BBcode bitfield and other serialized data

Do not post support requests, bug reports or feature requests. Discuss phpBB here. Non-phpBB related discussion goes in General Discussion!
Suggested Hosts
Toxyy

BBcode bitfield and other serialized data

Post by Toxyy » Sun Nov 18, 2018 8:35 pm

(yes I know bbcode bitfield is base64 not serialized)

I've been talking with a friend and he said he doesn't like that phpbb uses zeroth normalized form for the db. I'm still learning and I've never heard of that term before, but asking him more about it, he mentioned storing serialized data, which got me to thinking about design decisions that were made before I got into phpbb at all.

After looking into bbcode bitfield to find quotes, I got to thinking. Why is it stored as a base64 varchar(255) and not as a varbinary or tinyblob? It's used as a bitfield, why not use types made for that?

After trying to manually edit notifications before realizing my event was enough, is there any reason to have notification_data be be stored serialized?

I suppose I can understand why forum parents are, only somewhat.

I'd like to put him in his place if I can, and to understand the design decisions better. I'm mostly curious if the bitfield can be stored as varbinary/tinyblob instead of base64. Naively (not sure if it works like this), if it's to save on db space, at most 4 characters per 1 million posts, it would save around 2mb of space.
I am a web developer/administrator, specializing in forums. If you have work you need done or are too lazy to do, pm me!

My extensions:
[3.2][BETA] Anonymous Posts || [3.2][RC] Show User Activity

kasimi
Extension Customisations
Extension Customisations

Re: BBcode bitfield and other serialized data

Post by kasimi » Sun Nov 18, 2018 9:01 pm

Although this doesn't answer the core of your question, the BBCode bitfield is obsolete and not used in phpBB 3.2.x anymore, except for rendering content generated in 3.1.x and earlier.

david63