PM Outbox/Sent Suggestion

Do not post support requests, bug reports or feature requests. Discuss phpBB here. Non-phpBB related discussion goes in General Discussion!
Scam Warning
crystalsc

PM Outbox/Sent Suggestion

Post by crystalsc » Sat Jan 05, 2008 6:49 pm

I'd like to add a suggestion. I hope this is the right place to do so as I'm new to phpbb and am unsure.

When you send a pm, it sits in the Outbox for quite some time. Some experienced users told me this is because it doesn't move to the Sent folder until the recipient receives it.

This is EXTREMELY confusing to new users who end up sending the pm multiple times because they fear it's not going through.

I would suggest rather than sitting in the Outbox it goes into the Sent folder but have some sort of notation that it has not been read yet (perhaps a red "x" or something). Because, well, if it's sent - it's sent.

Thanks.

KevC
Support Team Member
Support Team Member

Re: PM Outbox/Sent Suggestion

Post by KevC » Sat Jan 05, 2008 7:47 pm

The point of the outbox is so that the sender can edit or delete the message before it's been read.

You can rename it yourself in the languages/en/ucp.php file if you want. Just search for outbox and change the wording on the right of the screen.
-:|:- Support Request Template -:|:-
Cheap UK Hosting
"In the land of the blind the little green bloke with no pupils is king - init!"

ElbertF

Post by ElbertF » Sat Jan 05, 2008 7:51 pm

crystalsc wrote:Because, well, if it's sent - it's sent.
Actually, you can still cancel (and edit) messages in your outbox.

Techie-Micheal
Security Consultant

Post by Techie-Micheal » Sat Jan 05, 2008 8:36 pm

It is just like your email. The outbox in your email is for pending emails that have not yet been sent. PM's are pending in the outbox because the recipient hasn't picked them up yet. Before the email leaves the outbox, you can still edit it or cancel it altogether. The same holds for private messages.