Why is my website asking "<site>wants to use your devices location"

Get help with installation and running phpBB 3.2.x here. Please do not post bug reports, feature requests, or extension related questions here.
Post Reply
jefmcg
Registered User
Posts: 43
Joined: Mon Aug 13, 2018 11:04 am

Why is my website asking "<site>wants to use your devices location"

Post by jefmcg »

Support Request Template
What version of phpBB are you using? phpBB 3.2.5
What is your board's URL? https://cyclingrelated.uk
Who do you host your board with? dathorn
How did you install your board? I used the download package from phpBB.com
What is the most recent action performed on your board? Update from a previous version of phpBB3
Is registration required to reproduce this issue? No
Do you have any MODs installed? No
Do you have any extensions installed? Yes
What version of phpBB3 did you update from? phpBB 3.2.4
What extensions do you have installed? auto image resize server side, auto draft, exif image rotation, external links open in new window, large font, hide bots, post love, recent topics, relative dates, s9e mediaembed, simple mentions, simple spoiler
What styles do you currently have installed? prosilver, flat style, metrolike, pro ubunto, latte,,,, revolutionprosilver, flat style, metrolike, pro ubunto, latte,,,, revolution
What language(s) is your board currently using? Default/English
Which database type/version are you using? MariaDB
What is your level of experience? New to phpBB but not PHP
What actions did you take (updating your board; installing a MOD, style or extension; etc.) prior to this problem becoming noticeable? This occurred once, out of the blue. Nothing had changed for a while, and board has been live for over a year.
Please describe your problem. PHPBB is the only thing installed on my site. When I visited it the other day on my phone (Chrome on Android), I got a popup asking me for my device's location. I want to know why that happened.
Generated by SRT Generator
Attachments
Screenshot_20190212-105550_1.png
Last edited by jefmcg on Wed Feb 13, 2019 6:51 pm, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
david63
Registered User
Posts: 18449
Joined: Thu Dec 19, 2002 8:08 am
Location: Lancashire, UK
Contact:

Re: Why is my website asking "<site>wants to use your devices location"

Post by david63 »

There is nothing in phpBB that would do that - it is coming from somewhere else on your phone.
David
Remember: You only know what you know and - you don't know what you don't know!
My CDB Contributions | How to install an extension
I will not be accepting translations for any of my extensions in Github - please post any translations in the appropriate topic.
No support requests via PM or email as they will be ignored
User avatar
Lumpy Burgertushie
Registered User
Posts: 68190
Joined: Mon May 02, 2005 3:11 am
Contact:

Re: Why is my website asking "<site>wants to use your devices location"

Post by Lumpy Burgertushie »

or on whatever website you visited.

it could be malware, etc.

run your virus program/malware program .

robert
I'm baaaaaccckkkk. still doing work on donation basis. PM your needs.

Premium phpBB 3.3 Styles by PlanetStyles.net

If nobody is in the forest, does a tree really fall?
User avatar
AbaddonOrmuz
Recognised Extension Developer
Posts: 1003
Joined: Wed Dec 25, 2013 9:06 pm
Location: /dev/null
Name: Alfredo
Contact:

Re: Why is my website asking "<site>wants to use your devices location"

Post by AbaddonOrmuz »

Are you embedding any geolocalization service in your topic, like Google Maps? Did you install something on your phone recently?

Try with another web browser, like Firefox for Android.
Some of my phpBB extensions:
Image Imgur | :chart_with_upwards_trend: SEO Metadata | Image Markdown | :lock: Auto-lock Topics
:trophy: Check out all my validated extensions :trophy:

:penguin: Arch Linux user :penguin:
jefmcg
Registered User
Posts: 43
Joined: Mon Aug 13, 2018 11:04 am

Re: Why is my website asking "<site>wants to use your devices location"

Post by jefmcg »

Thanks everyone.

It's not malware on my phone (I scanned, just to be sure).

It's a message I have seen a few times on other sites, but mostly where I would expect to see it, like opening the store location page.

I have visited my site hundreds of times, but only seen this messages once. I cleared the site data from my browser, and revisited the site and didn't see the message again; so not seeing it from another browser won't prove anything.

For the record, this is the page I visited https://cyclingrelated.uk/viewtopic.php?p=5053#p5053. I don't believe anything has been removed, and I can't see any location services referred to in the posts, and I don't believe I have installed any myself.

Thanks for all the suggestions: I'll have to chalk it up as "one of those things".
User avatar
AmigoJack
Registered User
Posts: 5782
Joined: Tue Jun 15, 2010 11:33 am
Location: グリーン ヒル ゾーン
Contact:

Re: Why is my website asking "<site>wants to use your devices location"

Post by AmigoJack »

The topic itself links nothing suspicious, but the overall website makes use of VigLink and that may be the culprit.
  • The worst thing about censorship is ███████████
  • "The problem is probably not my English but you do not want to understand correctly. ... We will not come anybody anyway, nevertheless, it's best to shit this." Affin, 2018-11-20
  • "But this shit is not here for you. You can follow with your. Maybe the question, instead, was for you, who know, so you shoved us how you are." axe70, 2020-10-10
Post Reply

Return to “[3.2.x] Support Forum”