create forum to use existing database

Get help with installation and running phpBB 3.2.x here. Please do not post bug reports, feature requests, or extension related questions here.
Post Reply
brianx
Registered User
Posts: 11
Joined: Tue Sep 11, 2012 9:57 pm

create forum to use existing database

Post by brianx » Fri Jul 20, 2018 11:04 am

I have a database from a forum where the software is corrupt and can not run. Is it possible to install a new phpbb forum that will access for reference purposes only the existing database instead of insisting in creating its own new one please?

Alternatively is there another way to access the data even read-only? Maybe a relational database manager?

User avatar
HiFiKabin
Community Team Member
Community Team Member
Posts: 3244
Joined: Wed May 14, 2014 9:10 am
Location: Swearing at the PC, UK
Name: James
Contact:

Re: create forum to use existing database

Post by HiFiKabin » Fri Jul 20, 2018 11:11 am

We will need far more information in order to advise you.

What Forum Software were you using and its version?
What extensions/mods/plugins were you using?
What do you mean by 'corrupt'?
How long since it worked correctly?
What did you do prior to it ceasing working?

and so on.

User avatar
Mick
Support Team Member
Support Team Member
Posts: 20110
Joined: Fri Aug 29, 2008 9:49 am
Location: Cardiff

Re: create forum to use existing database

Post by Mick » Fri Jul 20, 2018 11:35 am

Better still please fill out the Support Request Template and post it back here to enable us to assist you better.
"The more connected we get the more alone we become" - Kyle Broflovski

There are no ‘threads’ in phpBB, they are topics.

Post Reply

Return to “[3.2.x] Support Forum”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], Exabot [Bot], Lumpy Burgertushie, Michael235, Mixlight and 139 guests