My dissapointments with phpBB3

Do not post support requests, bug reports or feature requests. Discuss phpBB here. Non-phpBB related discussion goes in General Discussion!
Scam Warning
iBotPeaches

My dissapointments with phpBB3

Post by iBotPeaches » Wed May 28, 2008 10:25 pm

First off, I would like to say I'm not bashing any work. I love phpBB3 and plan to use it all the time. Over a few months though I've found some annoying features.

Banning
Lets give a scenario.
User A is in chat, and is flaming a user. I tell the guy to settle down and he won't. Now is the time for a perfect 1 hour ban. I click the user from Handyman's chat and it brings up the user page. From that page, even though I'm an admin I see no feature to select a ban. I then click "Administrate User" I enter my password (alphanumerical) takes forever... And now the user ACP page is loaded. I then scroll down to the bottom and use Quick Tools, "Ban by user name" Unfortunately there is no option to select anything, but a permanent ban. I give him that, then go to the ACP banning page in hopes to change the ban to 1 hour. I cannot change a ban once its started. I can click the ban and it loads up the reasons below, but no change. So I have to remove the ban, click "find member" but wait I forgot the member. I open another tab, find the post and now the members name. I copy N paste it into the Ban User name ACP page, and set the 1 hour time and write the description in. Over a course of about 5 minutes I've banned a user for 1 hour that other forums take 2 clicks.

The fix
I should be able to click a user name, and if I have the permissions a little drop down bar below the user name should have all those cool features
"ban by user name"
"ban by etc etc"

I then could select "ban by user name" and more forms appear below. Like Length of ban, reason for admins, reason for public. This would help so much more for a site that encounters lots of errors.

I'm sorry off to lunch, I'll add my others soon.