CConverting BB2 to BB3 and no errors and no conversion

Converting from other board software? Good decision! Need help? Have a question about a convertor? Wish to offer a convertor package? Post here.
User avatar
orynider
Registered User
Posts: 247
Joined: Wed Nov 16, 2005 12:48 pm
Location: Arad, România
Name: Florin Bodin
Contact:

Re: CConverting BB2 to BB3 and no errors and no conversion

Post by orynider » Mon Feb 25, 2019 2:08 am

John Robi wrote:
Sun Feb 24, 2019 5:01 pm

Thoughts anyone?

P.S. I did also download phpBB 3.0.5 after 3.0.8 could not be breached.
Make sure Your localhost server is not using php7 and the live server php5.

You can just upload the latest version of phpBB 3.2.5 and edit the config.php file with Notepad++ changing the table_prefix, maybe dbms then go to install/app.php and chose Upgrade Only Database. It is something close to this:

Code: Select all

<?php
// phpBB 3.2.x auto-generated configuration file
// Do not change anything in this file!
$dbms = 'phpbb\\db\\driver\\mysqli';
$dbhost = '';
$dbport = '';
$dbname = 'myphpbbdb';
$dbuser = 'root';
$dbpasswd = '';
$table_prefix = 'phpbb_';
$phpbb_adm_relative_path = 'adm/';
$acm_type = 'phpbb\\cache\\driver\\file';

@define('PHPBB_INSTALLED', true);
// @define('PHPBB_DISPLAY_LOAD_TIME', true);
@define('PHPBB_ENVIRONMENT', 'production');
// @define('DEBUG_CONTAINER', true); 
Last edited by Mick on Mon Feb 25, 2019 9:02 am, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Added code tag.

John Robi
Registered User
Posts: 91
Joined: Fri Feb 22, 2019 2:15 am

Re: CConverting BB2 to BB3 and no errors and no conversion

Post by John Robi » Mon Feb 25, 2019 11:39 am

Hello,

Interesting idea, orynider.

Well, upon inspection my xampp install the php is 7.x and the host server is php 5.x.

Thoughts?

User avatar
Prosk8er
Registered User
Posts: 1444
Joined: Sun Mar 12, 2006 3:30 am
Location: Rochester, NY
Name: Tyler
Contact:

Re: CConverting BB2 to BB3 and no errors and no conversion

Post by Prosk8er » Mon Feb 25, 2019 12:49 pm

John Robi wrote:
Mon Feb 25, 2019 11:39 am
Hello,

Interesting idea, orynider.

Well, upon inspection my xampp install the php is 7.x and the host server is php 5.x.

Thoughts?
see if your host will upgrade to php 7.x

John Robi
Registered User
Posts: 91
Joined: Fri Feb 22, 2019 2:15 am

Re: CConverting BB2 to BB3 and no errors and no conversion

Post by John Robi » Mon Feb 25, 2019 3:00 pm

Hello,

I will ask if php 7x is possible.

While I was waiting for another idea from the members I installed phpBB 3.2.5 on the host server. I then imported the DB from my backup (exported under phpBB 3.0.8 table configuration). I renamed the install folder and went to the pgpBB login page. That page indicates, Welcome to your first ... and where it indicates total number of posts the amount is 1.

So, it looks like the board does not recognize the import. Upon inspection of the DB in MySQLAdmin all the posts, users topics etc. are there. Am I going the wrong way or it there a technique to employ to correct this?

User avatar
david63
Registered User
Posts: 16101
Joined: Thu Dec 19, 2002 8:08 am
Location: Lancashire, UK
Name: David Wood
Contact:

Re: CConverting BB2 to BB3 and no errors and no conversion

Post by david63 » Mon Feb 25, 2019 3:13 pm

John Robi wrote:
Mon Feb 25, 2019 3:00 pm
I then imported the DB from my backup (exported under phpBB 3.0.8 table configuration). I renamed the install folder and went to the pgpBB login page. That page indicates, Welcome to your first ... and where it indicates total number of posts the amount is 1.
That means that the data in your config.php file does not agree with that of the database that you imported.
David
Remember: You only know what you know and - you don't know what you don't know!
My CDB Contributions | How to install an extension
I will not be accepting translations for any of my extensions in Github - please post any translations in the appropriate topic.
No support requests via PM or email as they will be ignored

John Robi
Registered User
Posts: 91
Joined: Fri Feb 22, 2019 2:15 am

Re: CConverting BB2 to BB3 and no errors and no conversion

Post by John Robi » Mon Feb 25, 2019 3:17 pm

Hello,

I am in contact with the hosting company and they are able to provide php 7x. The support person is now verifying.

