Page 1 of 1

easymod & phpbb3: workaround to use easymod in phpbb3

Posted: Wed Apr 04, 2007 11:13 pm
by asinshesq
I don't know how long it will be before a phpbb3 compatible easymod version will be released (and I haven't taken a look at the easymod code to see how easy it will be to adapt easymod to phpbb3). But in the interim, here's a workaround that I haven't tried but that should work fine:

Assume you have a phpbb3 test board working correctly under a folder called phpbb3 and a live or test phpbb2 board (with easymod installed) working correctly under a folder called phpbb2, and you have a phpbb3 mod script you want to install in your phpbb3 test board. Try this:

- move the phpbb3 folder so that it is a subfolder under your phpbb2 folder

- go through the phpbb3 mod script and prepend all the file references in the OPEN commands and the COPY commands with 'phpbb3/'

- install the mod the regular way using easymod (but don't let easymod do the db changes...you should run those separately)

- move the phpbb3 folder back where it used to be

- run any database changes the mod has you make via phpmyadmin or whatever other db gui you use

That's all there is to it. Like I said, I haven't tried this but it should work fine.

Re: easymod & phpbb3: workaround to use easymod in phpbb3

Posted: Thu Apr 05, 2007 4:18 am
by geoffreak
Another thing you could do is just add in these in all the file name commands:

Code: Select all

../
This should work if you run easymod from a phpbb2 board and have a phpbb3 board in another directory.

Re: easymod & phpbb3: workaround to use easymod in phpbb3

Posted: Thu Apr 05, 2007 5:26 am
by battye
EasyMOD is not yet supported under phpBB3, nor are any MOD's (link: http://www.phpbb.com/community/viewtopi ... 6&t=403779)

Locked