Newbie seeking general advice

Do not post support requests, bug reports or feature requests. Discuss phpBB here. Non-phpBB related discussion goes in General Discussion!
Scam Warning
wxyzard

Newbie seeking general advice

Post by wxyzard »

Hi, I'm new to web programming. I'm thinking of using phpBB for a website I'm planning.

Does anyone recommend an IDE that they like for using with phpBB?

I'm planning to make some fairly minor custom changes for my website. How does phpBB code compare to other platforms, IOW is it easier or harder to make custom changes to it?

Thanks!
Lumpy Burgertushie

Re: Newbie seeking general advice

Post by Lumpy Burgertushie »

depends on the changes. if you are only talking about styling changes then you only need to know a little html/css.
if you want to make coding changes to the actual php files then you would need to know php and really understand phpBB as well as possibly
mysql etc.
however, phpBB is designed to use extensions to add functions or change certain functions of the program

bottom line is most people don't find the need to do any custom coding to phpBB. It is a bulletin board software and does a very good job of
being a bulletin board straight out of the box.

you can add extensions and you can install custom styles to change the look/layout of the pages etc.

robert
Premium phpBB 3.3 Styles by PlanetStyles.net

I am pleased to announce that I have completed the first item on my bucket list. I have the bucket.
HB

Post by HB »

wxyzard wrote: Fri Dec 03, 2021 2:34 amDoes anyone recommend an IDE that they like for using with phpBB?
I like Eclipse PHP because of the syntax highlighting, error checking, smart search, and especially the built-in version history. The drawback is Eclipse demands a lot of memory/CPU. I don't bother with its PHP debugger. When I use older laptops with less umph, I like Atom for speed.