Require location in profile for posting

Get help with installation and running phpBB 3.2.x here. Please do not post bug reports, feature requests, or extension related questions here.
alvo
Registered User
Posts: 709
Joined: Thu Jun 22, 2006 3:57 am

Require location in profile for posting

Post by alvo » Mon Oct 07, 2019 7:44 am

I would like to add a requirement of having a location in a member profile before someone can post. This would be automatic. If the field is blank, they would get an error message telling them to add a location. If the field is filled in, posting would be normal.

User avatar
david63
Registered User
Posts: 16540
Joined: Thu Dec 19, 2002 8:08 am
Location: Lancashire, UK
Name: David Wood
Contact:

Re: Require location in profile for posting

Post by david63 » Mon Oct 07, 2019 8:18 am

There is a Custom Profile Field that will do that (phpbb_location) just make it required when registering.

Be aware though that a user can enter anything that they want into the field so it may not be of much value
David
Remember: You only know what you know and - you don't know what you don't know!
My CDB Contributions | How to install an extension
I will not be accepting translations for any of my extensions in Github - please post any translations in the appropriate topic.
No support requests via PM or email as they will be ignored

alvo
Registered User
Posts: 709
Joined: Thu Jun 22, 2006 3:57 am

Re: Require location in profile for posting

Post by alvo » Mon Oct 07, 2019 10:50 am

Thank you for your reply.

Is phpbb_location what is used in the profile now? If it is, will creating a field with that name in Users and Groups > Custom profile fields overwrite what is already been entered my members? If it's not, will the uses that have entered location information already then have that displayed twice?

I understand that I can create a field and require it for registration, but how would I also require it for posting and create a useable error message for those that haven't entered that information?

You comment about people making stuff up is valid, although it's not one that really concerns me too much. My forum (https://antiqueradios.com/forums) is mostly a few hundred active members that are pretty friendly. Location is required for posting in an ad section, and that's enforced by moderators. Site wide would be similar, city/state or zip code for US; city/country for elsewhere. "The Pacific Northwest" "The Great State of Ohio" "Over the Rainbow" type addresses would be disallowed when moderators spotted them. It's more of a community thing than anything else.

User avatar
Mick
Support Team Member
Support Team Member
Posts: 21572
Joined: Fri Aug 29, 2008 9:49 am
Location: Caerdydd

Re: Require location in profile for posting

Post by Mick » Mon Oct 07, 2019 11:18 am

Why not use the existing one in the ACP? I don’t think it shows by default.

ACP> Users and groups> Custom profile fields.
"The more connected we get the more alone we become" - Kyle Broflovski

alvo
Registered User
Posts: 709
Joined: Thu Jun 22, 2006 3:57 am

Re: Require location in profile for posting

Post by alvo » Mon Oct 07, 2019 12:42 pm

The phpbb default is that a user may select to add their location in the User Control Panel > Profile. It's not something that you can select to be required input when somebody registers. I want a new user to select a user name, choose a password, and enter their location to become a member. The location field within phpbb does not have the option to make it a requirement; one can add a new field and make that a requirement, but then I will have two location fields?

Also, I want to make having a location field filled in in order to make a post, and an understandable error message if someone posts with a blank location so they will understand what they have to do to post.

User avatar
david63
Registered User
Posts: 16540
Joined: Thu Dec 19, 2002 8:08 am
Location: Lancashire, UK
Name: David Wood
Contact:

Re: Require location in profile for posting

Post by david63 » Mon Oct 07, 2019 1:00 pm

alvo wrote:
Mon Oct 07, 2019 12:42 pm
It's not something that you can select to be required input when somebody registers.
Yes it is. There are two check boxes Display on registration screen and Required field by selecting both of those a user upon registering or editing their profile would have to enter something.
alvo wrote:
Mon Oct 07, 2019 12:42 pm
I want to make having a location field filled in in order to make a post
For that you will need an extension. Not sure if this will do what you want - https://www.phpbb.com/customise/db/exte ... template_4
David
Remember: You only know what you know and - you don't know what you don't know!
My CDB Contributions | How to install an extension
I will not be accepting translations for any of my extensions in Github - please post any translations in the appropriate topic.
No support requests via PM or email as they will be ignored

alvo
Registered User
Posts: 709
Joined: Thu Jun 22, 2006 3:57 am

Re: Require location in profile for posting

Post by alvo » Mon Oct 07, 2019 1:37 pm

Where?

User and Groups > Custom profile fields

Reads "No items yet"

So I assume you mean I need to create a new field. OK. So will this mean I will then have two locations displayed? There is already one location field existing in phpbb.

I realise I keep asking the same question, I haven't gotten an answer yet.

Thank you for taking the time to reply.

