Resynchronise post counts get Cloudflare timeout

Get help with installation and running phpBB 3.2.x here. Please do not post bug reports, feature requests, or extension related questions here.
Post Reply
User avatar
horseguards
Registered User
Posts: 74
Joined: Sun Oct 26, 2008 12:18 pm
Location: Mar del Plata [Argentina]
Name: P C

Resynchronise post counts get Cloudflare timeout

Post by horseguards » Sat Feb 09, 2019 3:29 am

I have updated phpBB, and I am not able to resynchronise post counts (over 1 million) cause I get Cloudflare time out.

Is there any other way to do it? running a query?

Thanks!

User avatar
Lumpy Burgertushie
Registered User
Posts: 66147
Joined: Mon May 02, 2005 3:11 am
Contact:

Re: Resynchronise post counts get Cloudflare timeout

Post by Lumpy Burgertushie » Sat Feb 09, 2019 5:01 am

not sure what cloudfare has to do with it but maybe you could disable it just long enough to run the sync. ( if not permanently ).


robert
I am available for custom work on a donation basis. Please send me a PM with your needs.

Premium phpBB 3.2 Styles by PlanetStyles.net

OK, so what's the speed of dark?

User avatar
thecoalman
Community Team Member
Community Team Member
Posts: 3119
Joined: Wed Dec 22, 2004 3:52 am
Location: Pennsylvania, U.S.A.
Contact:

Re: Resynchronise post counts get Cloudflare timeout

Post by thecoalman » Sat Feb 09, 2019 6:44 am

Cloudflare spits out it's own "pretty" error pages based on the server error. It's not because of Cloudflare.

You are likely hitting a php timeout, you can check your server error logs to confirm. You can see what the time limit is in phpBB's ACP, go to the system tab >> PHP information link on the left. Find the value for max_execution_time. This can be changed in php.ini if your host allows it, unless it's ridiculously low be sure to change it back to defaults.

What I do is set a high limit in the script itself so I don't have to be mucking around with the global value.

In adm/index.php near the top find:

Code: Select all

// Is user any type of admin? No, then stop here, each script needs to
// check specific permissions but this is a catchall
if (!$auth->acl_get('a_'))
{
	send_status_line(403, 'Forbidden');
	trigger_error('NO_ADMIN');
}
After add:

Code: Select all

set_time_limit(300);
300 will allow it to execute for 300 seconds but it only affects operations in the admin panel. Note this may have no affect based on the server configuration.

User avatar
horseguards
Registered User
Posts: 74
Joined: Sun Oct 26, 2008 12:18 pm
Location: Mar del Plata [Argentina]
Name: P C

Re: Resynchronise post counts get Cloudflare timeout

Post by horseguards » Mon Feb 18, 2019 12:56 am

thanks!

I did try your solution, first 300, and then up to

Code: Select all

set_time_limit(1200);

it takes longer, but I get the same error:

borrar524.jpg
My forum has over 1,2 million posts. Any ideas?

Thanks!

User avatar
</Solidjeuh>
Registered User
Posts: 1471
Joined: Tue Mar 29, 2016 3:45 am
Location: Aalst (Belgium)
Name: Andy Dm
Contact:

Re: Resynchronise post counts get Cloudflare timeout

Post by </Solidjeuh> » Mon Feb 18, 2019 1:00 am

set_time_limit(1200); Set it higher. 10000 or 20000 ...
We offer fun HTML5 games for young and old.
Register a free account & enjoy all functions!
Save your score, challenge other members or play along with our tournaments.

~~~ https://www.solidjeuh.be ~~~

User avatar
thecoalman
Community Team Member
Community Team Member
Posts: 3119
Joined: Wed Dec 22, 2004 3:52 am
Location: Pennsylvania, U.S.A.
Contact:

Re: Resynchronise post counts get Cloudflare timeout

Post by thecoalman » Mon Feb 18, 2019 1:10 am

There is likely hard limit set by server configuration. I'm guessing the ability to resync post counts is available over command line interface, documentation is here:

https://area51.phpbb.com/docs/dev/3.2.x/cli/index.html

User avatar
3Di
Former Team Member
Posts: 13603
Joined: Mon Apr 04, 2005 11:09 pm
Location: Milan (IT) Frankfurt (DE)
Name: Marco
Contact:

Re: Resynchronise post counts get Cloudflare timeout

Post by 3Di » Mon Feb 18, 2019 1:16 am

That's not yet available via CLI (resync).

Solution could be disable cloudflare and do the job, then re-enable it.
Please PM me only to request paid works. Thx.
Want to compensate me for my interest? Donate
My development's activity º PhpStorm's proud user
Extensions, Scripts, MOD porting, Update/Upgrades
👨‍🏫 | Take a tour to | The Studio | 👨‍🏫

User avatar
thecoalman
Community Team Member
Community Team Member
Posts: 3119
Joined: Wed Dec 22, 2004 3:52 am
Location: Pennsylvania, U.S.A.
Contact:

Re: Resynchronise post counts get Cloudflare timeout

Post by thecoalman » Mon Feb 18, 2019 2:06 am

3Di wrote:
Mon Feb 18, 2019 1:16 am
Solution could be disable cloudflare and do the job, then re-enable it.
As I already mentioned this is not a Cloudflare issue. They do not proxy error pages because they have their own error pages based on the server response. They do this because of their own services like "always on" where the user can view cached copy of website if the server is down. Not sure about the free plan but they can be customized on the pro plan.

Post Reply

Return to “[3.2.x] Support Forum”