Why doesn't jumbox show up in index page?

Need some custom code changes to the phpBB core simple enough that you feel doesn't require an extension? Then post your request here so that community members can provide some assistance.

NOTE: NO OFFICIAL SUPPORT IS PROVIDED IN THIS SUB-FORUM
Forum rules
READ: phpBB.com Board-Wide Rules and Regulations

NOTE: NO OFFICIAL SUPPORT IS PROVIDED IN THIS SUB-FORUM
Post Reply
Bymemor
Registered User
Posts: 106
Joined: Sun Dec 01, 2019 7:55 pm

Why doesn't jumbox show up in index page?

Post by Bymemor »

I included this line to index_body.html :

Code: Select all

<!-- INCLUDE jumpbox.html -->
Why does it work in viewforum_body or viewtopic_body.html, but not on index page ?

And how can I make it work on index ?

User avatar
david63
Registered User
Posts: 17769
Joined: Thu Dec 19, 2002 8:08 am
Location: Lancashire, UK
Contact:

Re: Why doesn't jumbox show up in index page?

Post by david63 »

Did you purge the cache after adding that line?
David
Remember: You only know what you know and - you don't know what you don't know!
My CDB Contributions | How to install an extension
I will not be accepting translations for any of my extensions in Github - please post any translations in the appropriate topic.
No support requests via PM or email as they will be ignored

Bymemor
Registered User
Posts: 106
Joined: Sun Dec 01, 2019 7:55 pm

Re: Why doesn't jumbox show up in index page?

Post by Bymemor »

Yes, there is just blank space instead of jumpbox

User avatar
Lumpy Burgertushie
Registered User
Posts: 67745
Joined: Mon May 02, 2005 3:11 am
Contact:

Re: Why doesn't jumbox show up in index page?

Post by Lumpy Burgertushie »

the php code for it is not in the php file that creates the index page.
you don't need a jumpbox on the index since you already have all of the forums etc. right there to click on.

the purpose of the jumpbox on the viewforum and viewtopic pages is so you can jump directly to a different forum etc.
it is exactly the same thing as clicking on the desired forum/topic from the index page.


robert
I'm baaaaaccckkkk. still doing work on donation basis. PM your needs.

Premium phpBB 3.3 Styles by PlanetStyles.net

If nobody is in the forest, does a tree really fall?

Bymemor
Registered User
Posts: 106
Joined: Sun Dec 01, 2019 7:55 pm

Re: Why doesn't jumbox show up in index page?

Post by Bymemor »

Lumpy Burgertushie wrote:
Fri May 22, 2020 9:16 pm
you don't need a jumpbox on the index
Well, actually I need, because I have too many subforums and since jumbox shows all subforums users can go easily forum they want.

Is there a easy way to add it to index page ?

User avatar
Tastenplayer
Registered User
Posts: 675
Joined: Thu Jul 03, 2014 9:20 pm
Location: Switzerland
Name: Jutta Koliofotis
Contact:

Re: Why doesn't jumbox show up in index page?

Post by Tastenplayer »

jump on index.jpg
According to these instructions: viewtopic.php?p=6665745#p6665745

index.php (phpBB 3.3.0 folder not in prosilver style folder)

Code: Select all

// Output page
page_header($page_title, true);

$template->set_filenames(array(
	'body' => 'index_body.html')
);
make_jumpbox(append_sid("{$phpbb_root_path}viewforum.$phpEx"));
page_footer();
In 3.3.0 index_body.html

Code: Select all

<!-- IF NEWEST_USER -->
	<div class="stat-block statistics">
		<h3>{L_STATISTICS}</h3>
		<p>
			<!-- EVENT index_body_block_stats_prepend -->
			{TOTAL_POSTS} &bull; {TOTAL_TOPICS} &bull; {TOTAL_USERS} &bull; {NEWEST_USER}
			<!-- EVENT index_body_block_stats_append -->
		</p>
	</div>
<!-- ENDIF -->

<!-- EVENT index_body_stat_blocks_after -->
<!-- INCLUDE jumpbox.html -->
<!-- INCLUDE overall_footer.html -->
Edit: Code changed (see picture above)
More of my styles you can find in my phpBB Style Board & More
Be the best version of yourself rather than a bad copy of someone else!
Excuse me for my English, but I learned the language by speaking to people and not at school.

