[split] Import posts from a own-made forum

Converting from other board software? Good decision! Need help? Have a question about a convertor? Wish to offer a convertor package? Post here.
Jagoda

[split] Import posts from a own-made forum

Post by Jagoda »

Hi,
I need to import users and posts from a forum created many years ago (written by someone else) to a clean phpBB 3.2 install. On the old forum there is a db with users (so I can export an sql file) and txt files with posts. Is it possible to import them somehow to phpBB 3.2?

I did some research but the only useful information I found applies to phpBB 3.0:
viewtopic.php?f=65&t=2115251#p12923598
viewtopic.php?f=65&t=1494875
Will these tools still work with pphpBB 3.2? I suppose not... Maybe there are such tools for 3.2 (I didn't find any)?

Could somebody help me, please? I have no experience with phpBB and I don't know where to start.
warmweer
Jr. Extension Validator

Re: Import posts from a own-made forum

Post by warmweer »

Jagoda wrote: Fri Oct 26, 2018 7:04 pm Hi,
I need to import users and posts from a forum created many years ago (written by someone else) to a clean phpBB 3.2 install. On the old forum there is a db with users (so I can export an sql file) and txt files with posts. Is it possible to import them somehow to phpBB 3.2?

I did some research but the only useful information I found applies to phpBB 3.0:
viewtopic.php?f=65&t=2115251#p12923598
viewtopic.php?f=65&t=1494875
Will these tools still work with pphpBB 3.2? I suppose not... Maybe there are such tools for 3.2 (I didn't find any)?

Could somebody help me, please? I have no experience with phpBB and I don't know where to start.
*personal opinion*
For clarity's sake and in order to avoid conflicting advice you should open a new topic (and not hijack an existing topic).
Spelling is freeware, which means you can use it for free.
On the other hand, it is not open source, which means you cannot change it or publish it in a modified form.