Blank Ads Space In "No Content Pages"

Get help with installation and running phpBB 3.2.x here. Please do not post bug reports, feature requests, or extension related questions here.
Post Reply
User avatar
Exclusive
Registered User
Posts: 465
Joined: Mon Jun 25, 2018 1:33 pm

Blank Ads Space In "No Content Pages"

Post by Exclusive » Mon Dec 02, 2019 9:04 am

I used to manually place my Google Adsense Ads in overall_heder and overall_footer, But I realized they may violate google Adsense Policy so I switched and started using the phpBB Advertisement Extension.

Now I have restricted ads from showing only on content pages, but each time a view a none content page, I get a blank space (as if the ads will display but it wouldn't due to the restrictions) I need a fix for this.

See image below:


[removed]
Last edited by Exclusive on Mon Dec 02, 2019 10:50 pm, edited 2 times in total.
Use Search Button to get Instant Results | Follow Forum Rules
Avoid Spams in the forum to prevent banning the offending account. | ⟿ Visit My Awesome phpBB Forum! ⬳

Checkout Siteground's Web Hosting | ✔ Buy Cheap Domain Names

User avatar
david63
Registered User
Posts: 16845
Joined: Thu Dec 19, 2002 8:08 am
Location: Lancashire, UK
Name: David Wood
Contact:

Re: Blank Ads Space In "No Content Pages"

Post by david63 » Mon Dec 02, 2019 9:12 am

Exclusive wrote:
Mon Dec 02, 2019 9:04 am
I switched and started using the phpBB Advertisement Extension
Then that is where you should be asking for help.
David
Remember: You only know what you know and - you don't know what you don't know!
My CDB Contributions | How to install an extension
I will not be accepting translations for any of my extensions in Github - please post any translations in the appropriate topic.
No support requests via PM or email as they will be ignored

User avatar
Exclusive
Registered User
Posts: 465
Joined: Mon Jun 25, 2018 1:33 pm

Re: Blank Ads Space In "No Content Pages"

Post by Exclusive » Mon Dec 02, 2019 3:40 pm

Bump
Use Search Button to get Instant Results | Follow Forum Rules
Avoid Spams in the forum to prevent banning the offending account. | ⟿ Visit My Awesome phpBB Forum! ⬳

Checkout Siteground's Web Hosting | ✔ Buy Cheap Domain Names

User avatar
Mick
Support Team Member
Support Team Member
Posts: 21736
Joined: Fri Aug 29, 2008 9:49 am
Location: Cardiff

Re: Blank Ads Space In "No Content Pages"

Post by Mick » Mon Dec 02, 2019 3:44 pm

Support for that extension is here.
"The more connected we get the more alone we become" - Kyle Broflovski

User avatar
Exclusive
Registered User
Posts: 465
Joined: Mon Jun 25, 2018 1:33 pm

Re: Blank Ads Space In "No Content Pages"

Post by Exclusive » Mon Dec 02, 2019 3:57 pm

Mick wrote:
Mon Dec 02, 2019 3:44 pm
Support for that extension is here.
Okay, but I don't think that is an extension issue that is why I'm posting here for supports, but I will check the extension support.
Use Search Button to get Instant Results | Follow Forum Rules
Avoid Spams in the forum to prevent banning the offending account. | ⟿ Visit My Awesome phpBB Forum! ⬳

Checkout Siteground's Web Hosting | ✔ Buy Cheap Domain Names

User avatar
david63
Registered User
Posts: 16845
Joined: Thu Dec 19, 2002 8:08 am
Location: Lancashire, UK
Name: David Wood
Contact:

Re: Blank Ads Space In "No Content Pages"

Post by david63 » Mon Dec 02, 2019 4:07 pm

Exclusive wrote:
Mon Dec 02, 2019 3:57 pm
I don't think that is an extension issue
Do you have the problem if you disable the extension?
David
Remember: You only know what you know and - you don't know what you don't know!
My CDB Contributions | How to install an extension
I will not be accepting translations for any of my extensions in Github - please post any translations in the appropriate topic.
No support requests via PM or email as they will be ignored

User avatar
Exclusive
Registered User
Posts: 465
Joined: Mon Jun 25, 2018 1:33 pm

Re: Blank Ads Space In "No Content Pages"

Post by Exclusive » Mon Dec 02, 2019 9:30 pm

david63 wrote:
Mon Dec 02, 2019 4:07 pm
Exclusive wrote:
Mon Dec 02, 2019 3:57 pm
I don't think that is an extension issue
Do you have the problem if you disable the extension?
I didn't try that before now.

I just disabled the extension and there is no problem. Then that means this is an extension issue?
Use Search Button to get Instant Results | Follow Forum Rules
Avoid Spams in the forum to prevent banning the offending account. | ⟿ Visit My Awesome phpBB Forum! ⬳

Checkout Siteground's Web Hosting | ✔ Buy Cheap Domain Names

User avatar
david63
Registered User
Posts: 16845
Joined: Thu Dec 19, 2002 8:08 am
Location: Lancashire, UK
Name: David Wood
Contact:

Re: Blank Ads Space In "No Content Pages"

Post by david63 » Mon Dec 02, 2019 9:31 pm

Exclusive wrote:
Mon Dec 02, 2019 9:30 pm
I just disabled the extension and there is no problem. Then that means this is an extension issue?
Yes
David
Remember: You only know what you know and - you don't know what you don't know!
My CDB Contributions | How to install an extension
I will not be accepting translations for any of my extensions in Github - please post any translations in the appropriate topic.
No support requests via PM or email as they will be ignored

User avatar
thecoalman
Community Team Member
Community Team Member
Posts: 3405
Joined: Wed Dec 22, 2004 3:52 am
Location: Pennsylvania, U.S.A.
Contact:

Re: Blank Ads Space In "No Content Pages"

Post by thecoalman » Mon Dec 02, 2019 10:03 pm

Google changed their policy a short time ago. Any page that has any Google ad code can trigger auto ads. I'm not familiar with that extension but if for example there is google adcode in the header that can trigger an ad. Go into your Google adsense account and turn off the auto ad feature for that domain..
“Results! Why, man, I have gotten a lot of results! I have found several thousand things that won’t work.”

Attributed - Thomas Edison

User avatar
Exclusive
Registered User
Posts: 465
Joined: Mon Jun 25, 2018 1:33 pm

Re: Blank Ads Space In "No Content Pages"

Post by Exclusive » Mon Dec 02, 2019 11:08 pm

thecoalman wrote:
Mon Dec 02, 2019 10:03 pm
Google changed their policy a short time ago. Any page that has any Google ad code can trigger auto ads. I'm not familiar with that extension but if for example there is google adcode in the header that can trigger an ad. Go into your Google adsense account and turn off the auto ad feature for that domain..
I don't have auto ad enabled. I don't like auto ads anyway.
Use Search Button to get Instant Results | Follow Forum Rules
Avoid Spams in the forum to prevent banning the offending account. | ⟿ Visit My Awesome phpBB Forum! ⬳

Checkout Siteground's Web Hosting | ✔ Buy Cheap Domain Names

Post Reply

Return to “[3.2.x] Support Forum”