I verified config.php, it is correct: $dbname = 'transfor_VIOLET_phpBB3'; this is the DB name installed

John Robi
Registered User
Posts: 91
Joined: Fri Feb 22, 2019 2:15 am

Re: CConverting BB2 to BB3 and no errors and no conversion

Post by John Robi » Mon Feb 25, 2019 3:19 pm

Hello,

Additionally the prefix is also correct : $table_prefix = 'phpbb3_';

John Robi
Registered User
Posts: 91
Joined: Fri Feb 22, 2019 2:15 am

Re: CConverting BB2 to BB3 and no errors and no conversion

Post by John Robi » Mon Feb 25, 2019 3:25 pm

Hello,

Host server is now php 7.x.

I'll try and use localhost to make this happen.

John Robi
Registered User
Posts: 91
Joined: Fri Feb 22, 2019 2:15 am

Re: CConverting BB2 to BB3 and no errors and no conversion

Post by John Robi » Mon Feb 25, 2019 3:31 pm

Hello,

I did notice that the installed DB has 133 tables. My backup SQL has 65 tables. Clearly the DB needs to be updated before it will work.

User avatar
david63
Registered User
Posts: 16101
Joined: Thu Dec 19, 2002 8:08 am
Location: Lancashire, UK
Name: David Wood
Contact:

Re: CConverting BB2 to BB3 and no errors and no conversion

Post by david63 » Mon Feb 25, 2019 3:43 pm

John Robi wrote:
Mon Feb 25, 2019 3:31 pm
I did notice that the installed DB has 133 tables.
A clean install of phpBB 3.2 has nowhere near that number of tables in the database - it sounds as if you have two sets of tables in the database
David
Remember: You only know what you know and - you don't know what you don't know!
My CDB Contributions | How to install an extension
I will not be accepting translations for any of my extensions in Github - please post any translations in the appropriate topic.
No support requests via PM or email as they will be ignored

John Robi
Registered User
Posts: 91
Joined: Fri Feb 22, 2019 2:15 am

Re: CConverting BB2 to BB3 and no errors and no conversion

Post by John Robi » Mon Feb 25, 2019 3:57 pm

Hello,

I looked, I don't see duplicate tables. I have included snapshot of the beginning tables and the last ones,

http://www.transformationsbyrori.com//c ... apshot.JPG

http://www.transformationsbyrori.com//c ... apshot.JPG

User avatar
Lumpy Burgertushie
Registered User
Posts: 66268
Joined: Mon May 02, 2005 3:11 am
Contact:

Re: CConverting BB2 to BB3 and no errors and no conversion

Post by Lumpy Burgertushie » Mon Feb 25, 2019 4:02 pm

yes, you have at least two different sets of tables that will refer to two different phpbb installations.

phpbb_
and
phpbb3_

robert
I am going to be out of town and off line for a week . see ya when I get back.

Premium phpBB 3.2 Styles by PlanetStyles.net

If a tree falls in the forest and nobody is there, does it make a sound?

John Robi
Registered User
Posts: 91
Joined: Fri Feb 22, 2019 2:15 am

Re: CConverting BB2 to BB3 and no errors and no conversion

Post by John Robi » Mon Feb 25, 2019 4:12 pm

Hello,

Now I am installing phpBB 3.2.5 on my localhost. I do get the Installation Panel and I get, at the top of the screen error messages. A lot of them, here is a sample:

[phpBB Debug] ""continue" targeting switch is equivalent to "break". Did you mean to use "continue 2"?" in file C:\xampp\htdocs\phpBB325\phpBB3\vendor\zendframework\zend-stdlib\src\ArrayObject.php on line 426[phpBB Debug] ""continue" targeting switch is equivalent to "break". Did you mean to use "continue 2"?" in file C:\xampp\htdocs\phpBB325\phpBB3\vendor\zendframework\zend-code\src\Reflection\MethodReflection.php on line 272[phpBB Debug] "

I have found that by editing the .php files referred to; the errors go away. I just edit "continue" to "continue 2". Though, why should I need to edit phpBB's coding.

If I click on Install, I get the usual 'Set Installation Data". Do I just ignore the errors and forge ahead?

Any one have an idea?

John Robi
Registered User
Posts: 91
Joined: Fri Feb 22, 2019 2:15 am

Re: CConverting BB2 to BB3 and no errors and no conversion

Post by John Robi » Mon Feb 25, 2019 4:12 pm

Hello,

O my yes. you are right.

User avatar
KevC
Support Team Member
Support Team Member
Posts: 69043
Joined: Fri Jun 04, 2004 10:44 am
Location: Oxford, UK
Contact:

Re: CConverting BB2 to BB3 and no errors and no conversion

Post by KevC » Mon Feb 25, 2019 4:14 pm

You're running php 7.3.x
It's not compatible with that.
Downgrade to 7.1 or 7.2
-:|:- Support Request Template -:|:-
Image
Cheap UK Hosting
"In the land of the blind the little green bloke with no pupils is king - init!"

Post Reply

Return to “[3.2.x] Convertors”