Page 1 of 1

Menu is missing from mobile site

Posted: Sun Aug 11, 2019 7:32 am
by Genebaby
Hi guys, my users have alerted me that the drop down menu has gone from the mobile version of the site in their phone browsers.

I use Tapatalk so this is not apparent to me.

My forum is at: vvforums.com

I updated to the latest version when it came out but the latest thing I did is make a change at my hosting so that all traffic comes through HTTPS, would that be a problem?

Someone asked me about making it HTTPS by default so I looked into it and made a redirection change so everyone will get the secure version of the site.

Thanks,

Vic

Re: Menu is missing from mobile site

Posted: Sun Aug 11, 2019 7:59 am
by david63
Do you have the problem with the default prosilver style? If not then there is a problem with your style.

Also your style version 3.1.1) is not compatible with your phpBB version (3.2.7)

Re: Menu is missing from mobile site

Posted: Mon Aug 12, 2019 5:43 am
by Genebaby
Bugger, I was hoping you would not pick on my out of date style. It will be some work to change it to one that is ok and then tweak it up.

I did do a test by disabling the forced https setting with my hosting service and it seems when you are mobile and secure the problem comes up.

If you are on http only, you get the menu available.

Does anybody else get this? Would an updated style fix it for sure?

Thanks.

Re: Menu is missing from mobile site

Posted: Mon Aug 12, 2019 8:10 am
by Mick
Style versions MUST match the phpBB version, it’s been like that for many years.

The way to check it is go back to the default prosilver style and test, then you’ll know.

Re: Menu is missing from mobile site

Posted: Mon Aug 12, 2019 8:59 am
by EA117
Genebaby wrote:
Mon Aug 12, 2019 5:43 am
I did do a test by disabling the forced https setting with my hosting service and it seems when you are mobile and secure the problem comes up.

If you are on http only, you get the menu available.

Does anybody else get this? Would an updated style fix it for sure?
You're going to have multiple issue fixes and benefits by using a style intended for phpBB 3.2; we can say that unequivocally. Whether or not this truly translates to "the menu bar will be visible on mobile" isn't exactly that clear cut, because that's more a question of "does the style you choose intend to show a menu bar on mobile."

The HTTPS observation you made does suggest "things might actually continue working" (as well as they have been, anyway) if the HTTPS issue was addressed. What appears to be happening there, in the /styles/WoWDraenor/template/overall_header.html template presumably, is that the attempt to include JQuery Javascript right before the WoWDraenor-specific menu.js Javascript is attempting to load this script with an explicit HTTP URL.

i.e. In this overall_header.html file you should find a <script> statement which is attempting to reference "http://code.jquery.com/jquery-latest.min.js". You want to change this "http://" reference to "https://" so that you're not trying to load scripts from mixed sources, and then you will need to purge the phpBB cache from ACP General in order for this modification to the overall_header.html template to take effect.

I actually wouldn't have guessed this was the issue; what looks like the issue to me is that the style's CSS has an @media query which sets the menu bar to max-height: 0px when the screen size is under 800px wide. But, this would not explain "it works fine if I don't force HTTPS." So I'm guessing that despite the 0px height being asserted, if the WoWDraenor menu.js had been able to load JQuery as it intended, WoWDraenor would dynamically override this element height.

So the evidence currently suggests that fixing the mixed-content warning for this JQuery script load may be the only fix needed regarding the menu visibility. Which of course says nothing about how well your current style works overall with phpBB 3.2.x; only the menu visibility.

Re: Menu is missing from mobile site

Posted: Mon Aug 12, 2019 11:15 am
by Genebaby
Thanks guys, the default prosilver has a very different look and feel, but the options are there, just in different places, below the forum image. The current theme places all menus in one section above the image, which gets removed in secure mode.

I tried adjusting my overallheader file but it didn't seem to work so I will move to a new them, adjust it and hope it gets supported for a while.

Thanks!