How to optimize mysqld process

Get help with installation and running phpBB 3.2.x here. Please do not post bug reports, feature requests, or extension related questions here.
User avatar
thecoalman
Community Team Member
Community Team Member
Posts: 4255
Joined: Wed Dec 22, 2004 3:52 am
Location: Pennsylvania, U.S.A.
Contact:

Re: How to optimize mysqld process

Post by thecoalman »

thecoalman wrote:
Mon Oct 26, 2020 12:42 am
You said you had RAM maxed, How much RAM do you have and is it completely maxed or near max?

?????
“Results! Why, man, I have gotten a lot of results! I have found several thousand things that won’t work.”

Attributed - Thomas Edison
Common Man
Registered User
Posts: 38
Joined: Thu Nov 15, 2018 3:01 pm

Re: How to optimize mysqld process

Post by Common Man »

12gb ram,
but i'm very sure it can run smoothly with 4gb ram
because i have 4gb ram when i was in shared hosing
Common Man
Registered User
Posts: 38
Joined: Thu Nov 15, 2018 3:01 pm

Re: How to optimize mysqld process

Post by Common Man »

i got a problem while upgrading to 3.2.2 to 3.3.1
i forgot to set my default theme as prosilver
and replaced the styles folder with the package

now my site have no theme
what to do please suggest
Last edited by Common Man on Thu Oct 29, 2020 4:55 pm, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
Lumpy Burgertushie
Registered User
Posts: 68314
Joined: Mon May 02, 2005 3:11 am
Contact:

Re: How to optimize mysqld process

Post by Lumpy Burgertushie »

make sure you have prosilver uploaded to the styles folder.
it might help to upload your old style as well.
having said that, what does the image you posted have to do with it?
is that why you think you have no theme?
all that shows is that there are no styles in the styles folder that have not been installed.

robert
I'm baaaaaccckkkk. still doing work on donation basis. PM your needs.

Premium phpBB 3.3 Styles by PlanetStyles.net

If nobody is in the forest, does a tree really fall?
Common Man
Registered User
Posts: 38
Joined: Thu Nov 15, 2018 3:01 pm

Re: How to optimize mysqld process

Post by Common Man »

already prosilver style 3.3.1 existed i package
i moved my old styles to the styles folder
uploaded a new style which support 3.3.1

should i replace the new prosilver theme in package with my old prosilver
Common Man
Registered User
Posts: 38
Joined: Thu Nov 15, 2018 3:01 pm

Re: How to optimize mysqld process

Post by Common Man »

ok, i replaced the new styes folder with my old styles folder
styles problem solved.
User avatar
Lumpy Burgertushie
Registered User
Posts: 68314
Joined: Mon May 02, 2005 3:11 am
Contact:

Re: How to optimize mysqld process

Post by Lumpy Burgertushie »

not solved yet.

if you have an old version of prosilver and/or your other styles, they will not work properly with phpbb 3.3.1

now you can go to your admin panel and set prosilver as the default and set override user to yes for now. then replace the old prosilver with the current 3.1 version. any other styles will need to be either upgraded to 3.1 or uninstalled and then removed etc.

then you will be all set.

luck,
robert
I'm baaaaaccckkkk. still doing work on donation basis. PM your needs.

Premium phpBB 3.3 Styles by PlanetStyles.net

If nobody is in the forest, does a tree really fall?
Common Man
Registered User
Posts: 38
Joined: Thu Nov 15, 2018 3:01 pm

Re: How to optimize mysqld process

Post by Common Man »

updated prosilver style to 3.3.1

also after upgrading from 3.2.2 to 3.3.1 my slow loading problem solved

it was change in the php version

in shared hosting i have php version 7.1
in vps it has php version 7.3
so it was slowed down.
but after upgrating site software now everything working fine.
feeling little sad that some extension not working, but its ok.
i can wait for new version.
thanku for the support.
User avatar
thecoalman
Community Team Member
Community Team Member
Posts: 4255
Joined: Wed Dec 22, 2004 3:52 am
Location: Pennsylvania, U.S.A.
Contact:

Re: How to optimize mysqld process

Post by thecoalman »

With WHM on VPS it has whatever version of PHP you want including no PHP.

Go to Easy Apache , you can install php7.4 which has improved performance over 7.3. Then go MultiPHP manager and you set default system version and change the version for the domain. Go back to easy Apache and you can uninstall older versions of PHP.

If you have free RAM you may also want to consider installing and configuring OPCache. Easy Apache only installs it, it does not activate or configure it. It caches your php files in RAM and can dramatically improve performance. I did not mention this before because you need to allocate RAM to it.

Once you get that squared away look into using Sphinx as search backend, it's lighting fast but once again you need to allocate RAM to it.... welcome to the world of you can do anything you want.
“Results! Why, man, I have gotten a lot of results! I have found several thousand things that won’t work.”

Attributed - Thomas Edison
Post Reply

Return to “[3.2.x] Support Forum”