Can't get the DB upgrader to run

Get help with installation and running phpBB 3.2.x here. Please do not post bug reports, feature requests, or extension related questions here.
Beakster
Registered User
Posts: 12
Joined: Sat Oct 17, 2009 1:03 am

Can't get the DB upgrader to run

Post by Beakster » Wed Aug 15, 2018 8:08 pm

Hi,

So i've got a forum running on 3.1.2 at www.fordcapriforum.com and hosted with GoDaddy. I want to upgrade to 3.2.2. Here's what I've done:

backed everythng up
disabled all extensions
ensured language is British English
deactivated all but the prosilver theme
downloaded the backup of my forum
downloaded the full 3.2.2 archive
merged the files as instructed
uploaded to my server
unzipped

When I visit my install folder I see the install page correctly. However when I was clicking on the Upgrade tab I was getting: ""No input file specified"
I was able to get around this by editing created a php56.ini file in my html folder containing:
cgi.fix_pathinfo = 1

Now however when I click on the Upgrade tab I see this:

Image

Beakster
Registered User
Posts: 12
Joined: Sat Oct 17, 2009 1:03 am

Re: Can't get the DB upgrader to run

Post by Beakster » Wed Aug 15, 2018 9:12 pm

At this stage I'm thinking it might be easier to setup my own server and point it to the DB, run the DB upgrader, and then see how it runs on GoDaddy, as currently I can see the forum on my GoDaddy account but it says the DB doesn't match the files.

User avatar
stevemaury
Support Team Member
Support Team Member
Posts: 49743
Joined: Thu Nov 02, 2006 12:21 am
Location: The U.P.
Name: Steve
Contact:

Re: Can't get the DB upgrader to run

Post by stevemaury » Wed Aug 15, 2018 11:47 pm

Beakster wrote:
Wed Aug 15, 2018 8:08 pm
Hi,

So i've got a forum running on 3.1.2 at www.fordcapriforum.com and hosted with GoDaddy. I want to upgrade to 3.2.2. Here's what I've done:


merged the files as instructed
Where are you seeing this instruction?
For REALLY good and VERY inexpensive hosting CLICK HERE

I can stop all your spam. PM or email me.

All unsolicited PMs will be ignored.

Beakster
Registered User
Posts: 12
Joined: Sat Oct 17, 2009 1:03 am

Re: Can't get the DB upgrader to run

Post by Beakster » Thu Aug 16, 2018 12:32 am

Hi Steve,

Thanks for your reply.

I followed the instructions here:
https://www.phpbb.com/support/docs/en/3 ... upgrade31/

Downloaded the full 3.2.2, downloaded a copy of my own forum, and merged them as instructed.

Thanks

User avatar
thecoalman
Community Team Member
Community Team Member
Posts: 2812
Joined: Wed Dec 22, 2004 3:52 am
Location: Pennsylvania, U.S.A.
Contact:

Re: Can't get the DB upgrader to run

Post by thecoalman » Thu Aug 16, 2018 2:00 am

Beakster wrote:
Thu Aug 16, 2018 12:32 am
Hi Steve,

Thanks for your reply.

I followed the instructions here:
https://www.phpbb.com/support/docs/en/3 ... upgrade31/

Downloaded the full 3.2.2, downloaded a copy of my own forum, and merged them as instructed.

Thanks
You are misunderstanding the directions, the backup copy you downloaded was for backup in case something goes wrong. You wern't supposed to merge anything with them. Don't panic as there should be no harm at this point. Since you have already uploaded files to you server they are meaningless for backup now.

Using fresh copies of the files in the download package follow the directions from #9 forward. Where it says "On your website, delete all files from your board EXCEPT for:" that is on the server.

Where it says "Upload the contents of the phpBB3 directory from your computer" this is the files you extracted from the download package.

Beakster
Registered User
Posts: 12
Joined: Sat Oct 17, 2009 1:03 am

Re: Can't get the DB upgrader to run

Post by Beakster » Thu Aug 16, 2018 2:13 am

Hi CoalMan,

Thanks for getting back to me. Essentially I have done what was required.

I get that they say that I should delete the files on the server, but instead I deleted them locally and then "uploaded" the package with the files deleted as specified to this folder. Then I zipped it and put it on the server in a separate directory, so I could leave my live directory untouched until I had a successful migration. It equates to exactly the same thing and I don't believe this is the source of the problem. If I am misunderstanding something then please feel free to correct me.

Thanks

User avatar
thecoalman
Community Team Member
Community Team Member
Posts: 2812
Joined: Wed Dec 22, 2004 3:52 am
Location: Pennsylvania, U.S.A.
Contact:

Re: Can't get the DB upgrader to run

Post by thecoalman » Thu Aug 16, 2018 2:41 am

Beakster wrote:
Thu Aug 16, 2018 2:13 am
It equates to exactly the same thing and I don't believe this is the source of the problem.
Based on your screenshot it's directory path issue since the CSS file is not be loading correctly, if you look at the source for the page it probably points to wrong directory. Some of those values can be pulled from the config table. Go into the live forum and under server settings see if "Force server URL settings:" is set to no. It most cases changing this to no should have no affect on the live forum.

