Activating new users – via ACP only?

Get help with installation and running phpBB 3.2.x here. Please do not post bug reports, feature requests, or extension related questions here.
Peeagepeebeebee

Activating new users – via ACP only?

Post by Peeagepeebeebee » Sun Feb 10, 2019 4:38 pm

I'm a phpBB newbie and the founder/admin if my message board. I get notified in the standard forum view about new user registrations which are waiting for activation/approval.

Stupid question: Where can I active those new registrations? ACP only (I know exactly where and how), or also in my regular forum view as Admin? I neither see a direct option there nor in the MCP (Moderator Control Panel) shown to me as Admin. Wrong settings or is it just activation via ACP only?

KevC
Support Team Member
Support Team Member

Re: Activating new users – via ACP only?

Post by KevC » Sun Feb 10, 2019 4:43 pm

It's only in the admin panel

If you have admin activation on it's best to set the email notification to arrive as then you get a link in that email to click which logs you in and turns on the account.
-:|:- Support Request Template -:|:-
Cheap UK Hosting
"In the land of the blind the little green bloke with no pupils is king - init!"

Peeagepeebeebee

Post by Peeagepeebeebee » Sun Feb 10, 2019 4:53 pm

Had „email notification to Admin on new registrations“ already on, but was confused as the following profile view (which you get when clicking the board’s inline notification on the Admin user’s regular forum page) somewhat implies an account activation by clicking on "Los". (It leaves the impression that "Los" (Go) adds the newly registered user "The Tester to the group "Registrierte Benutzer" (Registered user). See red pointer.
Bildschirmfoto 2019-02-10 um 17.46.44.png
But good to know that the second lower link in the notification email to the Admin directly activates the account... Something you not necessarily want to happen, prior to checking some registration details.

KevC