phpbb3 takes a lot of loading time

Do not post support requests, bug reports or feature requests. Discuss phpBB here. Non-phpBB related discussion goes in General Discussion!
Suggested Hosts
JasdeepGrover
Registered User
Posts: 8
Joined: Fri May 25, 2007 7:21 am

phpbb3 takes a lot of loading time

Post by JasdeepGrover » Sun Jun 03, 2007 8:11 am

I'm running phpbb3 RC1 on my site and it takes a lot of time in loading my site.

Does anybody has any suggestion about this? :(

User avatar
Drexion
Former Team Member
Posts: 8892
Joined: Sat Jan 25, 2003 9:54 pm
Location: City 17

Re: phpbb3 takes a lot of loading time

Post by Drexion » Sun Jun 03, 2007 10:02 am

A lot of time to load in comparison to what ? Did you upgrade an older forum or is this a fresh install ?

Vanilla phpBB3 is much more 'server-load' friendly than phpBB2, even with performance tweaks. Its' still RC and has some very minor things which need tweaking, but for the most part it is quite streamlined.
JasdeepGrover wrote:Does anybody has any suggestion about this? :(
You are most likely on a shared hosting plan, possibly in which the server is overloaded, only your host can fix this, or you by switching hosts.

dodo5000
Registered User
Posts: 50
Joined: Sun Nov 19, 2006 1:49 pm
Location: Palestine
Contact:

Re: phpbb3 takes a lot of loading time

Post by dodo5000 » Sun Jun 03, 2007 12:22 pm

i think he mean a lot of time to load the page
that's happen in prosilver only but subsilver2 is extremely speed even with Dial-up connection

i have this issue also on my site :(

JasdeepGrover
Registered User
Posts: 8
Joined: Fri May 25, 2007 7:21 am

Re: phpbb3 takes a lot of loading time

Post by JasdeepGrover » Sun Jun 03, 2007 2:11 pm

Well, yes i'm hosting my site on shared host i.e. a free host

I'm facing the same problem as ' dodo's '

If some one open's my site with a dial-up connection then it shows the error that "This site is taking too much time to respond."

So if any one can suggest anything else other than switching to subsilver2(as i dont like it) then i would really appreciate it.

User avatar
Phil
Former Team Member
Posts: 10403
Joined: Sat Nov 25, 2006 4:11 am
Name: Phil Crumm
Contact:

Re: phpbb3 takes a lot of loading time

Post by Phil » Sun Jun 03, 2007 2:51 pm

You get what you pay for. If you're actually serious about running a forum, I'd recommended switching over to a paid host.
Moving on, with the wind. | My Corner of the Web

phatchopolis
Registered User
Posts: 166
Joined: Mon May 29, 2006 11:40 pm

Re: phpbb3 takes a lot of loading time

Post by phatchopolis » Sun Jun 03, 2007 6:43 pm

Paid is better and gives more freedom. You can get good hosting at some places for $10/month or less. You'll likely see an increase in performance as well. Unless your forum is huuuuge. :o

User avatar
sellaman
Registered User
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Apr 09, 2007 9:40 am
Contact:

Re: phpbb3 takes a lot of loading time

Post by sellaman » Mon Jun 04, 2007 1:39 am

phpbb3 does take longer to load even on paid hosting.
Give peace a chance. ..John Lennon.

ScreWe
Registered User
Posts: 31
Joined: Fri Jun 01, 2007 11:11 pm
Location: http://ourdeviation.net/
Contact:

Re: phpbb3 takes a lot of loading time

Post by ScreWe » Mon Jun 04, 2007 2:08 am

goes fine for me load like any other normal forum page

Cap'n Refsmmat
Registered User
Posts: 118
Joined: Wed Mar 23, 2005 11:35 pm

Re: phpbb3 takes a lot of loading time

Post by Cap'n Refsmmat » Mon Jun 04, 2007 3:41 am

What does the timer at the bottom of the page (the one that says "Time : 0.208s | 16 Queries | GZIP : Off" etc.) say?

User avatar
Drexion
Former Team Member
Posts: 8892
Joined: Sat Jan 25, 2003 9:54 pm
Location: City 17

Re: phpbb3 takes a lot of loading time

Post by Drexion » Mon Jun 04, 2007 5:48 am

sellaman wrote:phpbb3 does take longer to load even on paid hosting.
This is an inaccurate generalization. There can be a server on a free host which is under less load than one which is on a paid host.