When you go to update page it should be formatted similar to the ACP.

Beakster
Registered User
Posts: 12
Joined: Sat Oct 17, 2009 1:03 am

Re: Can't get the DB upgrader to run

Post by Beakster » Thu Aug 16, 2018 3:00 am

Hi CoalMan,

So I tried you suggestion, I looked at the server settings in the live forum:

Image

It was already set to no.

When I visit the install dir of the new forum I get:

Image

When I click on the Update tab I get the screenshot from my first post where it appears the CSS is all wrong and there is no Update button. I can see on this page that some links are wrong:

Image

You can see here the links like Overview, Update and Convert are wrong. they should not be:
/fordcapriforum_www/forum/install/app.php/
but
/forum/install/app.php/

However, the CSS links appear to be correct as they are relative, see:
../adm/style/admin.css

I'm guessing perhaps something to do with .htaccess? Although I am using the .htaccess file which was provided with phpBB3 - 3.2.2.

Thanks

User avatar
thecoalman
Community Team Member
Community Team Member
Posts: 2812
Joined: Wed Dec 22, 2004 3:52 am
Location: Pennsylvania, U.S.A.
Contact:

Re: Can't get the DB upgrader to run

Post by thecoalman » Thu Aug 16, 2018 3:17 am

Not sure what the issue may be but if you are just testing things you can make a copy of the whole database. Edit the config.php file in your temporary folder to point to the copied database. Run this SQL query on the copied database:

Code: Select all

UPDATE `phpbb_config` SET `config_value` = '/forumtmp' WHERE `phpbb_config`.`config_name` = 'script_path'

/forumtmp in that query needs to be changed to whatever folder you have uploaded the new files to. This will effectively give you two independent forums. If all goes well you can just rename the active folder to forumbak and rename the temporary folder to active folder. Run that SQL query again to point to active folder. The files in the forumbak can be discarded once you are comfortable along with the old database.

Beakster
Registered User
Posts: 12
Joined: Sat Oct 17, 2009 1:03 am

Re: Can't get the DB upgrader to run

Post by Beakster » Thu Aug 16, 2018 3:32 am

Thanks Coalman that makes sense,

Having a separate forum and DB won't be any use until I have some ideas to try out on it to fix it, so standing by for any more suggestions.

User avatar
Mick
Support Team Member
Support Team Member
Posts: 20369
Joined: Fri Aug 29, 2008 9:49 am
Location: Cardiff

Re: Can't get the DB upgrader to run

Post by Mick » Thu Aug 16, 2018 7:01 am

Beakster wrote:
Wed Aug 15, 2018 8:08 pm
uploaded to my server
unzipped
You should never unzip on the server, more often than not the files architecture gets compromised. You should upload any files unzipped.
"The more connected we get the more alone we become" - Kyle Broflovski

There are no ‘threads’ in phpBB, they are topics.

User avatar
thecoalman
Community Team Member
Community Team Member
Posts: 2812
Joined: Wed Dec 22, 2004 3:52 am
Location: Pennsylvania, U.S.A.
Contact:

Re: Can't get the DB upgrader to run

Post by thecoalman » Thu Aug 16, 2018 1:20 pm

Beakster wrote:
Thu Aug 16, 2018 3:32 am

Having a separate forum and DB won't be any use until I have some ideas to try out on it to fix it,.....
That query I posted will change the config value that is likely causing the issues in the temporary folder. You can't change it on the live database because it will screw up the live forum.

Beakster
Registered User
Posts: 12
Joined: Sat Oct 17, 2009 1:03 am

Re: Can't get the DB upgrader to run

Post by Beakster » Thu Aug 16, 2018 1:44 pm

Yeah I got it. When I'm testing I am moving my live "forum" directory to "forum-backup" and moving the test dir to forum, so no need to make changes to the DB at this stage as everything ties up.

Beakster
Registered User
Posts: 12
Joined: Sat Oct 17, 2009 1:03 am

Re: Can't get the DB upgrader to run

Post by Beakster » Thu Aug 16, 2018 1:47 pm

Mick wrote:
Thu Aug 16, 2018 7:01 am
Beakster wrote:
Wed Aug 15, 2018 8:08 pm
uploaded to my server
unzipped
You should never unzip on the server, more often than not the files architecture gets compromised. You should upload any files unzipped.
I'm very sceptical about this statement. In what way is the file's architecture likely to get compromised when an archive is uncompressed?

User avatar
stevemaury
Support Team Member
Support Team Member
Posts: 49743
Joined: Thu Nov 02, 2006 12:21 am
Location: The U.P.
Name: Steve
Contact:

Re: Can't get the DB upgrader to run

Post by stevemaury » Thu Aug 16, 2018 3:46 pm

You may be skeptical, but we see this ALL THE TIME. Do you have anything to lose by trying it as Mick says?
For REALLY good and VERY inexpensive hosting CLICK HERE

I can stop all your spam. PM or email me.

All unsolicited PMs will be ignored.

Post Reply

Return to “[3.2.x] Support Forum”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: </Solidjeuh>, janus_zonstraal, WiGgLr and 22 guests