Captcha not working

Get help with installation and running phpBB 3.2.x here. Please do not post bug reports, feature requests, or extension related questions here.
Post Reply
User avatar
Funk Theory
Registered User
Posts: 736
Joined: Mon Sep 25, 2006 3:33 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Captcha not working

Post by Funk Theory »

Hi, i have just set up a new board and admin is to one email address. I am trying to sign up another account with a different email address so i can add that to admin group etc but whatever i put in on the captcha it doesnt work. any ideas?
User avatar
KevC
Support Team Member
Support Team Member
Posts: 70268
Joined: Fri Jun 04, 2004 10:44 am
Location: Oxford, UK
Contact:

Re: Captcha not working

Post by KevC »

If it's the site in your sig (which wrongly has a hyphen in the name), then the captcha is working ok as I just filled it in and it only told me the rest of the info on the page had not been completed.

However, that captcha was beaten a long time ago by the bots so it's not worth trying to get it working. Go straight for the Q&A code.

How to configure Q&A
  1. Administration Control Panel (ACP) > Spambot countermeasures> Installed plugins > click the dropdown box and select Q&A (it will be greyed out)
  2. Click the configure button then click add
  3. Add your question and answer (you need a Q&A for each language you have installed) click submit
  4. Click "back to previous page" then click "back"
  5. Select Q&A from the dropdown box (again)
  6. Click submit at the bottom of the page.
  7. Done.
-:|:- Support Request Template -:|:-
Image
Cheap UK Hosting
"In the land of the blind the little green bloke with no pupils is king - init!"
User avatar
Funk Theory
Registered User
Posts: 736
Joined: Mon Sep 25, 2006 3:33 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: Captcha not working

Post by Funk Theory »

Brilliant Thanks that worked ok but now i get this:
The submitted form was invalid. Try submitting again - I only get this message in firefox but works ok in chrome
User avatar
KevC
Support Team Member
Support Team Member
Posts: 70268
Joined: Fri Jun 04, 2004 10:44 am
Location: Oxford, UK
Contact:

Re: Captcha not working

Post by KevC »

I just registered with firefox.

Try clearing the cache (button in the admin panel under the stats).
-:|:- Support Request Template -:|:-
Image
Cheap UK Hosting
"In the land of the blind the little green bloke with no pupils is king - init!"
User avatar
Funk Theory
Registered User
Posts: 736
Joined: Mon Sep 25, 2006 3:33 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: Captcha not working

Post by Funk Theory »

No that didnt work, must be my firefox settings, will have a look, thanks for your help, much appreciated :)
User avatar
KevC
Support Team Member
Support Team Member
Posts: 70268
Joined: Fri Jun 04, 2004 10:44 am
Location: Oxford, UK
Contact:

Re: Captcha not working

Post by KevC »

I'll keep an eye on progress. I like a bit of photography myself :)
It'll help your SEO to correct the link in your sig.
-:|:- Support Request Template -:|:-
Image
Cheap UK Hosting
"In the land of the blind the little green bloke with no pupils is king - init!"
User avatar
Funk Theory
Registered User
Posts: 736
Joined: Mon Sep 25, 2006 3:33 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: Captcha not working

Post by Funk Theory »

Cheers :)
User avatar
KevC
Support Team Member
Support Team Member
Posts: 70268
Joined: Fri Jun 04, 2004 10:44 am
Location: Oxford, UK
Contact:

Re: Captcha not working

Post by KevC »

Delete the / at the end of your sig address.
-:|:- Support Request Template -:|:-
Image
Cheap UK Hosting
"In the land of the blind the little green bloke with no pupils is king - init!"
User avatar
Funk Theory
Registered User
Posts: 736
Joined: Mon Sep 25, 2006 3:33 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: Captcha not working

Post by Funk Theory »

KevC wrote:
Thu Feb 14, 2019 9:17 pm
Delete the / at the end of your sig address.
:D you star! Thanks
Post Reply

Return to “[3.2.x] Support Forum”