Logo - in CSS

For support and discussion related to templates, themes, and imagesets in phpBB 3.2.
Mick
Support Team Member
Support Team Member

Re: Logo - in CSS

Post by Mick »

You mean you want to draw a pic in CSS or you want to use fancy text or whatever?
  • "The more connected we get the more alone we become" - Kyle Broflovski©
  • "The good news is hell is just the product of a morbid human imagination.
    The bad news is, whatever humans can imagine, they can usually create.
    " - Harmony Cobel
KevC
Support Team Member
Support Team Member

Post by KevC »

I'm curious as to what the point is over just making a jpg as usual.
-:|:- Support Request Template -:|:-
"Step up to red alert. Sir, are you absolutely sure? It does mean changing the bulb"
david63

Post by david63 »

Why re-invent the wheel?

I am no expert in this but I suspect that rendering an image created in .css will take longer and use more resources than loading an optimised image file.
David
Remember: You only know what you know and - you don't know what you don't know!

I now no longer support any of my extensions but they will start to become available here
Mick
Support Team Member
Support Team Member

Post by Mick »

ZNL wrote: Sat Dec 02, 2017 8:25 pmif it could be created completly in css.
It can’t and that isn’t the job of css. What sort of benefit would you expect from an image created in css (if it were possible with the memory and time available) over a little gif of 34Kb? If it were 34Mb it would probably load quicker.
    " - Harmony Cobel
PlanetStyles.net
Former Team Member
Name: Christian

Post by PlanetStyles.net »

Mick wrote: Sat Dec 02, 2017 10:09 pm What sort of benefit would you expect from an image created in css
KevC wrote: Sat Dec 02, 2017 4:12 pm I'm curious as to what the point is over just making a jpg as usual.