How to Update FIELD Data

Do not post support requests, bug reports or feature requests. Discuss phpBB here. Non-phpBB related discussion goes in General Discussion!
Ideas Centre
Post Reply
Blue42
Registered User
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Feb 13, 2019 5:14 pm

How to Update FIELD Data

Post by Blue42 » Wed Feb 13, 2019 5:18 pm

How do I update the data related to the Variables in the HTML? Am I missing something obvious?

Support Request Template
What version of phpBB are you using? phpBB 3.2.5
What is your board's URL? http://elitehalloffame.net
Who do you host your board with? whois
How did you install your board? I used the download package from phpBB.com
What is the most recent action performed on your board? Fresh Install
Is registration required to reproduce this issue? No
Do you have any MODs installed? No
Do you have any extensions installed? Yes
What extensions do you have installed? Sort Order extension
What styles do you currently have installed? BBOOTS
What language(s) is your board currently using? en-us
Which database type/version are you using? MySQL 5
What is your level of experience? New to phpBB but not PHP
What actions did you take (updating your board; installing a MOD, style or extension; etc.) prior to this problem becoming noticeable? just researching documentation for answer and could not find
Please describe your problem. I'm trying to determine how to replace FIELD VALUES that are predefined by PHP Constant Names. For example, L_ABOUT displays the text originally defined by the BBOOTS style, but I cannot find where that text resides to replace.
Generated by SRT Generator

User avatar
Brf
Support Team Member
Support Team Member
Posts: 51662
Joined: Tue May 10, 2005 7:47 pm
Location: {postrow.POSTER_FROM}
Contact:

Re: How to Update FIELD Data

Post by Brf » Wed Feb 13, 2019 5:59 pm

L_ABOUT is a language string that would be defined as "ABOUT" in one of your language files. It is not a "PHP constant" and should not depend on whatever style you are using.

User avatar
warmweer
Registered User
Posts: 2011
Joined: Fri Jul 04, 2003 6:34 am
Location: Van Allen Belt ... well actually Belgium

Re: How to Update FIELD Data

Post by warmweer » Wed Feb 13, 2019 6:06 pm

Blue42 wrote:
Wed Feb 13, 2019 5:18 pm
Please describe your problem. I'm trying to determine how to replace FIELD VALUES that are predefined by PHP Constant Names. For example, L_ABOUT displays the text originally defined by the BBOOTS style, but I cannot find where that text resides to replace.
Generated by SRT Generator
Use a search programme to find the L_ABOUT string in your phphbb directory. ( Perhaps it's specific for the BBOOTS style or an extension, I can't find it in a clean 3.2.5).
A bug is a feature that hasn't made it to the manual (yet)

User avatar
canonknipser
Registered User
Posts: 1932
Joined: Thu Sep 08, 2011 4:16 am
Location: Germany
Name: Frank Jakobs
Contact:

Re: How to Update FIELD Data

Post by canonknipser » Wed Feb 13, 2019 7:12 pm

As brf already mentioned, template variables starting with L_ and LA_ are language variables directly replaced by the template engine. To find the place where there are defined, dismiss the L_ or LA_ and search for the rest, like warmweer suggested. For your example, I did it already and didn't find any ABOUT in several previous and currents version of phpBB (3.0.14, several 3.1-versions., several 3.2-versions). So, maybe it is defined in a language file in a extension you use or it is a different language variable you are looking for.
Greetings, Frank
phpbb.de support team member
English is not my native language - no support via PM or mail
New arrival - Extensions and scripts for phpBB

User avatar
mrgoldy
Jr. Extension Validator
Posts: 997
Joined: Tue Oct 06, 2009 7:34 pm
Location: The Netherlands
Name: Gijs

Re: How to Update FIELD Data

Post by mrgoldy » Wed Feb 13, 2019 7:27 pm

Just in response to some statements above, a variable in the template starting with L_SOMETHING does not per definition mean that the string SOMETHING is within a language file. There are many occurrences where language strings are generated in PHP and then assigned to the template, prefixed with a L_.

Some examples from only the page_header() function:

Code: Select all

'L_LOGIN_LOGOUT'	=> $l_login_logout,
'L_INDEX'		=> ($config['board_index_text'] !== '') ? $config['board_index_text'] : $user->lang['FORUM_INDEX'],
'L_SITE_HOME'		=> ($config['site_home_text'] !== '') ? $config['site_home_text'] : $user->lang['HOME'],
'L_ONLINE_EXPLAIN'	=> $l_online_time,
phpBB Studio / ''Proud member of the Studio"

User avatar
canonknipser
Registered User
Posts: 1932
Joined: Thu Sep 08, 2011 4:16 am
Location: Germany
Name: Frank Jakobs
Contact:

Re: How to Update FIELD Data

Post by canonknipser » Wed Feb 13, 2019 8:07 pm

mrgoldy, your'e absolutely right, but for the ABOUT above I search the whole packages, not only the language files ;)

And, from a developer view, variables generated by php-scripts already containing the translated value should not be prefixed with L_ or LA_, because that leads to a second, unneeded translation phase during template interpretation. I guess those entries like in page_header() are remains from previous versions kept for compatibility.
Greetings, Frank
phpbb.de support team member
English is not my native language - no support via PM or mail
New arrival - Extensions and scripts for phpBB

User avatar
Brf
Support Team Member
Support Team Member
Posts: 51662
Joined: Tue May 10, 2005 7:47 pm
Location: {postrow.POSTER_FROM}
Contact:

Re: How to Update FIELD Data

Post by Brf » Wed Feb 13, 2019 9:09 pm

canonknipser wrote:
Wed Feb 13, 2019 8:07 pm
mrgoldy, your'e absolutely right, but for the ABOUT above I search the whole packages, not only the language files ;)
As did I. I am guessing it is from some extension.

User avatar
warmweer
Registered User
Posts: 2011
Joined: Fri Jul 04, 2003 6:34 am
Location: Van Allen Belt ... well actually Belgium

Re: How to Update FIELD Data

Post by warmweer » Wed Feb 13, 2019 9:14 pm

Brf wrote:
Wed Feb 13, 2019 9:09 pm
As did I. I am guessing it is from some extension.
The TS did mention an extension, but I can't find it.
Blue42 wrote:
Wed Feb 13, 2019 5:18 pm
What extensions do you have installed? Sort Order extension
A bug is a feature that hasn't made it to the manual (yet)

User avatar
david63
Registered User
Posts: 15946
Joined: Thu Dec 19, 2002 8:08 am
Location: Lancashire, UK
Name: David Wood
Contact:

Re: How to Update FIELD Data

Post by david63 » Wed Feb 13, 2019 9:30 pm

It looks as if "About us" is part of the BBOTS style
David
Remember: You only know what you know and - you don't know what you don't know!
My CDB Contributions | How to install an extension
I will not be accepting translations for any of my extensions in Github - please post any translations in the appropriate topic.
No support requests via PM or email as they will be ignored

Post Reply

Return to “phpBB Discussion”