What matters is the server load, most free/cheap hosts overload their servers. There is no magic solution anyone here can give you to prevent your host overloading his servers.

Switch to a better host, if you need assistance with finding one check the webhostingtalk forums.

User avatar
Frodosringfinger
Registered User
Posts: 226
Joined: Mon Oct 16, 2006 1:45 am
Location: Maryland
Contact:

Re: phpbb3 takes a lot of loading time

Post by Frodosringfinger » Mon Jun 04, 2007 7:23 am

I have no problems loading my site at all. Not even when theres a lot of people online at the same time. Its most likely on your half of the internet. Bad host, bad connection, etc, etc.

JasdeepGrover
Registered User
Posts: 8
Joined: Fri May 25, 2007 7:21 am

Re: phpbb3 takes a lot of loading time

Post by JasdeepGrover » Mon Jun 04, 2007 7:32 am

Well I host my site on 1 of the best free host i.e. [removed] which offers 2000mb of storage.

But about too much load on servers, i would like to tell u all that before starting this forum i was having a normal site for music and wallpapers and my index page which was full of images used to open in almost 2 secs .

I think i should try to talk with the hosting providers.

Thanx for all the suggestions.
Last edited by drathbun on Mon Jun 04, 2007 2:35 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: please don't spam host links, thanks

User avatar
Drexion
Former Team Member
Posts: 8892
Joined: Sat Jan 25, 2003 9:54 pm
Location: City 17

Re: phpbb3 takes a lot of loading time

Post by Drexion » Mon Jun 04, 2007 1:34 pm

JasdeepGrover wrote:....i was having a normal site for music and wallpapers and my index page which was full of images used to open in almost 2 secs .
Its got almost nothing to do with the images.
Forum software will make use of PHP and a database server, things which most free hosts tend to be subpar on when it comes to performance.

Static html websites like you used to have and small scripts are generally ok-ish on most free hosts, but for complex software such as forums chances are you will hit bottlenecks, whether it be with parsing PHP or querying the database server.

User avatar
Volunteer Forum
Registered User
Posts: 400
Joined: Mon Sep 12, 2005 9:59 pm

Re: phpbb3 takes a lot of loading time

Post by Volunteer Forum » Sat Jun 09, 2007 1:58 pm

I have noticed that prosilver takes alot of time loading.
It has nothing with the internet/server side.

But its the browser somehow, my CPU is speeding up to 100%
when opening a page, and that makes the page take a long time "to load"
Its like the computer "freezing" 1,5 sek per page...

Im talking about whn i use prosilver now.
Everything that is not perfect is a flaw [",]

User avatar
kateland
Registered User
Posts: 198
Joined: Wed Nov 22, 2006 7:08 pm
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Contact:

Re: phpbb3 takes a lot of loading time

Post by kateland » Thu Jul 05, 2007 2:00 pm

Here is a note I sent to my host just now.
Wonder if you could help me. I just loaded phpBB3 for my community (http://www.ne-core.com/phpBB3/index.php) and I noticed there is a huge loading difference between two of the templates (prosilver takes longer but looks nicer, subsilver is blech and loads like lightning).

First, I searched the phpBB forums for support and see no real issue as to what script-wise is causing the delay, seems to generally point in the host's direction.

Next, I tested both templates with two different website analyzers. They both weigh in with about 15 images each and a total of 51k for download.

However when I call up the index.php with prosilver, it's downloading over 100+ pictures. (multiple instances of the same image) With subsilver, it doesn't do that.

Here is what one phpBB user's host did to improve the speed:

"I upped your MySQL key_buffer_size to 32M (it was 100% full at 7M, and is now just over 16M), which should improve MySQL performance significantly. I also optimized all of your tables (roughly the equivalent of a windows defrag... should help significantly with frequently modified tables). Finally, I installed APC for PHP. APC is a PHP opcode cache, which generally yields very substantial performance improvements in PHP code."

Can you let me know if:
1. You see the same issue on your side with the two templates
2. You can offer any solutions

Test account:
Username: tester
Password: test123
But I can't help but wonder if this is a cache issue. Website tests show that both templates have the same number of different GIFs, but prosilver seems to just insist on re-downloading every instance of the forum and subforum pics instead of using the cached version.

Is there a cache option/code for prosilver I can apply?
here's your love letter
you bloodletter
you disappointed every time

Post Reply

Return to “phpBB Discussion”