Bymemor
Registered User
Posts: 106
Joined: Sun Dec 01, 2019 7:55 pm

Re: Why doesn't jumbox show up in index page?

Post by Bymemor »

Wow, Tastenplayer, thank you really a lot. That worked perfectly and look awesome.

User avatar
Tastenplayer
Registered User
Posts: 675
Joined: Thu Jul 03, 2014 9:20 pm
Location: Switzerland
Name: Jutta Koliofotis
Contact:

Re: Why doesn't jumbox show up in index page?

Post by Tastenplayer »

The solution is not mine - I just checked the old solution and inserted it. So thanks to camm15h 8-)
Did you insert the first or the current changed code? The first one was wrong (code for php)
More of my styles you can find in my phpBB Style Board & More
Be the best version of yourself rather than a bad copy of someone else!
Excuse me for my English, but I learned the language by speaking to people and not at school.

Bymemor
Registered User
Posts: 106
Joined: Sun Dec 01, 2019 7:55 pm

Re: Why doesn't jumbox show up in index page?

Post by Bymemor »

Tastenplayer wrote:
Sat May 23, 2020 1:31 pm
I just checked the old solution and inserted it.
But I have also seen that post and checked, but didn't work for me. With the direction you gave I achieved that.

Yeah, I inserted first one and that also didn't work for me, but corrent changed codes didn't produce any failure.

Thanks, again.

User avatar
Tastenplayer
Registered User
Posts: 675
Joined: Thu Jul 03, 2014 9:20 pm
Location: Switzerland
Name: Jutta Koliofotis
Contact:

Re: Why doesn't jumbox show up in index page?

Post by Tastenplayer »

If you have a lot of subforums it is more clearly arranged and mobile friendlier to click on. But visitors will hardly scroll down there in my style forum. I have added this to the index anyway :) . You should also be able to change the text on this button on index (But unfortunately this is only possible with an extension, if it is possible at all). "Jump to" or "Gehe zu" is a little out of place in the index.
More of my styles you can find in my phpBB Style Board & More
Be the best version of yourself rather than a bad copy of someone else!
Excuse me for my English, but I learned the language by speaking to people and not at school.

Bymemor
Registered User
Posts: 106
Joined: Sun Dec 01, 2019 7:55 pm

Re: Why doesn't jumbox show up in index page?

Post by Bymemor »

Tastenplayer wrote:
Sat May 23, 2020 3:29 pm
But visitors will hardly scroll down there in my style forum
That's why I placed "Jump to" button very below navbar, so users doesn't have to scroll down.
Tastenplayer wrote:
Sat May 23, 2020 3:29 pm
Jump to" or "Gehe zu" is a little out of place in the index.
It didn't happen on my website

User avatar
Tastenplayer
Registered User
Posts: 675
Joined: Thu Jul 03, 2014 9:20 pm
Location: Switzerland
Name: Jutta Koliofotis
Contact:

Re: Why doesn't jumbox show up in index page?

Post by Tastenplayer »

By the navbar above? - is that possible?

This is how it works to rename (create a jumpbox_index.html) But choose a forum would definitely be better :) . Unfortunately you only have the existing language variables.
jumpbox index.jpg
jumpbox index.jpg (4.32 KiB) Viewed 216 times
Sorry, forgot to click on en flag first :oops: img changed
Hopefully it will display correctly as "Jump to" everywhere else, let's see. But seems to be the case so far.

