Can I be sued over a users comments?

Discussion of non-phpBB related topics with other phpBB.com users.
Forum rules
General Discussion is a bonus forum for discussion of non-phpBB related topics with other phpBB.com users. All site rules apply.
Lumpy Burgertushie

Re: Can I be sued over a users comments?

Post by Lumpy Burgertushie » Fri Jul 15, 2011 12:01 am

not a lawyer and never played one on tv
however, I really doubt they would have a case in any court.

there is such a thing in the US called "freedom of speech". unless whatever they said could be legally construed to be slander or legally libelous. even then, I would imagine the person responsible for posting it would be the one to sue.

until and unless you get a legal notice of some kind from their attorneys , I would not even pay any attention to it.

however, if you are really concerned, consult a lawyer.

robert

KevC
Support Team Member
Support Team Member

Post by KevC » Fri Jul 15, 2011 8:28 am

I'm no lawyer either but one thing to note in the terms that every user agrees to when they sign up. It says
You agree not to post any abusive, obscene, vulgar, slanderous, hateful, threatening, sexually-orientated or any other material that may violate any laws be it of your country, the country where “[insert board name]” is hosted or International Law.
Also, if you anticipate this sort of thing in future due to the nature of the board you could add a line to the footer saying something like
Opinions expressed on this forum are those of the authors of the posts concerned.
They do not necessarily represent the views of the [insert board name] owners or administrators.
-:|:- Support Request Template -:|:-
Cheap UK Hosting
"In the land of the blind the little green bloke with no pupils is king - init!"

noth

Post by noth » Fri Jul 15, 2011 8:56 pm

James have you seen the thread on whether a member can demand their posts be deleted ?

similar vein and if you have the time, quite an education

Darth Wong