My forum will not do the upgrade, or backup via Softaculos

Get help with installation and running phpBB 3.2.x here. Please do not post bug reports, feature requests, or extension related questions here.
Post Reply
helvelin
Registered User
Posts: 35
Joined: Fri Nov 27, 2009 9:04 pm

My forum will not do the upgrade, or backup via Softaculos

Post by helvelin » Tue Oct 08, 2019 6:36 pm

Hi i have tried the update via Softaculous but the the status bar stays at 95% while checking submitted data.

can anyone help?

Thanks Tom.

User avatar
KevC
Support Team Member
Support Team Member
Posts: 69356
Joined: Fri Jun 04, 2004 10:44 am
Location: Oxford, UK
Contact:

Re: My forum will not do the upgrade, or backup via Softaculos

Post by KevC » Tue Oct 08, 2019 6:59 pm

You would have to ask the people who make softaculous. That's not us.

We would recommend you do an update or upgrade (depending on which it is) using our files.
-:|:- Support Request Template -:|:-
Image
Cheap UK Hosting
"In the land of the blind the little green bloke with no pupils is king - init!"

User avatar
janus_zonstraal
Registered User
Posts: 3623
Joined: Sat Aug 30, 2014 1:30 pm

Re: My forum will not do the upgrade, or backup via Softaculos

Post by janus_zonstraal » Tue Oct 08, 2019 6:59 pm

Hi i have tried the update via Softaculous but the the status bar stays at 95% while checking submitted data.

can anyone help?
Stop with that right now please :!: :!:

set that option of in Softaculous
and use the recommended way
https://www.phpbb.com/support/docs/en/3 ... ating-32x/
(if you are on phpbb3.2)
Sorry! My English is bat ;) !!!

User avatar
EA117
Registered User
Posts: 915
Joined: Wed Aug 15, 2018 3:23 am
Contact:

Re: My forum will not do the upgrade, or backup via Softaculos

Post by EA117 » Tue Oct 08, 2019 7:40 pm

helvelin wrote:
Tue Oct 08, 2019 6:36 pm
Hi i have tried the update via Softaculous but the the status bar stays at 95% while checking submitted data.
If it's been working for you, that's great. But indeed, if it's stuck during Softaculous installation/update processing, the place to start is with your hosting support. They're the ones who are paying Softaculous for the service of providing that installer, and should have access to the support needed in order to determine what's wrong.

To bypass that question entirely and use the installation support here in phpbb.com/community instead, you would have to download and install phpBB yourself; using the files and instructions from phpbb.com, instead of using Softaculous.

User avatar
3Di
Former Team Member
Posts: 14225
Joined: Mon Apr 04, 2005 11:09 pm
Location: Milan (IT) Frankfurt (DE)
Name: Marco
Contact:

Re: My forum will not do the upgrade, or backup via Softaculos

Post by 3Di » Tue Oct 08, 2019 7:59 pm

Yes, another use case where auto-installers aren't suggested. :geek:
Please PM me only to request paid works. Thx.
Want to compensate me for my interest? Donate
My development's activity º PhpStorm's proud user
Extensions, Scripts, MOD porting, Update/Upgrades
👨‍🏫 | Take a tour to | The Studio | 👨‍🏫

helvelin
Registered User
Posts: 35
Joined: Fri Nov 27, 2009 9:04 pm

Re: My forum will not do the upgrade, or backup via Softaculos

Post by helvelin » Wed Oct 09, 2019 5:36 pm

Thank you.

I dug out my old windows pc (on Mac now and I cannot seem to get a good FTP) and did as I was told :)
Updated the recommended way and success.


Now just to sort out the banner and email not sending issues.
Last edited by helvelin on Wed Oct 09, 2019 5:40 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
stevemaury
Support Team Member
Support Team Member
Posts: 50812
Joined: Thu Nov 02, 2006 12:21 am
Location: The U.P.
Name: Steve
Contact:

Re: My forum will not do the upgrade, or backup via Softaculos

Post by stevemaury » Wed Oct 09, 2019 5:38 pm

No need to use a PC. Mac is fine. Glad you has success.
For REALLY good and VERY inexpensive hosting CLICK HERE

I can stop all your spam. I can upgrade or update your Board. PM or email me. (Paid support)

kwakaphp
Registered User
Posts: 23
Joined: Mon Dec 22, 2008 10:46 am
Name: Bazz

Re: My forum will not do the upgrade, or backup via Softaculos

Post by kwakaphp » Thu Oct 10, 2019 12:24 pm

helvelin wrote:
Wed Oct 09, 2019 5:36 pm
Thank you.

I dug out my old windows pc (on Mac now and I cannot seem to get a good FTP) and did as I was told :)
Updated the recommended way and success.


Now just to sort out the banner and email not sending issues.
Have you tried Cyberduck or FileZilla?
Both have Mac versions.

Post Reply

Return to “[3.2.x] Support Forum”