To administer the board you must re-authenticate yourself.

Get help with installation and running phpBB 3.2.x here. Please do not post bug reports, feature requests, or extension related questions here.
User avatar
Exclusive
Registered User
Posts: 96
Joined: Mon Jun 25, 2018 1:33 pm
Contact:

To administer the board you must re-authenticate yourself.

Post by Exclusive » Thu Jul 19, 2018 12:03 am

Each time I successfully log in to my board, and I try to access the ACP, it logs me out to re-authenticate over and over. I'm sick and tired of this!
Use Search Button to get Instant Results | Follow Forum Rules
Avoid Spams in the forum to prevent banning the offending account. | Visit My Website!

User avatar
stevemaury
Support Team Member
Support Team Member
Posts: 49556
Joined: Thu Nov 02, 2006 12:21 am
Location: The U.P.
Name: Steve
Contact:

Re: To administer the board you must re-authenticate yourself.

Post by stevemaury » Thu Jul 19, 2018 12:39 am

You are unable to access the ACP? Or . . .?
For REALLY good and VERY inexpensive hosting CLICK HERE

I can stop all your spam. PM or email me.

All unsolicited PMs will be ignored.

User avatar
Lumpy Burgertushie
Registered User
Posts: 65031
Joined: Mon May 02, 2005 3:11 am
Contact:

Re: To administer the board you must re-authenticate yourself.

Post by Lumpy Burgertushie » Thu Jul 19, 2018 1:47 am

it is not logging you out. that is a normal security feature of phpbb. you have log into the admin panel even if you are already logged into the board.

this has been standard since phpbb 3 started I believe.

robert
I am available for custom work on a donation basis. Please send me a PM with your needs.

Premium phpBB 3.2 Styles by PlanetStyles.net

OK, so what's the speed of dark?

User avatar
</Solidjeuh>
Registered User
Posts: 1007
Joined: Tue Mar 29, 2016 3:45 am
Location: Aalst (Belgium)
Name: Andy Dm
Contact:

Re: To administer the board you must re-authenticate yourself.

Post by </Solidjeuh> » Thu Jul 19, 2018 2:03 am

I found this: viewtopic.php?f=72&t=1729435#p10437255
But I thought there was an extension or something for this ...

User avatar
Brf
Support Team Member
Support Team Member
Posts: 51347
Joined: Tue May 10, 2005 7:47 pm
Location: {postrow.POSTER_FROM}
Contact:

Re: To administer the board you must re-authenticate yourself.

Post by Brf » Thu Jul 19, 2018 2:11 am

Froddelaar wrote:
Thu Jul 19, 2018 2:03 am
I thought there was an extension or something for this ...
I do not think so. We frown on code that decreases the security of PhpBB.

User avatar
Exclusive
Registered User
Posts: 96
Joined: Mon Jun 25, 2018 1:33 pm
Contact:

Re: To administer the board you must re-authenticate yourself.

Post by Exclusive » Thu Jul 19, 2018 3:34 pm

stevemaury wrote:
Thu Jul 19, 2018 12:39 am
You are unable to access the ACP? Or . . .?
When I successfully log in, trying to access ACP, It will require me to re-authenticate, I will do this over and over before I can access my ACP
Use Search Button to get Instant Results | Follow Forum Rules
Avoid Spams in the forum to prevent banning the offending account. | Visit My Website!

User avatar
Exclusive
Registered User
Posts: 96
Joined: Mon Jun 25, 2018 1:33 pm
Contact:

Re: To administer the board you must re-authenticate yourself.

Post by Exclusive » Thu Jul 19, 2018 3:37 pm

Froddelaar wrote:
Thu Jul 19, 2018 2:03 am
I found this: viewtopic.php?f=72&t=1729435#p10437255
But I thought there was an extension or something for this ...
I think I will like this. Lemme try and give you feedback!
Use Search Button to get Instant Results | Follow Forum Rules
Avoid Spams in the forum to prevent banning the offending account. | Visit My Website!

User avatar
GanstaZ
Registered User
Posts: 524
Joined: Wed Oct 11, 2017 10:29 pm
Location: Zverse

Re: To administer the board you must re-authenticate yourself.

Post by GanstaZ » Thu Jul 19, 2018 3:42 pm

If you want to remove security layer, then go ahead and apply those changes. When you log in and want to access acp re-authentication is there and should be there. With every logout you need to re-authenticate yourself as admin to enter acp. Don't hit logout and all will be ok.. no need to re-authenticate more than once.
Last edited by GanstaZ on Thu Jul 19, 2018 3:46 pm, edited 1 time in total.
"When answer lies in the question,.. question becomes redundant!"

User avatar
Mick
Support Team Member
Support Team Member
Posts: 20110
Joined: Fri Aug 29, 2008 9:49 am
Location: Cardiff

Re: To administer the board you must re-authenticate yourself.

Post by Mick » Thu Jul 19, 2018 3:45 pm

Have you tried a different browser, are you using Firefox, do you use ESET AV, have you checked the cookie/security settings in your browser?

