Absolute Newbie! Is PhpBB for me?

Do not post support requests, bug reports or feature requests. Discuss phpBB here. Non-phpBB related discussion goes in General Discussion!
Suggested Hosts
omneox

Absolute Newbie! Is PhpBB for me?

Post by omneox » Thu Dec 20, 2018 12:45 pm

Hi guys,

I am thinking of starting a forum but have zero knowledge in programming. I've done some research on the web and came across claims that MyBB and BBpress are more user-friendly than PhpBB for beginners. Is it true? I've played around with phpBB changing the themes but haven't really explored beyond that. Can I use PhpBB without any knowledge in programming?

Thanks!

Mick
Support Team Member
Support Team Member

Re: Absolute Newbie! Is PhpBB for me?

Post by Mick » Thu Dec 20, 2018 1:09 pm

omneox wrote:
Thu Dec 20, 2018 12:45 pm
Can I use PhpBB without any knowledge in programming?
Yes, absolutely.
"The more connected we get the more alone we become" - Kyle Broflovski

warmweer

Post by warmweer » Thu Dec 20, 2018 1:58 pm

omneox wrote:
I've done some research on the web and came across claims that MyBB and BBpress are more user-friendly than PhpBB for beginners. Is it true?
User-friendlyness is relative. If you just use the out-of-the-box product then phpBB is slightly more complicated than others, but that is inherent to the amount of features and is something most get used to very quickly. If you look at the numbers (boards installed) then phpBB doesn't seem too frightening for the internet community.
I think it really boils down to what you want in terms of features and adaptability, and phpBB is there right at the top. I'ld even say that most commercial forumsoftware play second fiddle to phpBB (and a couple of other free forums)
omneox wrote:
I've played around with phpBB changing the themes but haven't really explored beyond that. Can I use PhpBB without any knowledge in programming?