Enable URL Rewriting in Windows server

Do not post support requests, bug reports or feature requests. Discuss phpBB here. Non-phpBB related discussion goes in General Discussion!
Suggested Hosts
yandr

Enable URL Rewriting in Windows server

Post by yandr »

I am new to phpBB and have set it up recetly with a fresh install (no content - planning to migrate).

I am trying to set-up URL rewrites, however I am not running Apache.

I have 2 issues:

1. Even after enabling the option 'Enable URL Rewriting' and flushing the cache, the URL's remain the same
2. If I just translate .htaccess file to web.config, will I be able to have this up and running? Is there a guide somewhere on the my issue I can follow?
Mick
Support Team Member
Support Team Member

Re: Enable URL Rewriting in Windows server

Post by Mick »

Whilst we try our best we are not server gurus especially with IIS. Does the server have URL rewriting enabled? I’ve just Google searched the issue and there seems to be plenty of information on the subject such as adding rewrite modules etc, you should try that avenue first. These are the first two I saw: https://www.iis.net/downloads/microsoft/url-rewrite and https://tecadmin.net/enable-url-rewrite-iis/ etc.

Out of curiosity is there any particular reason you’re using IIS? There are plenty of personal server packages out there using Apache etc, see: Knowledge Base - Installing and Setting Up Your Own Web Server.
  • "The more connected we get the more alone we become" - Kyle Broflovski©
  • "The good news is hell is just the product of a morbid human imagination.
    The bad news is, whatever humans can imagine, they can usually create.
    " - Harmony Cobel
rockedge

Post by rockedge »