We don’t want to know if you circumnavigate the log in.
"The more connected we get the more alone we become" - Kyle Broflovski

There are no ‘threads’ in phpBB, they are topics.

User avatar
Exclusive
Registered User
Posts: 96
Joined: Mon Jun 25, 2018 1:33 pm
Contact:

Re: To administer the board you must re-authenticate yourself.

Post by Exclusive » Thu Jul 19, 2018 3:51 pm

Mick wrote:
Thu Jul 19, 2018 3:45 pm
Have you tried a different browser, are you using Firefox, do you use ESET AV, have you checked the cookie/security settings in your browser?

We don’t want to know if you circumnavigate the log in.
I'm using Firefox, I don't use ESET AV. Lemme try another browser an give you feedback.

I just tried using Chrome, It logged in, when I click on another tab, it logs me out to re-authenticate again & again (twice)
Use Search Button to get Instant Results | Follow Forum Rules
Avoid Spams in the forum to prevent banning the offending account. | Visit My Website!

User avatar
Lumpy Burgertushie
Registered User
Posts: 65031
Joined: Mon May 02, 2005 3:11 am
Contact:

Re: To administer the board you must re-authenticate yourself.

Post by Lumpy Burgertushie » Thu Jul 19, 2018 4:29 pm

it does not "log you out" when you are trying to access the admin panel.
it is supposed to ask you to reauthenticate before accessing the admin panel.
if you have to do it more than once then there is something wrong with your cookies etc.

how about a link to the board so we can test things for you.

robrt
I am available for custom work on a donation basis. Please send me a PM with your needs.

Premium phpBB 3.2 Styles by PlanetStyles.net

OK, so what's the speed of dark?

User avatar
stevemaury
Support Team Member
Support Team Member
Posts: 49556
Joined: Thu Nov 02, 2006 12:21 am
Location: The U.P.
Name: Steve
Contact:

Re: To administer the board you must re-authenticate yourself.

Post by stevemaury » Thu Jul 19, 2018 5:14 pm

ACP doesn't use cookies.
For REALLY good and VERY inexpensive hosting CLICK HERE

I can stop all your spam. PM or email me.

All unsolicited PMs will be ignored.

User avatar
Exclusive
Registered User
Posts: 96
Joined: Mon Jun 25, 2018 1:33 pm
Contact:

Re: To administer the board you must re-authenticate yourself.

Post by Exclusive » Thu Jul 19, 2018 7:15 pm

Lumpy Burgertushie wrote:
Thu Jul 19, 2018 4:29 pm
how about a link to the board so we can test things for you.

robrt
Board URL: http://forum.gsmtutors.com/
Use Search Button to get Instant Results | Follow Forum Rules
Avoid Spams in the forum to prevent banning the offending account. | Visit My Website!

User avatar
Lumpy Burgertushie
Registered User
Posts: 65031
Joined: Mon May 02, 2005 3:11 am
Contact:

Re: To administer the board you must re-authenticate yourself.

Post by Lumpy Burgertushie » Thu Jul 19, 2018 9:18 pm

ok, first, put a dot in front of the cookie domain

then, since you are using cloudfare ssl you really need to set cookie secure to yes and add the bit to the htaccess file that redirects all http requests to https.

that could be the problem.

that is providing that you really mean you are being logged out and not that you are just seeing the re authenticate box when you try to access the admin panel.


robert
I am available for custom work on a donation basis. Please send me a PM with your needs.

Premium phpBB 3.2 Styles by PlanetStyles.net

OK, so what's the speed of dark?

User avatar
Exclusive
Registered User
Posts: 96
Joined: Mon Jun 25, 2018 1:33 pm
Contact:

Re: To administer the board you must re-authenticate yourself.

Post by Exclusive » Thu Jul 19, 2018 9:28 pm

Lumpy Burgertushie wrote:
Thu Jul 19, 2018 9:18 pm
ok, first, put a dot in front of the cookie domain

then, since you are using cloudfare ssl you really need to set cookie secure to yes and add the bit to the htaccess file that redirects all http requests to https.

that could be the problem.

that is providing that you really mean you are being logged out and not that you are just seeing the re authenticate box when you try to access the admin panel.


robert
Thanks for your response. The forum cookies URL is: forum. is there any need of putting a dot before the forum (.forum.)?
and the Cookies name is: phpbb3_j2lwq4 ? is there anything wrong?

On my Cloudflare > Crypto > Always use HTTPS, I have enabled this option. Is there any other need to also add the bit to the htaccess file that redirects all http requests to https again?
Last edited by Exclusive on Thu Jul 19, 2018 9:41 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Use Search Button to get Instant Results | Follow Forum Rules
Avoid Spams in the forum to prevent banning the offending account. | Visit My Website!

Post Reply

Return to “[3.2.x] Support Forum”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Mixlight, static1635, Yandex [Bot] and 116 guests