Page 3 of 4

Re: I want a textlink over very-top of my forum

Posted: Sat Apr 06, 2019 9:34 am
by deepndark
HiFiKabin wrote:
Sat Apr 06, 2019 9:31 am
deepndark wrote:
Sat Apr 06, 2019 8:54 am
Please keep in mind that we have a six hour bumping rule. All team members and community members here are volunteers, so we ask you to wait at least six hours before bumping your topic or, if no-one has replied to your last post, edit your last post. Thanks!
Ok, I'll do so now on then.

Re: I want a textlink over very-top of my forum

Posted: Sat Apr 06, 2019 9:49 am
by david63
Works just fine for me - you must have something else in your code that is causing a problem

Re: I want a textlink over very-top of my forum

Posted: Sat Apr 06, 2019 10:04 am
by deepndark
david63 wrote:
Sat Apr 06, 2019 9:49 am
Works just fine for me - you must have something else in your code that is causing a problem
When I press the link now it says "The requested page could not be found."

The current code is: <a class="top-link" href="http://www.reasonheads.com" target="_blank" title="">Reasonheads Home</a>

Re: I want a textlink over very-top of my forum

Posted: Sat Apr 06, 2019 10:10 am
by david63
I have just copied and pasted <a class="top-link" href="http://www.reasonheads.com" target="_blank" title="">Reasonheads Home</a> into a file and it works perfectly - opened your site's homepage in a new tab.

You have some other problem - perhaps .htaccess

Re: I want a textlink over very-top of my forum

Posted: Sat Apr 06, 2019 10:13 am
by deepndark
link_1.png
link_1.png (3.55 KiB) Viewed 803 times
When holding a mouse over the link it shows it like this, the link is not quiet the way it should it seems.

Re: I want a textlink over very-top of my forum

Posted: Sat Apr 06, 2019 10:24 am
by david63
deepndark wrote:
Sat Apr 06, 2019 10:13 am
When holding a mouse over the link it shows it like this, the link is not quiet the way it should it seems.
Then you have not got the same link as the one I posted above - or you have something else in your code

Re: I want a textlink over very-top of my forum

Posted: Sat Apr 06, 2019 10:36 am
by deepndark
david63 wrote:
Sat Apr 06, 2019 10:24 am
deepndark wrote:
Sat Apr 06, 2019 10:13 am
When holding a mouse over the link it shows it like this, the link is not quiet the way it should it seems.
Then you have not got the same link as the one I posted above - or you have something else in your code
I just unzipped the forum files again and copied the whole code from your previous post into the overall_header.html and uploaded the file.
Still saying: The requested page could not be found.
And yeah, when hoovering on the link, it shows a link like on the pic I posted.

Edit: I just purged the forum cache and now everything's working! Thanks everyone for the assistant!! :mrgreen:

Re: I want a textlink over very-top of my forum

Posted: Sat Apr 06, 2019 1:25 pm
by Lumpy Burgertushie
oop, did not see the third page.


robert

Re: I want a textlink over very-top of my forum

Posted: Sat Apr 06, 2019 1:27 pm
by deepndark
My forum link now opens in a new tab, didn't need to change anything either.

Re: I want a textlink over very-top of my forum

Posted: Sat Apr 06, 2019 1:27 pm
by Lumpy Burgertushie
oops, did not see the third page.


robert

Re: I want a textlink over very-top of my forum

Posted: Sat Apr 06, 2019 1:31 pm
by deepndark
Lumpy Burgertushie wrote:
Sat Apr 06, 2019 1:27 pm
oops, did not see the third page.


robert
No problem. ;)

Re: I want a textlink over very-top of my forum

Posted: Sat Apr 06, 2019 1:34 pm
by david63
deepndark wrote:
Sat Apr 06, 2019 1:27 pm
My forum link now opens in a new tab, didn't need to change anything either.
So why was it not working before?

Re: I want a textlink over very-top of my forum

Posted: Sat Apr 06, 2019 1:37 pm
by Lumpy Burgertushie
apparently he did not purge the cache after a change.


robert

Re: I want a textlink over very-top of my forum

Posted: Sat Apr 06, 2019 1:41 pm
by david63
Lumpy Burgertushie wrote:
Sat Apr 06, 2019 1:37 pm
apparently he did not purge the cache after a change.
I would have thought that the development/testing board was set up so that purging the cache was not required when a template changes.

Re: I want a textlink over very-top of my forum

Posted: Sat Apr 06, 2019 1:41 pm
by deepndark
Lumpy Burgertushie wrote:
Sat Apr 06, 2019 1:37 pm
apparently he did not purge the cache after a change.


robert
Yup. It worked right after I purged. So the final code on the page 3 works, but if someone else wants to use it too, just change the address and name and remember to purge the cache.