and C see the 8 topics but
User D only sees "There are no topics or posts in this forum."

I've checked user-based permissions, forum-based permissions and in the actual database but just can't see any discrepancies.
I don't know where to look or what to do next.

Many thanks,
Pat
Generated by SRT Generator
Last edited by BIABrewer on Mon Jul 16, 2018 12:40 am, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
Brf
Support Team Member
Support Team Member
Posts: 51180
Joined: Tue May 10, 2005 7:47 pm
Location: {postrow.POSTER_FROM}
Contact:

Re: Users with identical permissions: one sees no topics, others see all topics in same forum.

Post by Brf » Fri Jul 13, 2018 2:19 am

Go to Permissions / Permissions masks / View forum-based Permissions.
Select the problem forum and submit
Type the problem user’s name into the Find a Member box and click View Permissions.
Click the circle-arrow next to the red permission to trace where the block is coming from.

BIABrewer
Registered User
Posts: 44
Joined: Sun Nov 08, 2015 12:37 pm
Location: Perth, Australia

Re: Users with identical permissions: one sees no topics, others see all topics in same forum.

Post by BIABrewer » Sat Jul 14, 2018 12:38 am

Thanks very much for your quick reply Brf ;)
Double-checked those and unfortunately, nothing there :|
Just spent a few more hours trying to find some patterns and noticed the following points...

1. User D seems to be able to see all forums that contain sub-forums.

2. In forums that contain no sub-forums, User D can see Announcements (for that forum) and some stickies but not all. (see pic).
If no Announcements, then "There are no topics or posts in this forum" is displayed.

3. If, as User A, I go to a topic that User D can't see and then copy the url into User D's address bar, then User D can see the topic.

4. In Active Topics User A and User D see the same.

So, still scratching my head on this one. It's a bit of a problem as User D is the username I use to post official stuff. As mentioned though, I have other "official" usernames with identical rank, founder status, permissions, groups etc and they don't have this problem.
Attachments
Picture1.jpg

User avatar
Lumpy Burgertushie
Registered User
Posts: 64568
Joined: Mon May 02, 2005 3:11 am
Contact:

Re: Users with identical permissions: one sees no topics, others see all topics in same forum.

Post by Lumpy Burgertushie » Sat Jul 14, 2018 1:23 am

to start with, you should not use user permissions. you should always use group permissions and group forum permissions.

that will make things much easier to control and to figure out.

make sure that every member including you are in the registered user group and that the registered usergroup has permissions to see and post in every forum.

make sure the anonymous/guest user is in the guest group and no other group.
make sure the anonymous user is the only one in the guest group.

once that is setup properly do some tests and report back.

robert
I am available for custom work on a donation basis. Please send me a PM with your needs.

Premium phpBB 3.2 Styles by PlanetStyles.net

User avatar
Brf
Support Team Member
Support Team Member
Posts: 51180
Joined: Tue May 10, 2005 7:47 pm
Location: {postrow.POSTER_FROM}
Contact:

Re: Users with identical permissions: one sees no topics, others see all topics in same forum.

Post by Brf » Sat Jul 14, 2018 2:10 am

Those are older topics. Likely the problem user has his Display Topics set to only the past week or something.

BIABrewer
Registered User
Posts: 44
Joined: Sun Nov 08, 2015 12:37 pm
Location: Perth, Australia

Re: Users with identical permissions: one sees no topics, others see all topics in same forum.

Post by BIABrewer » Mon Jul 16, 2018 12:40 am

Thanks a heap Robert and Brf ;)

The answer was the Display Topics setting in the UCP. No idea why I ever changed it :)

Feel like an idiot. I thought I'd checked that pattern of only new posts showing. But, even if I had noticed it, I wouldn't have thought to check in UCP as I thought that setting only affected the Active Topics page so you've made my day (week) Brf!

Also checked the Anonymous settings while I was at it and they are all good which is nice to know thanks Robert.

Much appreciated,
Pat

Post Reply

Return to “[3.2.x] Support Forum”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Brf, Froddelaar, garfy, hubaishan, lopoto, stevemaury and 26 guests