How to manage the forum when it grows a lot?

Do not post support requests, bug reports or feature requests. Discuss phpBB here. Non-phpBB related discussion goes in General Discussion!
Ideas Centre
Harrison76

How to manage the forum when it grows a lot?

Post by Harrison76 »

Hello to all,
I have been running a forum for 5 years, and in these years it has grown a lot but above all it will grow even more in the years to come. I try to fix a lot, sometimes renaming discussions, moving them, dividing them, sometimes correcting important inaccuracies.
Then I read everything, I read almost all the posts thanks to the "unread messages" tab. I don't have any moderator yet, because I haven't found anyone with the skills to do it yet.

I get to the point: now that it has grown a lot, I got to the point that I can't read everything anymore, so how should I behave? How can I read only some discussions and not others? Wouldn't it be bad, for example, when I'm very saturated, to suddenly reset the unread messages so that I can start again, is it possible? Finally, if I had to find a moderator, how could I manage the corrections to be made? I often rename titles, but if he and I see it differently, we would risk renaming each other over and over again, entering into a loop.

Let me know how I can manage this, any advice is welcome
Thanks
Last edited by HiFiKabin on Sat Sep 05, 2020 6:45 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: moved to phpbb discussion
KevC
Support Team Member
Support Team Member

Re: How to manage the forum when it grows a lot?

Post by KevC »

I don't read everything on mine, haven't for a long time. If there's anything 'bad' I rely on members flagging them up with the report button. I basically visit the site like a regular user would, I read and post what I like to and leave, having said they I do often pop in several times a day to check it's all looking ok. Once a site is set up there's very little back end admin work that needs to be done.