Page 1 of 1

Keep each user's language preference after upgrade to 3.2

Posted: Tue Mar 07, 2017 11:36 pm
by stevenospam
I'm running 3.0 and plan to upgrade to 3.2 Rhea. I understand the upgrade process and that the mods will be lost. On my board some users use British English and others prefer Spanish. My understanding of the preinstall tasks is that I should delete all language packs except British English. If I do that, will the users who have selected Spanish as their language preference have to reselect Spanish the first time they signon after the 3.2 upgrade? If so, is there any way to avoid this?

Re: Keep each user's language preference after upgrade to 3.2

Posted: Sat Mar 18, 2017 3:06 pm
by Crizzo
stevenospam wrote:
Tue Mar 07, 2017 11:36 pm
If I do that, will the users who have selected Spanish as their language preference have to reselect Spanish the first time they signon after the 3.2 upgrade?
Yes, they would have to change this setting again.
stevenospam wrote:
Tue Mar 07, 2017 11:36 pm
If so, is there any way to avoid this?
Just do not uninstall the language packs before the upgrade, but make sure, that you have the spanish language ready during update process and after it.

Re: Keep each user's language preference after upgrade to 3.2

Posted: Sun Mar 19, 2017 3:09 am
by 3Di
User preferences will be not changed AFAIK if you set to EN (british english) the board's default language.
Doing that the DB will be aware of that.

And, It depends on HOW you planned to upgrade...
In case of total files replacement, then you just have to upload into the relative language folder the new 3.2's Spanish language pack(s) and go to with the 3.2.x DB installer.

You are running 3.0, you might need to clean up the DB from MODs, if any, before to upgrade.
Just use the STK in case.