Page 1 of 1

Forum Ranks Cached?

Posted: Mon Jan 14, 2019 7:02 pm
by Cillchaoi
I have something weird going on. I have just changed the graphic for one of my ranks but the board still keeps using the old version of the graphic. Specifically, I have swapped the file fcapt.png for a new graphic with the same file name and have gone into the Manage Ranks to associate the new file with the rank but it seems to be using a cached version of the old graphic.

To try to get around this, I temporarily associated the rank with the adm.png graphic, saved it, and then went back and changed it back to the fcapt.png file but it brought back the old version rather than the new.

I have verified that the problem is not with the file itself as I renamed the file to fcaptnew.png and when I associated that file with the rank, it pulled up the image it should. When I renamed the file back to fcapt.png, however, and reassociated the rank with that filename, it brought up the old image.

I have also tried deleting the rank and recreating it but the board software still brings back the old look of the rank.

While I realize that I could use the graphic under a different filename (such as fcaptnew.png), that is not preferable. Is there a way to clear the cache that the board software seems to be using and get it to use the graphic I have provided?

Re: Forum Ranks Cached?

Posted: Mon Jan 14, 2019 7:12 pm
by Brf
Try doing ctrl-F5 in your browser.

Re: Forum Ranks Cached?

Posted: Mon Jan 14, 2019 7:14 pm
by Cillchaoi
I already tried that to no avail. Other ideas?

Re: Forum Ranks Cached?

Posted: Mon Jan 14, 2019 7:14 pm
by janus_zonstraal
Is it not your browser cache?
Try a other browser to check.

Re: Forum Ranks Cached?

Posted: Mon Jan 14, 2019 7:23 pm
by Cillchaoi
No, not a browser issue. I use Google Chrome and cleared the cache to no avail, then started up Firefox (which I have never used to log into the phpBB software on my site) and it showed the same thing. So, not a browser cache issue. It's not a rights issue since I own the domain and have verified that the right file is in the images/ranks directory. Weird...

Re: Forum Ranks Cached?

Posted: Mon Jan 14, 2019 7:33 pm
by Brf
it is not phpBB that is serving up the file -- it is your host's web server.
If it is not your web browser's cache, then it is your host's cache.

Re: Forum Ranks Cached?

Posted: Mon Jan 14, 2019 7:54 pm
by </Solidjeuh>
Is pagespeed installed and active? I had the same issues with images and css files. Had to clear the pagespeed cache after I made edits. Via CLI: touch /var/cache/mod_pagespeed/cache.flush

Re: Forum Ranks Cached?

Posted: Mon Jan 14, 2019 8:06 pm
by Cillchaoi
No, Pagespeed is not being used here. Not sure what the issue is. I'll get to the bottom of it one way or another, though. :D

Re: Forum Ranks Cached?

Posted: Mon Jan 14, 2019 8:14 pm
by </Solidjeuh>
Cloudflare maybe?