Meta Description?

Need some custom code changes to the phpBB core simple enough that you feel doesn't require an extension? Then post your request here so that community members can provide some assistance.

NOTE: NO OFFICIAL SUPPORT IS PROVIDED IN THIS SUB-FORUM
Forum rules
READ: phpBB.com Board-Wide Rules and Regulations

NOTE: NO OFFICIAL SUPPORT IS PROVIDED IN THIS SUB-FORUM
User avatar
Yorkermiles
Registered User
Posts: 66
Joined: Mon Apr 24, 2017 12:00 pm
Location: United Kingdom
Name: Miles
Contact:

Meta Description?

Post by Yorkermiles » Fri Jul 21, 2017 6:18 pm

When I check my SERPS the website I use states that my forum does not have the search term in the meta description which I believe it does,can I add a description to my home page manually?
www.norfolkbroadsforum.co.uk

higgerz
Registered User
Posts: 27
Joined: Mon Aug 29, 2011 12:46 pm

Re: Meta Description?

Post by higgerz » Fri Jul 21, 2017 9:34 pm

Yorkermiles wrote:
Fri Jul 21, 2017 6:18 pm
When I check my SERPS the website I use states that my forum does not have the search term in the meta description which I believe it does,can I add a description to my home page manually?
www.norfolkbroadsforum.co.uk
Hi, this topic should help you with working out where to edit, bear in mind that's for an older version so don't copy paste from the topic. :)
Last edited by higgerz on Fri Jul 12, 2019 6:18 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
Yorkermiles
Registered User
Posts: 66
Joined: Mon Apr 24, 2017 12:00 pm
Location: United Kingdom
Name: Miles
Contact:

Re: Meta Description?

Post by Yorkermiles » Sat Jul 22, 2017 3:28 pm

There are no meta tags in 3.2 overall header.

User avatar
Mick
Support Team Member
Support Team Member
Posts: 21156
Joined: Fri Aug 29, 2008 9:49 am
Location: Watching cricket - definitely

Re: Meta Description?

Post by Mick » Sat Jul 22, 2017 6:34 pm

No, you have to create them yourself with 3.2. If you look at an older version of prosilver overall_header.html say 3.0.11 you'll see:

Code: Select all

<meta name="keywords" content="" />
<meta name="description" content="" />
I think the description can be relevant but the keywords not so much. There is a lot of information available on the net about keywords and description.

I'm saying all this and there may be an extension for it?
"The more connected we get the more alone we become" - Kyle Broflovski

User avatar
</Solidjeuh>
Registered User
Posts: 1626
Joined: Tue Mar 29, 2016 3:45 am
Location: Aalst (Belgium)
Name: Andy Dm
Contact:

Re: Meta Description?