Code: Select all

	<!-- IF S_DISPLAY_JUMPBOX -->
	<div class="jumpbox dropdown-container dropdown-container-right<!-- IF not S_IN_MCP --> dropdown-up<!-- ENDIF --> dropdown-{S_CONTENT_FLOW_BEGIN} dropdown-button-control" id="jumpbox">
			<span title="<!-- IF S_IN_MCP and S_MERGE_SELECT -->{L_SELECT_TOPICS_FROM}<!-- ELSEIF S_IN_MCP -->{L_MODERATE_FORUM}<!-- ELSE -->{L_FORUMS}<!-- ENDIF -->" class="button button-secondary dropdown-trigger dropdown-select">
				<span><!-- IF S_IN_MCP and S_MERGE_SELECT -->{L_SELECT_TOPICS_FROM}<!-- ELSEIF S_IN_MCP -->{L_MODERATE_FORUM}<!-- ELSE -->{L_FORUMS}<!-- ENDIF --></span>
				<span class="caret"><i class="icon fa-sort-down fa-fw" aria-hidden="true"></i></span>
Edit:
Navbar header does not work in my style. It's too high up. It should open down.
jump_index_header.jpg
Of course - I'm an oaf. Dropdown down and away we go.
jump_index_header.jpg
The quick language extension is now a bit crashed down. :lol: Done - everything seems to be right again.
However, if you have a forum description under the navbar, the jumpbox in the phones laps over the description. The whole responsive must also be adapted again (But I don't do that today. Is tomorrow still early enough).

If the jumpbox is under the navbar, it is always displayed, which is not the point. That's why I'm putting it off again tomorrow. Shit happens.
More of my styles you can find in my phpBB Style Board & More
Be the best version of yourself rather than a bad copy of someone else!
Excuse me for my English, but I learned the language by speaking to people and not at school.

User avatar
Tastenplayer
Registered User
Posts: 675
Joined: Thu Jul 03, 2014 9:20 pm
Location: Switzerland
Name: Jutta Koliofotis
Contact:

Re: Why doesn't jumbox show up in index page?

Post by Tastenplayer »

It looked best in front of the footernavbar, where she is hardly seen.
Or under the navbar header, where it appears not only in the index but on every page.
That's the way it goes:
jumpboxonindex.jpg
jumpboxonindex.jpg (9.88 KiB) Viewed 171 times
But I think I'm gonna move it back in front of the navbarfooter. It's kind of weird, too, in front of all those forums :) .
Besides: you can also change the line-height for the subforums to make it clearer and more user-friendly for many subforums.
Replace the comma with an &nbsp;, line-height: 2.2em and white-space: nowrap; insert and the subforums are much clearer and more user friendly! :mrgreen: In my style it looks fitting anyway.
More of my styles you can find in my phpBB Style Board & More
Be the best version of yourself rather than a bad copy of someone else!
Excuse me for my English, but I learned the language by speaking to people and not at school.

Bymemor
Registered User
Posts: 106
Joined: Sun Dec 01, 2019 7:55 pm

Re: Why doesn't jumbox show up in index page?

Post by Bymemor »

Tastenplayer wrote:
Sun May 24, 2020 9:16 am
where it appears not only in the index but on every page
Why did it react like that in your forum ? It only appears on my index page under navbar header.

If you have added it to index_body.html as I know it shouldn't be shown up on every page.
Tastenplayer wrote:
Sun May 24, 2020 9:16 am
In my style it looks fitting anyway.
In mine too :)

User avatar
Tastenplayer
Registered User
Posts: 675
Joined: Thu Jul 03, 2014 9:20 pm
Location: Switzerland
Name: Jutta Koliofotis
Contact:

Re: Why doesn't jumbox show up in index page?

Post by Tastenplayer »

Bymemor wrote:
Sun May 24, 2020 6:39 pm
Why did it react like that in your forum ? It only appears on my index page under navbar header.
If you have added it to index_body.html as I know it shouldn't be shown up on every page.
If I want to display it under the navbar header, it must be inserted in the overall_header.html. The overall header, i.e. the header, is displayed logically on every forum page.
My style consists of a header wrap, body wrap and footer wrap. The prosilver consists only of one wrap.
Bymemor wrote:
Sun May 24, 2020 6:39 pm

Tastenplayer wrote:
Sun May 24, 2020 9:16 am
In my style it looks fitting anyway.
In mine too :)
I meant the changes to the display of the subforums :lol: Now the display of the jumpbox on index would not be necessary anymore in my forum. It seems manageable enough to me now. But it doesn't matter if the jumpbox button is still there.

Edit:
But also you have to insert it in the overall header if you want to display it under the navbar header. If you insert it in index_body it will not be displayed under the navbar header. :?
More of my styles you can find in my phpBB Style Board & More
Be the best version of yourself rather than a bad copy of someone else!
Excuse me for my English, but I learned the language by speaking to people and not at school.

Post Reply

Return to “phpBB Custom Coding”