Translating forum "manually" due to lack of translation

Having a question about translating phpBB 3.2? Want to discuss and collaborate with people currently translating phpBB 3.2? Here would be the correct place to do so.
Post Reply
Dan Wilson
Registered User
Posts: 21
Joined: Sat Jul 08, 2017 9:23 am

Translating forum "manually" due to lack of translation

Post by Dan Wilson » Sat Aug 05, 2017 8:20 pm

Yo! I suspect that my native language won't be available for some time in 3.2.1 version... :roll:
Can I hard code the most important words somehow?
Last edited by HiFiKabin on Sun Aug 06, 2017 8:54 am, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Moved to Translations

User avatar
david63
Jr. Extension Validator
Posts: 13188
Joined: Thu Dec 19, 2002 8:08 am
Location: Lancashire, UK
Name: David Wood
Contact:

Re: Translating forum "manually" due to lack of translation

Post by david63 » Sat Aug 05, 2017 9:14 pm

Dan Wilson wrote:
Sat Aug 05, 2017 8:20 pm
Can I hard code the most important words somehow?
You can - but it would be a major exercise. First you would need to understand how the phpBB language system works and then you would need to find every occurrence of each word in all of the files (both .php and .html). On top of that you would then have the problem of having to redo all of that after each update/upgrade.

By far the easier way would be to create a new language folder, copy an existing set of language files into it and then go through those files and change whatever you wanted.
David
Remember: You only know what you know and - you don't know what you don't know!
My CDB Contributions | How to install an extension
I will not be accepting translations for any of my extensions in Github - please post any translations in the appropriate topic.
No support requests via PM or email as they will be ignored

Dan Wilson
Registered User
Posts: 21
Joined: Sat Jul 08, 2017 9:23 am

Re: Translating forum "manually" due to lack of translation

Post by Dan Wilson » Sat Aug 05, 2017 9:18 pm

Thanks!
So I simply dublicate the english lang folder, rename it, change whatever I wish to change and then rename it and activate it?

User avatar
david63
Jr. Extension Validator
Posts: 13188
Joined: Thu Dec 19, 2002 8:08 am
Location: Lancashire, UK
Name: David Wood
Contact:

Re: Translating forum "manually" due to lack of translation

Post by david63 » Sat Aug 05, 2017 9:22 pm

Basically yes - but I am not sure what the second rename is doing.

Do not rename, or remove, the en language folder as that is needed as "fall back"
David
Remember: You only know what you know and - you don't know what you don't know!
My CDB Contributions | How to install an extension
I will not be accepting translations for any of my extensions in Github - please post any translations in the appropriate topic.
No support requests via PM or email as they will be ignored

Dan Wilson
Registered User
Posts: 21
Joined: Sat Jul 08, 2017 9:23 am

Re: Translating forum "manually" due to lack of translation

Post by Dan Wilson » Sat Aug 05, 2017 9:36 pm

For sure, will not, but I can rename my "own" language whatever, or does it have to be a two-letter name?

User avatar
david63
Jr. Extension Validator
Posts: 13188
Joined: Thu Dec 19, 2002 8:08 am
Location: Lancashire, UK
Name: David Wood
Contact:

Re: Translating forum "manually" due to lack of translation

Post by david63 » Sat Aug 05, 2017 9:40 pm

For compatibility I would use one of the ISO language codes - most are two character but there are some variants.
David
Remember: You only know what you know and - you don't know what you don't know!
My CDB Contributions | How to install an extension
I will not be accepting translations for any of my extensions in Github - please post any translations in the appropriate topic.
No support requests via PM or email as they will be ignored

Dan Wilson
Registered User
Posts: 21
Joined: Sat Jul 08, 2017 9:23 am

Re: Translating forum "manually" due to lack of translation

Post by Dan Wilson » Sat Aug 05, 2017 9:54 pm

Okey thanks Dave, your da best! :)
Do you know if I only have to rename the folder or are there more filenames inside the selected language folder I need to modify?

User avatar
david63
Jr. Extension Validator
Posts: 13188
Joined: Thu Dec 19, 2002 8:08 am
Location: Lancashire, UK
Name: David Wood
Contact:

Re: Translating forum "manually" due to lack of translation

Post by david63 » Sat Aug 05, 2017 9:57 pm

Only the folder - all the files must have the same name
David
Remember: You only know what you know and - you don't know what you don't know!
My CDB Contributions | How to install an extension
I will not be accepting translations for any of my extensions in Github - please post any translations in the appropriate topic.
No support requests via PM or email as they will be ignored

Dan Wilson
Registered User
Posts: 21
Joined: Sat Jul 08, 2017 9:23 am

Re: Translating forum "manually" due to lack of translation

Post by Dan Wilson » Sat Aug 05, 2017 10:08 pm

I uploaded the EN folder again and renamed it to my native prefix..I had an older translation installed, but it didnt work on 3.2...can I simply remove it in Filezilla, or do I need to uinstall it somewhere? I guess the board falls back on the original EN language since everything is in English ;)

Do you know if special characters needs to be coded or can I paste the character inside the php translation file?

Dan Wilson
Registered User
Posts: 21
Joined: Sat Jul 08, 2017 9:23 am

Re: Translating forum "manually" due to lack of translation

Post by Dan Wilson » Sat Aug 05, 2017 11:15 pm

Im sorry to throw in one more but before I forget about it... :lol:

I modified the EN language dublicate and it worked..kind of. When I entered the right coding for special characters in the editor it showed the coding...which is wrong. When I entered the character raw, without coding, it showed that character correctly..so..is the editor Im suing fabulous or I am doing this the wrong way?
Im thinking of adding AddDefaultCharset ISO-8859-1 OR AddDefaultCharset UTF-8 to my .htaccess..could this be what's causing it to work when it shouldn't? :shock: :?:

Nully
Registered User
Posts: 441
Joined: Thu Jan 29, 2009 10:11 pm
Location: France
Contact:

Re: Translating forum "manually" due to lack of translation

Post by Nully » Sun Aug 06, 2017 6:23 am

What is your native language?

Dan Wilson
Registered User
Posts: 21
Joined: Sat Jul 08, 2017 9:23 am

Re: Translating forum "manually" due to lack of translation

Post by Dan Wilson » Sun Aug 06, 2017 8:41 am

Nully wrote:
Sun Aug 06, 2017 6:23 am
What is your native language?
For this board it will be Danish.

Nully
Registered User
Posts: 441
Joined: Thu Jan 29, 2009 10:11 pm
Location: France
Contact:

Re: Translating forum "manually" due to lack of translation

Post by Nully » Sun Aug 06, 2017 8:43 am

Ok. Just a curiosity :D

User avatar
david63
Jr. Extension Validator
Posts: 13188
Joined: Thu Dec 19, 2002 8:08 am
Location: Lancashire, UK
Name: David Wood
Contact:

Re: Translating forum "manually" due to lack of translation

Post by david63 » Sun Aug 06, 2017 9:58 am

Then why not just download the Danish language pack?

https://www.phpbb.com/customise/db/translation/danish/
David
Remember: You only know what you know and - you don't know what you don't know!
My CDB Contributions | How to install an extension
I will not be accepting translations for any of my extensions in Github - please post any translations in the appropriate topic.
No support requests via PM or email as they will be ignored

Post Reply

Return to “[3.2.x] Translations”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron