SSL HTTPS help URGENT PLEASE HELP

Do not post support requests, bug reports or feature requests. Discuss phpBB here. Non-phpBB related discussion goes in General Discussion!
Get Involved
hunterhusker

SSL HTTPS help URGENT PLEASE HELP

Post by hunterhusker » Sat Apr 14, 2018 10:37 pm

I am in a cyber defense competition next Saturday. My role is to set up a phpBB forum and defend it from hackers for 8 hours straight. I really need to set up SSL & HTTPS. I have never done any of that stuff before. We get our certificates from the white team so no need to worry about getting one, just setting it all up and how to use it. It is an apache server so would the conversion be the same or is there similar stuff for converting it or is there special stuff for the phpbb part? If you have any help it would be awesome.

Brf
Support Team Member
Support Team Member

Re: SSL HTTPS help URGENT PLEASE HELP

Post by Brf » Sun Apr 15, 2018 12:41 am

SSL and https have nothing at all to do with protecting your server from hackers. They are to protect your users, not your server. In any case, this board is support for phpBB, not setting up your server.

hunterhusker

Post by hunterhusker » Sun Apr 15, 2018 1:47 am

Yes it is for phpBB support I was asking is there anything I must do different to set up a phpBB server versus all other servers. I know it wont protect my server from hackers but it will protect the data being transmitted through http from being sniffed and taken by the red team. I don't know if there will be anything different settings wise in phpBB that is why I came to the phpBB forum to ask for help on how to set up the phpBB service with SSL.

Lumpy Burgertushie

Post by Lumpy Burgertushie » Sun Apr 15, 2018 3:50 am

no offense but if you don't know how this all works then you probably do not have a chance in this competition.

there is no "phpbb server" phpbb is simply a bulletin board software that you install on a web hosting server.