Spiders & bots to add to phpBB

Do not post support requests, bug reports or feature requests. Discuss phpBB here. Non-phpBB related discussion goes in General Discussion!
Anti-Spam Guide
User avatar
Marcus Wendel
Registered User
Posts: 534
Joined: Sun Mar 10, 2002 5:58 pm
Location: Sweden
Contact:

Re: Spiders & bots to add to phpBB

Post by Marcus Wendel »

AmigoJack wrote:
Was this its user agent?
From reading that site I'd call it "KISA" (an acronym of "Korea Internet & Security Agency").
Yes, the info I posted was what phpBB showed in the "Who is online" list.

/Marcus
Bramster.
Registered User
Posts: 151
Joined: Thu Mar 04, 2010 7:42 am

Re: Spiders & bots to add to phpBB

Post by Bramster. »

Hi all,

Where to find the latest version of the php code (manage bots ?) for the adding of bots ?
Pony99CA
Registered User
Posts: 4783
Joined: Thu Sep 30, 2004 3:13 pm
Location: Hollister, CA
Name: Steve
Contact:

Re: Spiders & bots to add to phpBB

Post by Pony99CA »

Bramster. wrote: Where to find the latest version of the php code (manage bots ?) for the adding of bots ?
Look at the links in my signature.

Maybe Marcus would be kind enough to update the first post in this topic with a link to the post that hosts manage_bots.

Steve

P.S. I have a new version almost ready. I just need a little time to test it and modify the post.
Silicon Valley Pocket PC (http://www.svpocketpc.com)
Creator of manage_bots and spoof_user (ask me)
Need hosting for a small forum with full cPanel & MySQL access? Contact me or PM me.
Bramster.
Registered User
Posts: 151
Joined: Thu Mar 04, 2010 7:42 am

Re: Spiders & bots to add to phpBB

Post by Bramster. »

Thnks Steve, I just ran the code and it seems it worked ok ! THUMBS UP :!:

Although it did taken me 30 minutes to figure out this was not correct:

manage_bots.php[?[operation=add&]listall=1

But this was to be used

manage_bots.php?operation=add&listall=1
wolfman24
Registered User
Posts: 387
Joined: Tue Mar 07, 2006 12:07 pm

Re: Spiders & bots to add to phpBB

Post by wolfman24 »

This is just the syntax
Bramster. wrote:manage_bots.php[?[operation=add&]listall=1
which in your case results in the command
Bramster. wrote:manage_bots.php?operation=add&listall=1
so everything looks correct for me.
Pony99CA
Registered User
Posts: 4783
Joined: Thu Sep 30, 2004 3:13 pm
Location: Hollister, CA
Name: Steve
Contact:

Re: Spiders & bots to add to phpBB

Post by Pony99CA »

Bramster. wrote:Although it did taken me 30 minutes to figure out this was not correct:

manage_bots.php[?[operation=add&]listall=1

But this was to be used

manage_bots.php?operation=add&listall=1
Were you actually typing the brackets as part of the command? If so, I presume that you missed the following warning above the syntax:
* SYNTAX (items in [brackets] are optional; do not type the brackets, but do replace items after the equal signs)
However, it does look like I'm missing the closing bracket on that syntax item. :oops:

Steve
Silicon Valley Pocket PC (http://www.svpocketpc.com)
Creator of manage_bots and spoof_user (ask me)
Need hosting for a small forum with full cPanel & MySQL access? Contact me or PM me.
User avatar
Marcus Wendel
Registered User
Posts: 534
Joined: Sun Mar 10, 2002 5:58 pm
Location: Sweden
Contact:

Re: Spiders & bots to add to phpBB

Post by Marcus Wendel »

Seen today and already in the script.

