Page 1 of 1

phpBB use domain?

Posted: Sat Oct 20, 2018 10:03 am
by Marcyyy
Hi,
I have a phpBB forum, and I want change the IP Address to domain. (example: http://127.0.0.1/forum2/viewforum.php?f=31 --> http://forum.yourdomain.com/viewforum.php?f=31)
Thank you!

Re: phpBB use domain?

Posted: Sat Oct 20, 2018 10:12 am
by warmweer
Marcyyy wrote:
Sat Oct 20, 2018 10:03 am
Hi,
I have a phpBB forum, and I want change the IP Address to domain. (example: http://127.0.0.1/forum2/viewforum.php?f=31 --> http://forum.yourdomain.com/viewforum.php?f=31)
Thank you!
First of all you'll need a domainname. (and just in case) Seeing that the link you showed as example points to localhost, you will need a webhost (since opening up your PC to the internet is a very bad idea (without proper knowledge, and even with).
So the answer is: get webhosting + domainname.

Re: phpBB use domain?

Posted: Sat Oct 20, 2018 10:16 am
by Marcyyy
I have webspace and domain name.

Re: phpBB use domain?

Posted: Sat Oct 20, 2018 10:20 am
by pikachuturkey

Re: phpBB use domain?

Posted: Sat Oct 20, 2018 10:26 am
by Marcyyy
The forum already installed on webspace.

Re: phpBB use domain?

Posted: Sat Oct 20, 2018 10:26 am
by warmweer
Then look at the info with your webhost: you must have a configuration panel somewhere.

Re: phpBB use domain?

Posted: Sat Oct 20, 2018 1:09 pm
by Mick
Can you post a link to your domain please?

Re: phpBB use domain?

Posted: Sat Oct 20, 2018 3:35 pm
by Marcyyy

Re: phpBB use domain?

Posted: Sat Oct 20, 2018 4:32 pm
by Lumpy Burgertushie
you need to contact your web host about how to do this.

until you get this sorted out there is nothing we can help you with.

this is also not a phpbb problem it is a problem with either your host or your domain registrar or both and they are who you have to talk to.

luck,
robert