banners on mobile version

For support and discussion related to templates, themes, and imagesets in phpBB 3.2.
Post Reply
TheButcher2
Registered User
Posts: 422
Joined: Tue May 13, 2014 11:38 pm
Contact:

banners on mobile version

Post by TheButcher2 » Wed Feb 14, 2018 5:34 pm

Hi guys

I added a banner on my site in the header and footer, it works fine in a desktop but on the Iphone the banners cause the page to scroll way too far to the right. Is there anyway to make the mobile version not do this.
I am using the version 3.2.2 and the prosilver theme.

Thanks

User avatar
Lumpy Burgertushie
Registered User
Posts: 65319
Joined: Mon May 02, 2005 3:11 am
Contact:

Re: banners on mobile version

Post by Lumpy Burgertushie » Wed Feb 14, 2018 5:44 pm

you will need to make the banner images be responsive. even though the style is responsive if you add images etc. that are not , it breaks the responsivness.

a link to your board with the banners in place would allow us to help you figure it out.

roberty
I am available for custom work on a donation basis. Please send me a PM with your needs.

Premium phpBB 3.2 Styles by PlanetStyles.net

OK, so what's the speed of dark?

TheButcher2
Registered User
Posts: 422
Joined: Tue May 13, 2014 11:38 pm
Contact:

Re: banners on mobile version

Post by TheButcher2 » Wed Feb 14, 2018 5:48 pm

Lumpy Burgertushie wrote:
Wed Feb 14, 2018 5:44 pm
you will need to make the banner images be responsive. even though the style is responsive if you add images etc. that are not , it breaks the responsivness.

a link to your board with the banners in place would allow us to help you figure it out.

roberty


Thanks for that lumpy, the url of the forum is


https://www.sponsor.chat

I am using Revive Adserver formerly phpadsnew to rotate banners.

I appreciate your help. Not user how I can make the ad code "responsive"


Peace

User avatar
Lumpy Burgertushie
Registered User
Posts: 65319
Joined: Mon May 02, 2005 3:11 am
Contact:

Re: banners on mobile version

Post by Lumpy Burgertushie » Wed Feb 14, 2018 6:01 pm

https://forum.revive-adserver.com/topic ... ge-banner/

I can't help you with how to do that but they probably can.


robert
I am available for custom work on a donation basis. Please send me a PM with your needs.

Premium phpBB 3.2 Styles by PlanetStyles.net

OK, so what's the speed of dark?

TheButcher2
Registered User
Posts: 422
Joined: Tue May 13, 2014 11:38 pm
Contact:

Re: banners on mobile version

Post by TheButcher2 » Wed Feb 14, 2018 6:04 pm

Thanks a lot Robert


Peace

Elizine
Registered User
Posts: 23
Joined: Thu Nov 05, 2015 7:06 am

Re: banners on mobile version

Post by Elizine » Thu Feb 15, 2018 6:35 am

in overall_header.html delete the below line -

Code: Select all

<meta name="viewport" content="width=device-width" />

User avatar
Christian 2.0
Former Team Member
Posts: 4449
Joined: Wed Nov 04, 2009 11:16 pm
Location: UK
Name: Christian
Contact:

Re: banners on mobile version

Post by Christian 2.0 » Thu Feb 15, 2018 11:13 am

Additionally, you could wrap your ad code with:

Code: Select all

<div class="something"> * your ad code here * </div>
Then in a stylesheet (bottom of common.css), add:

Code: Select all

.something img {
    max-width: 100%;
}

TheButcher2
Registered User
Posts: 422
Joined: Tue May 13, 2014 11:38 pm
Contact:

Re: banners on mobile version

Post by TheButcher2 » Thu Feb 15, 2018 3:14 pm

Elizine wrote:
Thu Feb 15, 2018 6:35 am
in overall_header.html delete the below line -

Code: Select all

<meta name="viewport" content="width=device-width" />


I couldn't find that line but I found these two lines, deleted them, cleared the board cache and it looks perfect in FireFox and on my Iphone.


<meta http-equiv="X-UA-Compatible" content="IE=edge">
<meta name="viewport" content="width=device-width, initial-scale=1" />



Thanks a million for the help

TheButcher2
Registered User
Posts: 422
Joined: Tue May 13, 2014 11:38 pm
Contact:

Re: banners on mobile version

Post by TheButcher2 » Thu Feb 15, 2018 3:16 pm

Christian 2.0 wrote:
Thu Feb 15, 2018 11:13 am
Additionally, you could wrap your ad code with:

Code: Select all

<div class="something"> * your ad code here * </div>
Then in a stylesheet (bottom of common.css), add:

Code: Select all

.something img {
    max-width: 100%;
}


Thanks I did the other change posted here and it seems fine, appreciate you helping me.

Peace

Post Reply

Return to “[3.2.x] Styles Support & Discussion”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests