Anyone working on a Joomla Bridge for 3.0 RC1?

Do not post support requests, bug reports or feature requests. Discuss phpBB here. Non-phpBB related discussion goes in General Discussion!
Scam Warning
User avatar
fulvio
Registered User
Posts: 9
Joined: Sun Aug 05, 2007 8:38 am

Re: Anyone working on a Joomla Bridge for 3.0 RC1?

Post by fulvio »

ciao everyone. sorry for my bad english and any mistake I'll make.

some one can send me a link to download a free bridgh to connect joomla 1.0 and phpbb3?
I try to found it but i found only commercial site.

thanks for answers and sorry again for my pasta-english :D

Fulvio
il papà di Removed >>>>Jim
from the sunny Italy
Last edited by Jim_UK on Thu Nov 08, 2007 8:33 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: url removed (in sig is sufficient surely!)
User avatar
MikovChain
Registered User
Posts: 137
Joined: Tue Aug 29, 2006 9:19 am

Re: Anyone working on a Joomla Bridge for 3.0 RC1?

Post by MikovChain »

I have made a simple bridge for phpBB3 and Joomla 1.5 RC3.
This bridge only sync the user data, and disable the new user registeration from joomla.
All users creating their accounts through phpBB3, and then they can login joomla with their phpbb3 accounts.

But I didn't implement the login/logout sync yet.
jderosa3
Registered User
Posts: 28
Joined: Fri Aug 22, 2003 7:34 pm
Contact:

Re: Anyone working on a Joomla Bridge for 3.0 RC1?

Post by jderosa3 »

MikovChain,

You will be a god if you get this done before say someone like Rockettheme (RokBridge).

How well does it funtion? Let us know! Very Excited to hear about this!
User avatar
MikovChain
Registered User
Posts: 137
Joined: Tue Aug 29, 2006 9:19 am

Re: Anyone working on a Joomla Bridge for 3.0 RC1?

Post by MikovChain »

geeffland
Registered User
Posts: 24
Joined: Fri Dec 16, 2005 5:56 am

Re: Anyone working on a Joomla Bridge for 3.0 RC1?

Post by geeffland »

CB Connector v2 is already working and out in beta. It is a Community Builder plugin so you will need Joomla and Community Builder installed and working. It can bridge phpbb2 or phpbb3 with the Joomla 1.0.x series... future versions will support Joomla 1.5 but that may be a bit...

More info can be found at http://cbconnector.com

Greg
CB Connector Developer
jderosa3
Registered User
Posts: 28
Joined: Fri Aug 22, 2003 7:34 pm
Contact:

Re: Anyone working on a Joomla Bridge for 3.0 RC1?

Post by jderosa3 »

I can't wait for the final releases of both Joomla and phpBB come out! and make sure everything works smooth with the Simple Joomla1.5 Bridge for phpBB3.0. Glad to see some progress on this!
User avatar
MikovChain
Registered User
Posts: 137
Joined: Tue Aug 29, 2006 9:19 am

Re: Anyone working on a Joomla Bridge for 3.0 RC1?

Post by MikovChain »

Now I have finished the login/logout sync on joomla, which means the user only need login/logout on joomla, not need login/logout on phpbb again.

I will build a demo before this weekend.
jderosa3
Registered User
Posts: 28
Joined: Fri Aug 22, 2003 7:34 pm
Contact:

Re: Anyone working on a Joomla Bridge for 3.0 RC1?

Post by jderosa3 »

MikovChain,

This just great! I personally would like to thank you for your dedication... I wish I had the actual programming skill to do something like this but I am a designer. Please post here when you are finished with your demo I would love to check it out!

Thanks again!
User avatar
MikovChain
Registered User
Posts: 137
Joined: Tue Aug 29, 2006 9:19 am

Re: Anyone working on a Joomla Bridge for 3.0 RC1?

Post by MikovChain »

The demo is here
In this demo, two applications are using the user data from joomla.

1. When you create joomla account, you will get an "Object id #124" error. It's a bug of joomla 1.5RC3. Don't worry about it.
2. Before you test the login/logout sync feature, you need log on phpBB for twice ( first time sync account, second populate permissions).

3. Login/logout joomla will also login/logout phpBB, while login/logout phpBB won't affect joomla.

To my surprise the user name in Joomla is case sensitive, which means you can register an dozens of accounts with same characters like:
gorockway, Gorockway, gOrockway, goROCkway, GORockWAY...
Unfortunately phpBB3 doesn't support this kind of naming. So I set some restriction in Joomla for compatibility.
jderosa3
Registered User
Posts: 28
Joined: Fri Aug 22, 2003 7:34 pm
Contact:

Re: Anyone working on a Joomla Bridge for 3.0 RC1?

Post by jderosa3 »

Cool...

Seems like your really close.. Hopefully in Joomla RC4 (would prefer GM) that Object id error will be resolved...

Also I think the naming structure is because joomla switched to UTF-8 (Am I right on this...) or is something else causing that case sensitivity.

Do you think in the future you will not have to log in and out to sync the account and propagate the permissions?

Thanks for the quick update. This is fun stuff here.
User avatar
MikovChain
Registered User
Posts: 137
Joined: Tue Aug 29, 2006 9:19 am

Re: Anyone working on a Joomla Bridge for 3.0 RC1?

Post by MikovChain »

I have updated it with a joomla-like phpbb3 style.
Also I think the naming structure is because joomla switched to UTF-8 (Am I right on this...) or is something else causing that case sensitivity.

Do you think in the future you will not have to log in and out to sync the account and propagate the permissions?
The naming problem is caused by utf8_bin COLLATE, so it's not joomla's fault. You need not change it if you won't use Asia characters in the username.

I have implemented log in/out sync from Joomla side. The permissions have to be managed by admins from each control panels separately.
jderosa3
Registered User
Posts: 28
Joined: Fri Aug 22, 2003 7:34 pm
Contact:

Re: Anyone working on a Joomla Bridge for 3.0 RC1?

Post by jderosa3 »

looking good!!! Other than the permission thing.. what else needs to be done?
Ghost11
Registered User
Posts: 11
Joined: Wed Oct 03, 2007 8:23 am

Re: Anyone working on a Joomla Bridge for 3.0 RC1?

Post by Ghost11 »

fuzi wrote:I don't think we need bridge bwtteen joomla and phpbb.

my joomla sites, usually several core people could log on and post/edit contents, and phpbb forum, every body could register and post. if somebody want to post some thing on main site, they usually sendd email or just post it on forum.

also to most of people it's still hard to submit and edit articles on joomla.

fuzi
I think that too. ;)
I would rather see a version as described by cjneely:
cjneely wrote:Also, my users don't need to log into Joomla. The only password protected areas are needed for the Board of Directors, Advisory Board members, and Staff members, and this can be done on the phpbb.

As I was reading through these posts, I realized that what I need is something like this (http://www.phpbb.com) website. The header is consistent (the artwork change is nice), the forum is built in and yet there are other content pages. So my question now is: What is phpbb.com using? Is this a custom made site or is it made by intergrating certain software?

I'd love to know, because this format looks perfect for my needs. Any ideas?
And yes, it is a custom made site specially for phpBB - but entirely based on phpBB. :idea:

... and that's it! - in my opinion ... 8-)
JoomLaconic
Registered User
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Nov 12, 2007 2:03 pm

Re: Anyone working on a Joomla Bridge for 3.0 RC1?

Post by JoomLaconic »

Does anyone know what the Rokbridge (http://www.RocketWerx.com) will cost?
You can't read everything you believe.
JoomLaconic
JoomLaconicHosting.com
Acyd Burn
Consultant
Consultant
Posts: 5830
Joined: Wed Dec 05, 2001 8:31 pm
Location: Behind You
Name: Meik Sievertsen

Re: Anyone working on a Joomla Bridge for 3.0 RC1?

Post by Acyd Burn »

The Rokbridge is for free - only support costs as far as i know.
Post Reply

Return to “phpBB Discussion”