How to change the Firefox's 'TOPSITE' imagelink?

Do not post support requests, bug reports or feature requests. Discuss phpBB here. Non-phpBB related discussion goes in General Discussion!
Ideas Centre
Post Reply
User avatar
deepndark
Registered User
Posts: 330
Joined: Thu Nov 03, 2011 12:48 pm
Location: Finland
Contact:

How to change the Firefox's 'TOPSITE' imagelink?

Post by deepndark » Wed Jul 31, 2019 7:15 pm

the_firefox_topsite_image.png
the_firefox_topsite_image.png (30.33 KiB) Viewed 990 times
Some sites have a custom logo, not the screenshot as the imagelink, how?

User avatar
KevC
Support Team Member
Support Team Member
Posts: 69239
Joined: Fri Jun 04, 2004 10:44 am
Location: Oxford, UK
Contact:

Re: How to change the Firefox's 'TOPSITE' imagelink?

Post by KevC » Wed Jul 31, 2019 7:26 pm

You should probably ask on a firefox support site.

I just googled firefox top sites icon and this was the top result

https://support.mozilla.org/en-US/questions/1198764
-:|:- Support Request Template -:|:-
Image
Cheap UK Hosting
"In the land of the blind the little green bloke with no pupils is king - init!"

User avatar
EA117
Registered User
Posts: 755
Joined: Wed Aug 15, 2018 3:23 am
Contact:

Re: How to change the Firefox's 'TOPSITE' imagelink?

Post by EA117 » Wed Jul 31, 2019 8:09 pm

Yeah, I can't say "which exact one is FireFox going to prefer or use over the others", either. But what I do expect is that "when I set them all, I expect one of them is going to be used." 😁 And I wanted to set them all anyway.

When I say "them all", I mean all of the branding-related metadata that can be specified for different platforms, and can be generated for you using sites like https://realfavicongenerator.net/. This generates Windows 8+ app shortcut images, Apple shortcut images, Android-specific images, etc., and also gives you the HTML needed to then refer to those assets.

User avatar
deepndark
Registered User
Posts: 330
Joined: Thu Nov 03, 2011 12:48 pm
Location: Finland
Contact:

Re: How to change the Firefox's 'TOPSITE' imagelink?

Post by deepndark » Wed Jul 31, 2019 9:30 pm

EA117 wrote:
Wed Jul 31, 2019 8:09 pm
Yeah, I can't say "which exact one is FireFox going to prefer or use over the others", either. But what I do expect is that "when I set them all, I expect one of them is going to be used." 😁 And I wanted to set them all anyway.

When I say "them all", I mean all of the branding-related metadata that can be specified for different platforms, and can be generated for you using sites like https://realfavicongenerator.net/. This generates Windows 8+ app shortcut images, Apple shortcut images, Android-specific images, etc., and also gives you the HTML needed to then refer to those assets.
I generated and uploaded them into my index root. It changed to the new favicon, but it still doesn't show just the favicon in a size of the top site icon. :P :roll:

User avatar
EA117
Registered User
Posts: 755
Joined: Wed Aug 15, 2018 3:23 am
Contact:

Re: How to change the Firefox's 'TOPSITE' imagelink?

Post by EA117 » Wed Jul 31, 2019 10:25 pm

deepndark wrote:
Wed Jul 31, 2019 9:30 pm
I generated and uploaded them into my index root. It changed to the new favicon, but it still doesn't show just the favicon in a size of the top site icon. :P :roll:
I'm sure I'm still wrong in multiple ways, and assumed too much that they would make use of best-available metadata, even if they were looking for something more specific that still wasn't being provided. But all of that notwithstanding, the results you're describing don't seem to match what I'm seeing here.

First off, I do see where you uploaded additional assets to http://reasonheads.com/forum/ which were not available before. But although assets with well-known pre-defined names are now available on the site (e.g. http://reasonheads.com/apple-touch-icon.png), I'm not seeing any new meta or link tags on that site in your <head> section. (Edit: Maybe a phpBB clear cache is all that's needed, if you did make these edits already?)

Using the https://realfavicongenerator.net/ gave you a whole bunch of HTML to be added there, in addition to the actual image- and xml-based assets to be placed on the site. And one of those apparently does make the difference here, since if you put my site into the Top Sites list along side yours, I get the result pictured:

top.png

(FireFox 68.0.1 on Windows 10)

Again, I still can't assert to you "which one" is making the difference for FireFox. Only that I wanted to have them all anyway, and one of them did make the difference. You can see in the page source of my site that all of the link and meta tags were added, too:

Code: Select all

<!-- begin EA117 custom favicon modifications -->

<link rel="apple-touch-icon" sizes="180x180" href="./styles/proflat_ea117/theme/images/apple-touch-icon.png?v=zXbdKz68p3">
<link rel="icon" type="image/png" sizes="32x32" href="./styles/proflat_ea117/theme/images/favicon-32x32.png?v=zXbdKz68p3">
<link rel="icon" type="image/png" sizes="16x16" href="./styles/proflat_ea117/theme/images/favicon-16x16.png?v=zXbdKz68p3">
<link rel="manifest" href="./styles/proflat_ea117/theme/images/site.webmanifest?v=zXbdKz68p3">
<link rel="mask-icon" href="./styles/proflat_ea117/theme/images/safari-pinned-tab.svg?v=zXbdKz68p3" color="#5bbad5">
<link rel="shortcut icon" href="./styles/proflat_ea117/theme/images/favicon.ico?v=zXbdKz68p3">
<meta name="msapplication-TileColor" content="#da532c">
<meta name="theme-color" content="#ffffff">

<!-- end EA117 custom favicon modifications -->

Post Reply

Return to “phpBB Discussion”