Bot name: Summify [Bot]
Agent match: Summify
User agent string: Summify (Summify/1.0.1; +http://summify.com)
Website: http://www.summify.com

/Marcus
User avatar
FB92
Registered User
Posts: 181
Joined: Sun Oct 02, 2011 8:34 pm

Re: Spiders & bots to add to phpBB

Post by FB92 »

Cheers for this thread. When my forum converted from MyBB to phpBB it seemed that none of the bots came through so I had no bots. Searched for an answer for around ten minutes then found this and now G.Bot is happily searching through my forums.
Pony99CA
Registered User
Posts: 4783
Joined: Thu Sep 30, 2004 3:13 pm
Location: Hollister, CA
Name: Steve
Contact:

Re: Spiders & bots to add to phpBB

Post by Pony99CA »

FB92 wrote:Cheers for this thread. When my forum converted from MyBB to phpBB it seemed that none of the bots came through so I had no bots. Searched for an answer for around ten minutes then found this and now G.Bot is happily searching through my forums.
I'm glad it helped. Of course, all the bots were still searching your forums before; having them listed as bots just makes them more visible (you don't have to search your Web host logs) and allows you to give them different permissions than guests.

Steve
Silicon Valley Pocket PC (http://www.svpocketpc.com)
Creator of manage_bots and spoof_user (ask me)
Need hosting for a small forum with full cPanel & MySQL access? Contact me or PM me.
Schwpz
Registered User
Posts: 335
Joined: Wed May 07, 2003 1:33 pm
Location: Planet Zot
Contact:

Re: Spiders & bots to add to phpBB

Post by Schwpz »

Just got a visit from the following guest:

Code: Select all

Guest IP: 98.139.241.240
YahooCacheSystem
..:: PlanetZot.com - Your ultimate source for animation! ^^
Pony99CA
Registered User
Posts: 4783
Joined: Thu Sep 30, 2004 3:13 pm
Location: Hollister, CA
Name: Steve
Contact:

Re: Spiders & bots to add to phpBB

Post by Pony99CA »

I presume that YahooCacheSystem is the User Agent, right?

Steve
Silicon Valley Pocket PC (http://www.svpocketpc.com)
Creator of manage_bots and spoof_user (ask me)
Need hosting for a small forum with full cPanel & MySQL access? Contact me or PM me.
User avatar
Marcus Wendel
Registered User
Posts: 534
Joined: Sun Mar 10, 2002 5:58 pm
Location: Sweden
Contact:

Re: Spiders & bots to add to phpBB

Post by Marcus Wendel »

Anyone know anything about this bot?

Guest IP: 109.109.254.138 » Whois
SocialSearcher/0.1 Mozilla/5.0

/Marcus
Pony99CA
Registered User
Posts: 4783
Joined: Thu Sep 30, 2004 3:13 pm
Location: Hollister, CA
Name: Steve
Contact:

Re: Spiders & bots to add to phpBB

Post by Pony99CA »

Marcus Wendel wrote:Anyone know anything about this bot?

Guest IP: 109.109.254.138 » Whois
SocialSearcher/0.1 Mozilla/5.0
WHOIS says that it belongs to a company called Social 360. I didn't research enough to determine if that's from social360.com. They claim "Our reputation is built on results. We consistently deliver qualified customer prospects in high volume to the right place at the right time." So it sounds like they might run a bot.

Steve
Silicon Valley Pocket PC (http://www.svpocketpc.com)
Creator of manage_bots and spoof_user (ask me)
Need hosting for a small forum with full cPanel & MySQL access? Contact me or PM me.
Schwpz
Registered User
Posts: 335
Joined: Wed May 07, 2003 1:33 pm
Location: Planet Zot
Contact:

Re: Spiders & bots to add to phpBB

Post by Schwpz »

Pony99CA wrote:I presume that YahooCacheSystem is the User Agent, right?

Steve
Yupp, this worked fine for me at least:

YahooCacheSystem [Bot]
Agent: YahooCacheSystem


I also got the following guest on my forum today, although I'm not quite sure of the agent:
Guest IP: 64.34.173.254
AddThis.com robot tech.support@clearspring.com
..:: PlanetZot.com - Your ultimate source for animation! ^^
Schwpz
Registered User
Posts: 335
Joined: Wed May 07, 2003 1:33 pm
Location: Planet Zot
Contact:

Re: Spiders & bots to add to phpBB

Post by Schwpz »

Yet another Bot-y visitor (must be spring time)

Code: Select all

Guest IP: 77.222.128.221
Mozilla/5.0 (compatible; aiHitBot/1.1; +http://www.aihit.com/)
aiHitBot [Bot]
aiHitBot/
..:: PlanetZot.com - Your ultimate source for animation! ^^
Post Reply

Return to “phpBB Discussion”