Legitimate student loan company?!?

Discussion of non-phpBB related topics with other phpBB.com users.
Forum rules
General Discussion is a bonus forum for discussion of non-phpBB related topics with other phpBB.com users. All site rules apply.
Techie-Micheal
Security Consultant

Legitimate student loan company?!?

Post by Techie-Micheal » Sat Sep 08, 2007 4:11 am

Being a college student, I need loans (and jobs, and grants, and scholarships, and ..., the list goes on). So the past few weeks, I've been noticing commercials for a company called Astrive Student Loans. Each time the commercial airs, I see a different domain name for the company.

They have astrive.com. But I've not seen an advertisement for it. But I have seen advertisements for 177 and 67 and so on. Turns out, not only do they have astrive.com but they own all the domain names from astrive1.com through 450. Anybody else question the legitimacy of such a company? Who thinks it is okay to do that?

On the same vein, I've seen "work from home" commercials that pull similar stunts. Various ones have been proven by others to be fraudulent.

So, the discussion is, would you not trust a company based on a) how many domain names they own and b) how similar those domain names are? The word scammer pops in to mind for me, what about you?
Proven Offensive Security Expertise. OSCP - GXPN

battye
Extension Customisations
Extension Customisations

Re: Legitimate student loan company?!?

Post by battye » Sat Sep 08, 2007 5:33 am

It sounds a little strange to me Techie. Legitimate companies would advertise one domain all the time, everytime.

Would you trust a company that advertises a different postal address each time you see their advertisement?
Customisations Team Member

Techie-Micheal
Security Consultant

Post by Techie-Micheal » Sat Sep 08, 2007 5:43 am

Exactly. That's why I'm thinking they are at the very least questionable, and possible worse.

A_O_C

Post by A_O_C » Sat Sep 08, 2007 1:25 pm