Page 1 of 1

SQLite vs MYSQL

Posted: Tue Dec 18, 2007 4:07 pm
by tw9p
How much more efficient is SQLite than MYSQL in use of server resources?

Re: SQLite vs MYSQL

Posted: Tue Dec 18, 2007 4:22 pm
by Techie-Micheal
The problem is that what you may pick up in speed you'll lose in scalability. From what I've seen SQLite just doesn't handle large databases like MySQL does.

Re: SQLite vs MYSQL

Posted: Tue Dec 18, 2007 11:18 pm
by tw9p
When is the use of SQLite indicated?

Re: SQLite vs MYSQL

Posted: Tue Dec 18, 2007 11:23 pm
by Phil
On a tiny board it might be a little faster, but in all honesty I'd just use MySQL.

Re: SQLite vs MYSQL

Posted: Wed Dec 19, 2007 9:10 pm
by ameeck
Well, basically, SQLite is a bit faster on SELECTs, writing is slower than in MySQL, from some testing I know my HDD is quiet when writing to MySQL, when writing to SQLite, it sound like it's formatting....

Also MySQL handles larger amounts of connections/clients much better than SQLite.

So...SQLite will be slightly faster on a very small board and only in some cases, MySQL is your best bet...

Re: SQLite vs MYSQL

Posted: Thu Dec 20, 2007 2:03 pm
by zeroK
I'd personally only consider SQLite for testing purpose or if you have absolutely no option to set up MySQL or PostgreSQL on your server. That's also the primary use for SQLite in my eyes: an embedded database. For instance: You want to give someone a preview for your board filled with some posts and accounts etc. Then you could easily bundle everything into a nice package without having to dump the database first and then requiring the one you want to give this showcase to, to import the database again, edit the config.php to suite his/her needs etc.

Just my 2c ;)

Re: SQLite vs MYSQL

Posted: Fri Dec 21, 2007 12:10 pm
by ytsejam
When you say SQLite, do you guys mean the MySQL(i) option during the board installation?
Hrm...

I suppose there is no way to change that after the board is already running? :)

Re: SQLite vs MYSQL

Posted: Fri Dec 21, 2007 12:32 pm
by zeroK
Well, SQLite is its own database "engine". And you can change the database engine but it will take some manual work to get it working.