Post by </Solidjeuh> » Sat Jul 22, 2017 7:00 pm

Register a free account & Play!!
~~~ https://www.solidjeuh.be ~~~
Have a secret? --> https://www.tellyoursecrets.eu

User avatar
Yorkermiles
Registered User
Posts: 66
Joined: Mon Apr 24, 2017 12:00 pm
Location: United Kingdom
Name: Miles
Contact:

Re: Meta Description?

Post by Yorkermiles » Sun Jul 23, 2017 5:00 am

Thanks folks but I am a little nervous about using an extension that has not been validated for this version of Phpbb yet. :?:

User avatar
Yorkermiles
Registered User
Posts: 66
Joined: Mon Apr 24, 2017 12:00 pm
Location: United Kingdom
Name: Miles
Contact:

Re: Meta Description?

Post by Yorkermiles » Sun Jul 23, 2017 5:01 am

Mick with regards to adding that information manually, is there any particular location in the HTML that I should place those lines?
Thanks

User avatar
david63
Registered User
Posts: 16196
Joined: Thu Dec 19, 2002 8:08 am
Location: Lancashire, UK
Name: David Wood
Contact:

Re: Meta Description?

Post by david63 » Sun Jul 23, 2017 7:21 am

Yorkermiles wrote:
Sun Jul 23, 2017 5:00 am
Thanks folks but I am a little nervous about using an extension that has not been validated for this version of Phpbb yet. :?:
Extensions are not updated for each release of phpBB unless there is a requirement to do so and many 3.1.x extensions work perfectly well with 3.2.x
Yorkermiles wrote:
Sun Jul 23, 2017 5:01 am
Mick with regards to adding that information manually, is there any particular location in the HTML that I should place those lines?
Thanks
And if you add that data manually then you will need to add it to each style you use and re-apply it whenever you upgrade/update.
David
Remember: You only know what you know and - you don't know what you don't know!
My CDB Contributions | How to install an extension
I will not be accepting translations for any of my extensions in Github - please post any translations in the appropriate topic.
No support requests via PM or email as they will be ignored

User avatar
Yorkermiles
Registered User
Posts: 66
Joined: Mon Apr 24, 2017 12:00 pm
Location: United Kingdom
Name: Miles
Contact:

Re: Meta Description?

Post by Yorkermiles » Fri Jul 28, 2017 7:00 am

I have tried the extension and it appears to just copy some information from any particular page, I am curious why the option to manually write he meta descriptions does not exist? It would be nice to fine tune details such as these. :D

cally6008
Registered User
Posts: 286
Joined: Wed Nov 26, 2008 10:18 pm

Re: Meta Description?

Post by cally6008 » Sun Jul 30, 2017 12:11 pm

I use this code

<meta name="description" content="<!-- IF SCRIPT_NAME eq 'index' -->{SITE_DESCRIPTION}<!-- ENDIF --><!-- IF SCRIPT_NAME eq 'viewforum' -->{FORUM_DESC}<!-- ENDIF --><!-- IF SCRIPT_NAME eq 'viewtopic' -->{PAGE_TITLE} &#124; {FORUM_DESC}<!-- IF PREVIOUS_PAGE --> &#124; Page {ON_PAGE}<!-- ENDIF --><!-- ENDIF -->" />

placed just above the {META} tag in overall_header.html

I haven't checked it recently to see if it still works, I really should, oops

User avatar
Yorkermiles
Registered User
Posts: 66
Joined: Mon Apr 24, 2017 12:00 pm
Location: United Kingdom
Name: Miles
Contact:

Re: Meta Description?

Post by Yorkermiles » Sun Jul 30, 2017 12:16 pm

Does the actual description go between the brackets for site description?

cally6008
Registered User
Posts: 286
Joined: Wed Nov 26, 2008 10:18 pm

Re: Meta Description?

Post by cally6008 » Sun Jul 30, 2017 12:35 pm

All information is pulled from what is already posted on the forum and used in forum descriptions etc

spinecki
Registered User
Posts: 21
Joined: Wed Jan 11, 2017 12:41 pm
Contact:

Re: Meta Description?

Post by spinecki » Mon Apr 29, 2019 6:14 am

cally6008 wrote:
Sun Jul 30, 2017 12:11 pm
I use this code

<meta name="description" content="<!-- IF SCRIPT_NAME eq 'index' -->{SITE_DESCRIPTION}<!-- ENDIF --><!-- IF SCRIPT_NAME eq 'viewforum' -->{FORUM_DESC}<!-- ENDIF --><!-- IF SCRIPT_NAME eq 'viewtopic' -->{PAGE_TITLE} &#124; {FORUM_DESC}<!-- IF PREVIOUS_PAGE --> &#124; Page {ON_PAGE}<!-- ENDIF --><!-- ENDIF -->" />

placed just above the {META} tag in overall_header.html

I haven't checked it recently to see if it still works, I really should, oops
This is what ive been looking for. Thanks

User avatar
thecoalman
Community Team Member
Community Team Member
Posts: 3223
Joined: Wed Dec 22, 2004 3:52 am
Location: Pennsylvania, U.S.A.
Contact:

Re: Meta Description?

Post by thecoalman » Mon Apr 29, 2019 9:13 am

If you are going to manually edit in description it should be unique for each page or don't have one. For the index you can use the site description as in the example posted previously. As far as viewforum I don't believe I have ever seen any forum with topic lists showing up in search results. I have mine set up so it just appears on first page. Regarding viewtopic the best thing to use is the first part of the first post, this may or may not be relevant. I don't use description on viewtopic.

User avatar
thecoalman
Community Team Member
Community Team Member
Posts: 3223
Joined: Wed Dec 22, 2004 3:52 am
Location: Pennsylvania, U.S.A.
Contact:

Re: Meta Description?

Post by thecoalman » Mon Apr 29, 2019 9:21 am

Yorkermiles wrote:
Sun Jul 30, 2017 12:16 pm
Does the actual description go between the brackets for site description?
No, when you are looking at template the squiggly brackets like this hold values:

Code: Select all

{SITE_DESCRIPTION}
Whatever you have used in the site description is going to show up there. To elaborate a little more this is conditional:

Code: Select all

<!-- IF SCRIPT_NAME eq 'index' -->{SITE_DESCRIPTION}<!-- ENDIF -->
That would only appear on index page, there is shorter way to do this.

Code: Select all

<!-- IF S_INDEX -->{SITE_DESCRIPTION}<!-- ENDIF -->
Works for most pages:

Code: Select all

<meta name="description" content="<!-- IF S_INDEX -->{SITE_DESCRIPTION}<!-- ENDIF --><!-- IF S_VIEWFORUM -->{FORUM_DESC}<!-- ENDIF --><!-- IF S_VIEWTOPIC -->{PAGE_TITLE} &#124; {FORUM_DESC}<!-- IF PREVIOUS_PAGE --> &#124; Page {ON_PAGE}<!-- ENDIF --><!-- ENDIF -->" />

Post Reply

Return to “phpBB Custom Coding”