Confusion about sentence in ACP - CPF

Having a question about translating phpBB 3.2? Want to discuss and collaborate with people currently translating phpBB 3.2? Here would be the correct place to do so.
Post Reply
leschek
Registered User
Posts: 779
Joined: Tue Jul 18, 2006 12:49 pm
Contact:

Confusion about sentence in ACP - CPF

Post by leschek » Sun May 27, 2018 1:57 pm

In Custom profile fields settings are Language definitions, where user can define his/her own names for CPF. If your board has more languages than one, you can see following line:

Since you have more than one board language installed, you now can change or add the remaining language items too. The profile field will work with the default language enabled.

Can someone tell me, please, what exactly the second line The profile field will work with the default language enabled. mean?

I mean, there is always some default language selected on the board, isn't it? If I'm correct, there is no need for this sentence. But it is here, so there must be some reason for it and I'm probably missing something.

User avatar
GanstaZ
Registered User
Posts: 331
Joined: Wed Oct 11, 2017 10:29 pm
Location: Zverse

Re: Confusion about sentence in ACP - CPF

Post by GanstaZ » Sun May 27, 2018 2:06 pm

I have never used it, but as i see it, if your default language is not english & that field doesn't have the current language string, then it will point to english one. It just uses a default string or as mentioned - the one that you changed/added (to any language packs installed on your board) & that is all.

User avatar
david63
Jr. Extension Validator
Posts: 14332
Joined: Thu Dec 19, 2002 8:08 am
Location: Lancashire, UK
Name: David Wood
Contact:

Re: Confusion about sentence in ACP - CPF

Post by david63 » Sun May 27, 2018 2:12 pm

My understanding, having been working around this area, is that if you do not have a definition in your, or the user's, language then the default language definition for that CPF (which on a vanilla install will be English) will be used. I do not believe that it refers to the default, or any other, set of language files.

Taking this silly example.
  • Your board's default language is French.
  • Your user's language is German.
  • The default CPF definition is English.
So if there are no German entries for the definition the English version will be shown to the German user.
David
Remember: You only know what you know and - you don't know what you don't know!
My CDB Contributions | How to install an extension
I will not be accepting translations for any of my extensions in Github - please post any translations in the appropriate topic.
No support requests via PM or email as they will be ignored

User avatar
david63
Jr. Extension Validator
Posts: 14332
Joined: Thu Dec 19, 2002 8:08 am
Location: Lancashire, UK
Name: David Wood
Contact:

Re: Confusion about sentence in ACP - CPF

Post by david63 » Sun May 27, 2018 2:13 pm

GanstaZ wrote:
Sun May 27, 2018 2:06 pm
the one that you changed/added (to any language packs installed on your board)
The CPF language definitions are not in the language pack but in their own table in the database
David
Remember: You only know what you know and - you don't know what you don't know!
My CDB Contributions | How to install an extension
I will not be accepting translations for any of my extensions in Github - please post any translations in the appropriate topic.
No support requests via PM or email as they will be ignored

leschek
Registered User
Posts: 779
Joined: Tue Jul 18, 2006 12:49 pm
Contact:

Re: Confusion about sentence in ACP - CPF

Post by leschek » Sun May 27, 2018 2:23 pm

Thank you for the replies.
david63 wrote:
Sun May 27, 2018 2:12 pm
Taking this silly example.

Your board's default language is French.
Your user's language is German.
The default CPF definition is English.

So if there are no German entries for the definition the English version will be shown to the German user.
I was thinking the same, but I test it and if I don't fill some of the language fields it will allow me to save the profile field, but it will not be visible in UCP - Profile (it will not be visible in languages that are not filled, in other languages it works.). Also it write me the following warning on the top of CPF table:
Warning

At least one custom profile field has not yet been translated. Please enter the required information by clicking on the “Translate” link.

User avatar
david63
Jr. Extension Validator
Posts: 14332
Joined: Thu Dec 19, 2002 8:08 am
Location: Lancashire, UK
Name: David Wood
Contact:

Re: Confusion about sentence in ACP - CPF

Post by david63 » Sun May 27, 2018 2:33 pm

In tests that I have done I have not encountered any problems and it works as I outlined above. However I will add that I do not have a true multi language board - I just add other languages when I need to test something.
David
Remember: You only know what you know and - you don't know what you don't know!
My CDB Contributions | How to install an extension
I will not be accepting translations for any of my extensions in Github - please post any translations in the appropriate topic.
No support requests via PM or email as they will be ignored

User avatar
GanstaZ
Registered User
Posts: 331
Joined: Wed Oct 11, 2017 10:29 pm
Location: Zverse

Re: Confusion about sentence in ACP - CPF

Post by GanstaZ » Sun May 27, 2018 2:45 pm

david63 wrote:
Sun May 27, 2018 2:13 pm
GanstaZ wrote:
Sun May 27, 2018 2:06 pm
the one that you changed/added (to any language packs installed on your board)
The CPF language definitions are not in the language pack but in their own table in the database
Well.. i didn't mean package as file/s, but as whole (db included).

leschek
Registered User
Posts: 779
Joined: Tue Jul 18, 2006 12:49 pm
Contact:

Re: Confusion about sentence in ACP - CPF

Post by leschek » Sun May 27, 2018 3:05 pm

Thank you for clarification. I figured out where the problem was. When I create a new CPF then language entries for CPF will be prefilled. But when I delete those some of those entries, it will show me message about translation, as I posted above. If I understand it correctly the whole line could be written like this (I want to translate it, that's why I'm asking here):

Since you have more than one board language installed, you now can change or add the remaining language items too. If you don't, then default language setting for this CPF will be used.

User avatar
david63
Jr. Extension Validator
Posts: 14332
Joined: Thu Dec 19, 2002 8:08 am
Location: Lancashire, UK
Name: David Wood
Contact:

Re: Confusion about sentence in ACP - CPF

Post by david63 » Sun May 27, 2018 3:25 pm

If you think that it reads better, and is clearer, then create a ticket in the Bug Tracker to get it changed in the core.

I do agree that it could be phrased a bit clearer.
David
Remember: You only know what you know and - you don't know what you don't know!
My CDB Contributions | How to install an extension
I will not be accepting translations for any of my extensions in Github - please post any translations in the appropriate topic.
No support requests via PM or email as they will be ignored

leschek
Registered User
Posts: 779
Joined: Tue Jul 18, 2006 12:49 pm
Contact:

Re: Confusion about sentence in ACP - CPF

Post by leschek » Sun May 27, 2018 4:49 pm


Post Reply

Return to “[3.2.x] Translations”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests