How to help protect the ACP (Admin. Control Panel)

Do not post support requests, bug reports or feature requests. Discuss phpBB here. Non-phpBB related discussion goes in General Discussion!
Ideas Centre
I've Been Banned!

How to help protect the ACP (Admin. Control Panel)

Post by 2600 »

This may or may not be entirely needed, but I've been doing this for some five years now and it can't hurt so I'll share it here for what it's worth. I'm sure a bunch of users will post that it's not needed because of how phpBB is coded with dual logins and that the code has never been hacked and all that rot. I just do this anyway because I'm a firm believer in layers when it comes to security and backups as well. Both with my websites and computers. I'm a backup freak and use many forms of media for my backups. At any rate, here's what I do to help protect the ACP.

I learned a long time ago that the ACP emulated right from the ADM folder in your FTP directory for a phpBB install. When I found this out I was like, "ah ha!" I knew I could add an .htaccess file in that ADM folder and deny all entry to the ACP except for me with my home IP address. So what you do is create an .htaccess file in the ADM folder and in this .htaccess file add the following code replacing the xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx with your home's external WAN IP address. There are many places to obtain your current external WAN home IP address, but I just use this site.

Code: Select all

Order Deny,Allow
Deny from all
Allow from xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx

As you can see, everyone is blocked from even trying to gain access to the ACP except your IP address. This htaccess code will work in the Apache and Litespeed SAPIs (Server Application Programing Interface). NGINX and Windows IIS (Internet Information Services) would be different I suppose, but it probably could be done.