How to get a "Banned" status visible?

Get help with installation and running phpBB 3.2.x here. Please do not post bug reports, feature requests, or extension related questions here.
Post Reply
User avatar
deepndark
Registered User
Posts: 331
Joined: Thu Nov 03, 2011 12:48 pm
Location: Finland
Contact:

How to get a "Banned" status visible?

Post by deepndark » Sat Aug 17, 2019 2:39 pm

For us to see? I just perma-banned one of my members and would like to see his ban-status, where the avatar etc are. Thanks!
Edit: I think the status like "Registered User" should be visible too and that's where the "Banned" should appear if someone is banned. Is my pycode style not having it maybe or is it turned off somewhere?

User avatar
KevC
Support Team Member
Support Team Member
Posts: 69300
Joined: Fri Jun 04, 2004 10:44 am
Location: Oxford, UK
Contact:

Re: How to get a "Banned" status visible?

Post by KevC » Sat Aug 17, 2019 3:08 pm

The easy way to do it is to make a group, give that a banned rank and put them in it.
-:|:- Support Request Template -:|:-
Image
Cheap UK Hosting
"In the land of the blind the little green bloke with no pupils is king - init!"

User avatar
deepndark
Registered User
Posts: 331
Joined: Thu Nov 03, 2011 12:48 pm
Location: Finland
Contact:

Re: How to get a "Banned" status visible?

Post by deepndark » Sat Aug 17, 2019 3:34 pm

KevC wrote:
Sat Aug 17, 2019 3:08 pm
The easy way to do it is to make a group, give that a banned rank and put them in it.
Alright, thanks, but can you tell me how to make the "Registered User" and such also visible? I'm not sure if it's needed, but I'd like to still know if it's the pycode specific or is there a setting that has disabled it. :)

User avatar
Mick
Support Team Member
Support Team Member
Posts: 21462
Joined: Fri Aug 29, 2008 9:49 am
Location: Not watching cricket

Re: How to get a "Banned" status visible?

Post by Mick » Sat Aug 17, 2019 3:48 pm

The best check is to try it with prosilver, if it works with that it *should* work on an up to date style. As for visibility would it help if that was the users default group? Ie: their rank changes to ‘banned’.
"The more connected we get the more alone we become" - Kyle Broflovski

User avatar
KevC
Support Team Member
Support Team Member
Posts: 69300
Joined: Fri Jun 04, 2004 10:44 am
Location: Oxford, UK
Contact:

Re: How to get a "Banned" status visible?

Post by KevC » Sat Aug 17, 2019 3:55 pm

You can't have 2 ranks at the same time without an extension.

They're technically not registered users any more though. From a personal point of view I don't see the point if labelling them but it's up to you. It makes little difference to the rest of the people on the site if they're banned or not.
-:|:- Support Request Template -:|:-
Image
Cheap UK Hosting
"In the land of the blind the little green bloke with no pupils is king - init!"

User avatar
deepndark
Registered User
Posts: 331
Joined: Thu Nov 03, 2011 12:48 pm
Location: Finland
Contact:

Re: How to get a "Banned" status visible?

Post by deepndark » Sat Aug 17, 2019 4:51 pm

I got it, I'd need to create ranks and they would appear THEN.
I have only Site Admin for myself atm.

Anyway, I think I don't need no ranks or rank pictures for no-one. They seem to make the users wanna compete for the higher post amount then.

But thanx for explaining this to me, cheers!

User avatar
John connor
Registered User
Posts: 2208
Joined: Fri Nov 14, 2014 5:14 pm
Location: U S Of A
Name: Aaron
Contact:

Re: How to get a "Banned" status visible?

Post by John connor » Sat Aug 17, 2019 7:32 pm

You want two extensions. Prime Ban To Group ( I actually asked for this one) and Ban Hammer

I use both, but now I'm wondering if I need Prime Ban To Group. I think Prime Ban To Group will automatically create its own ban and suspended groups to use. It been over four years since I first installed it so I can't be for certain. Set your cron in Prime Ban To Group to at least 600 seconds.

Post Reply

Return to “[3.2.x] Support Forum”