User avatar
Mick
Support Team Member
Support Team Member
Posts: 21572
Joined: Fri Aug 29, 2008 9:49 am
Location: Caerdydd

Re: Require location in profile for posting

Post by Mick » Mon Oct 07, 2019 1:41 pm

What, you don’t see this?

F8BA0202-28B4-430A-88B2-FA557500F7F3.jpeg
"The more connected we get the more alone we become" - Kyle Broflovski

alvo
Registered User
Posts: 709
Joined: Thu Jun 22, 2006 3:57 am

Re: Require location in profile for posting

Post by alvo » Mon Oct 07, 2019 3:46 pm

Screenshot_20191007_234328_com.android.chrome.jpg

User avatar
stevemaury
Support Team Member
Support Team Member
Posts: 50812
Joined: Thu Nov 02, 2006 12:21 am
Location: The U.P.
Name: Steve
Contact:

Re: Require location in profile for posting

Post by stevemaury » Mon Oct 07, 2019 4:05 pm

Your board appears to be phpBB version 3.0.x, support for which expired several years ago. The only support we can offer is with upgrading it to the latest phpBB version.
For REALLY good and VERY inexpensive hosting CLICK HERE

I can stop all your spam. I can upgrade or update your Board. PM or email me. (Paid support)

User avatar
Lumpy Burgertushie
Registered User
Posts: 66728
Joined: Mon May 02, 2005 3:11 am
Contact:

Re: Require location in profile for posting

Post by Lumpy Burgertushie » Mon Oct 07, 2019 6:06 pm

Hi, I have been a visitor to your site for several years. I hate to admit that I never noticed you had a phpbb forum there.
I would like to talk to you about the site and the radios etc.
you can send me a PM here or email me if you wish.

You will have to upgrade soon as phpbb 3.0 will stop working when your host upgrades their php version to 7


robert
I'm baaaaaccckkkk. still doing work on donation basis. PM your needs.

Premium phpBB 3.2 Styles by PlanetStyles.net

If a tree falls in the forest and nobody is there, does it make a sound?

alvo
Registered User
Posts: 709
Joined: Thu Jun 22, 2006 3:57 am

Re: Require location in profile for posting

Post by alvo » Tue Oct 08, 2019 5:14 am

I think my best option is to drop this idea altogether. According to the upgrade information, moving to 3.2 will mean losing my custom style and the mod that has keep my forum spam free for the past decade.

Since I have a dedicated server, I can simply elect not to change to php 7.

User avatar
Lumpy Burgertushie
Registered User
Posts: 66728
Joined: Mon May 02, 2005 3:11 am
Contact:

Re: Require location in profile for posting

Post by Lumpy Burgertushie » Tue Oct 08, 2019 5:46 am

your choice of course.

the style would not be hard to duplicate even with the ads down the side etc.

as for spam, the MOD you are using is probably the one that creates a question and answer. that is now built in to phpbb and is still the best anti spam method today.

robert
I'm baaaaaccckkkk. still doing work on donation basis. PM your needs.

Premium phpBB 3.2 Styles by PlanetStyles.net

If a tree falls in the forest and nobody is there, does it make a sound?

alvo
Registered User
Posts: 709
Joined: Thu Jun 22, 2006 3:57 am

Re: Require location in profile for posting

Post by alvo » Tue Oct 08, 2019 6:25 am

The mod on question is Spam Hammer, a version created for phpbb that never made it out of beta. Its best feature it it allows filtering of posts to exclude URLs and Email addresses, causing bot submissions to fail. Coupled with moderator approval of the first post, absolutely no spam has gotten through in years.

The theme could be replicated, but it's more than just formatting, there are usability enhancements. For instance, a new topic with a new post/reply has an icon that's simple a yellow rectangle with the word "New" in black. Requires no thinking about what it means. If the topic doesn't have new content, then there is no icon at all. A "No new post" icon is unnecessary and irrelevant. So is the"Hot"topic icon. So is the forum permissions list ("You can post in this forum." "You can edit your posts in this forum").

User avatar
stevemaury
Support Team Member
Support Team Member
Posts: 50812
Joined: Thu Nov 02, 2006 12:21 am
Location: The U.P.
Name: Steve
Contact:

Re: Require location in profile for posting

Post by stevemaury » Tue Oct 08, 2019 3:18 pm

Certainly your choice, but there are spam countermeasures, both built-in and as extensions, that are quite effective, especially in conjunction with first post approval. Have you ever seen spam on phpBB.com?

Apart from the php and the support issues, sooner or later there will be other issues, including perhaps security issues, that will make upgrading desireable, if not necessary.
For REALLY good and VERY inexpensive hosting CLICK HERE

I can stop all your spam. I can upgrade or update your Board. PM or email me. (Paid support)

Post Reply

Return to “[3.2.x] Support Forum”