How to learn

Discussion of non-phpBB related topics with other phpBB.com users.
Forum rules
General Discussion is a bonus forum for discussion of non-phpBB related topics with other phpBB.com users. All site rules apply.
enerahed

How to learn

Post by enerahed »

Hi,
I am a student and have a passion for programming.
Honestly I know nothing about programming but have the feeling of being next Bill Gates.
I'm a regular user of the website Quora to know how other people think and how to make best use of what they are saying.
One of the question was what to do in 5 years if you were young to find it useful in 5 years ahead?
One of the answer was to learn to code and join open source community and be part of it.
Honestly I was not aware of what open source means but when I look after it I've kind of got it.
The only open source I am using is phpBB (I was not aware about that, but it is the forums of the games I used to play).
I've joined here and the other forum Area51.
All I've is the passion for programming and a lot of time (almost 7 or 8 hours per day).
I am wasting a lot of time in social media and games and I want to do something useful and I am taking this issue seriously to make best use of my time.
I want to start and I do not know what to do.
How to learn phpBB and what does it takes and what was it made of.
If you may consider me as a young brother that you would like to advice for the right thing that would be awesome.
Sorry if I am asking wrong questions but I hope if someone may tell.
Thanks

72degrees

Re: How to learn

Post by 72degrees »

Welcome.

If you have a passion for programming you are halfway there already.