Page 1 of 1

Is it possible to upgrade?

Posted: Sat Apr 20, 2019 4:53 am
by garfy
I think I have old 3,00 version, not sure which one.....can i upgrade to latest?
Just ovewrite files and press upgrade?

Re: Is it possible to upgrade?

Posted: Sat Apr 20, 2019 4:58 am
by garfy
I think the old version was something 3.00, not sure......I overwrote it with 3.014 and not it asks me to install board.....why not upgrade?
That is why I want to migrate to 3.2.5

Re: Is it possible to upgrade?

Posted: Sat Apr 20, 2019 5:35 am
by .m.
of course, it is possible to upgrade.

see relevant guidance =>
Upgrading from 3.0 to 3.2

Re: Is it possible to upgrade?

Posted: Sat Apr 20, 2019 6:07 am
by Lumpy Burgertushie
It is not quite as simple as uploading all the files and pressing a button.

right now you have uploaded the folder named install. as long as that folder is there you can't see your board.
however, you probably uploaded the new blank config.php file to overwrite the one you had.

if so, you have to rebuild it so that you can upgrade. without a proper config.php file the board will not work.

so, using ftp, check to see if your config.php file is zero bytes in size. if so, do this:
Knowledge Base - Rebuilding Your config.php File

once you have the config.php working again you can proceed with the upgrade instaructions found here:
https://www.phpbb.com/support/docs/en/3 ... /upgrade3/

be sure to follow all instrutions exactly in order.

this means always always make backups of the database and the files before you start.

good luck,
robert

Re: Is it possible to upgrade?

Posted: Sat Apr 20, 2019 7:51 am
by Mick
What’s the url to this other board as the one in your signature is a 3.2.2 board?

Re: Is it possible to upgrade?

Posted: Sat Apr 20, 2019 3:42 pm
by garfy
thanks, updated 3.0... to 3.25 smooth with no problems......

easy peasy, too easy